We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A top airport hotel, but not perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport
Ranked #5 of 33 Hotels in Detroit
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed February 6, 2007

We stayed here two weeks ago prior to an early morning flight. We have stayed here several times before. The rooms, beds bathroom, cleanliness etc, are all 5 star. The bellman and front desk were very helpful. We arrived too late to partake in what is purported to be expensive food in the hotel restaurant. There is no outside airplane or airport noise. We were able to get a $95 AARP rate for a Thursday night where the regular posted rates are $249, although the $95 rate is generally available to everyone on weekends. I allowed 15 minutes for the hotel shuttle to the other terminal at 6:00 am. I should have allowed 30 minutes as the shuttle is packed, makes several stops and we had to wait initially for its arrival (this of course does not apply to those using NWA, Delta and Continental which are in the same terminal as the hotel).While the hotel is soundproof as to outside noise it is not as to noise in the hall and especially the noise of doors closing from nearby rooms. While this is a normal irritant at all hotels some thing should be done here to address this problem in what is otherwise one of the best hotel's in the Detroit area.

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank thorntree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,446)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,354 - 1,360 of 1,446 reviews

Reviewed January 25, 2007

I have stayed at the Westin at DTW serveral times. Of course, the location is very convenient when you travel. The rooms are small but clean and well decorated and designed. If you can, stay on the club level where the food presentations are great. The fitness center is quite nice. It is not cheap, but if you want a stylish, clean and comfortable airport hotel, look no further!

  • Stayed: May 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Thomas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2006

I read all the reviews here and i decided to reserve this hotel for our 12-hr stay in DTW. As I was booking, i booked the Southfield Detroit Westin by mistake and the booking was a non-refundable reservation. I called the DTW and Southfield Westin. But the reservation couldnt be transferred. Reaching there at 4 Am I was not in the mood to drive 25 miles to Southfield. So i called again and this time the managers were present and they found a way for me to cancel the reservation and make a new one with DTW. The people were also very friendly and very helpful inspite of the wierdness of the request.

With this kind of service, Westin has earned another customer for life. I will update the review after i complete my trip...

Thanks


  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
4  Thank kvbanga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2006

Stayed here (Nov 30). It is a great looking hotel, very modern, pretty luxe. Hard to believe 1) this is Detroit and 2) I'm at the airport! Room is comfy enough, as all Westin's are, but I didn't sleep well due to noise from other rooms, hall, etc. With an early morning flight, stayed here because I could just go to the lobby and use the dedicated security line. BUT, it was still closed at 6:00 am (so what's the point of staying at the airport hotel if you can't use it?!?!?)

So, beware early morning flight takers. You may not sleep well if the hotel is full and the security line opens after the first flights leave.

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank pworules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2006

I don't know about the rest of you, but I was looking for a hotel that offered park n fly. This is not the one. If you are staying for a few hours and not eating or sleeping, maybe the pillow top beds and pillows will make it great, but for me thats is so stupid. The only place to eat offers $15 hamburgs. Once they took your car, thats it you can get it back for a price. Because they have to repark it. I did not like this place. Waste of money. I wish I would of check it out more..

  • Stayed: November 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank michigantravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2006

Detroit Metro is our home airport, a major Northwest hub, and if we are flying out early in the morning the Westin at the airport is the best possible option. There are many "park and fly" options in the vicinity of the airport and I have utilized many of these hotels, but nothing can beat pulling right up to the hotel the evening before our flight and handing our keys to the attendant. Nothing left to do but check into our room and relax on the cushy bed and maybe later have a drink downstairs in the bar.

But the absolute best part of this hotel is getting up in the morning and walking from your room into the McNamara terminal within a matter of minutes. We don't have the stress of getting up at 3am, driving 1-1/2 hours to the airport in the dark, praying that weather and traffic will cooperate and worrying about getting a shuttle from the parking lot to the terminal. Coming back is equally a breeze. The plane lands and there you are in the same building as your hotel. The attendant brings you your automobile and you are on your way, while the majority of the folks that were on the plane with you are still fighting with the masses trying to score a seat on the shuttle.

  • Stayed: September 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank maggiwun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2006

I stayed two nights at this hotel in mid-September 2006. Rates were very reasonable. If booking on westin.com remember to check for special offers because for the weekend I was there they had rates from $79-99. I ended up booking on Priceline to save a little and got it for $70/night. The hotel is located in the Northwest terminal of the airport. Decor is chic, Asian-inspired (bamboo "forest" in the lobby), dark, and spare. Cookies at the checkin desk were a nice touch. Front desk staff were young and clearly inexperienced, but polite and friendly. Ordering room service from the "service express" staff was a trial. Wines are not listed on the in-room menu and upon inquiry as to what white wines were available by the glass the reply was, "We have Benziger." I asked what kind of Benziger (chardonnay? sauvignon blanc?) and was placed on hold. The answer turned out to be "$11 per glass." Hmm. I declined and chose a split of sparkling wine from the minibar instead for the bargain price of $10. The caesar salad with shrimp was good and arrived quickly. Bed was very comfy and the granite bathroom was spotless. Room 508 overlooked the roof of the terminal so view was nothing to write home about, but the room was very quiet. Ordering room service breakfast the next morning was another experience. An inquiry as to what kind of breakfast pastries were available was apparently too challenging, as was the question, "what kind of fresh fruit do you have?" However, the food, when it finally arrived, was fine, and the fresh-squeezed grapefruit juice was excellent. My Dema wrap sandwich that evening was also good. Room service was spendy as it is everywhere (no matter what you order your bill is going to end up being at least $25), but no more so than expected by anyone who travels regularly. Checkout was quick and easy. In short, a very good, convenient hotel with excellent room rates and service that needs improvement.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank lisak12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Detroit hotels
17.9 mi away
The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit
17.6 mi away
MGM Grand Detroit
MGM Grand Detroit
#11 of 33 in Detroit
1,129 reviews
11.2 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Detroit-Dearborn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18 mi away
Aloft Detroit at The David Whitney
17.9 mi away
Detroit Foundation Hotel
18.2 mi away
Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport

Address: 2501 Worldgateway Pl, Detroit, MI 48242-6298
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Detroit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Detroit
#1 Green Hotel in Detroit
#2 Luxury Hotel in Detroit
#3 Business Hotel in Detroit
#3 Romantic Hotel in Detroit
Price Range: $186 - $449 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 404
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport, located in the world-class McNamara Terminal, offers the convenience of a private security entrance, latest Westin guestroom, technology and comfort, Reflections Restaurant and Lounge, 26,000 sq. ft. of meeting space and Detroit's most stylish & comfortable surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport Hotel Detroit
Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport
Detroit Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing