We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Stay, Park and Fly” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport
Ranked #4 of 33 Hotels in Detroit
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Traverse City, Michigan
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Stay, Park and Fly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

This hotel is great if you are flying out of Metro Airport, especially if you have an early flight. You can find a stay, park and fly rate and they valet your car for up to 8 days. The restaurant and bar are great too! I've stayed at this hotel four times and wouldn't hesitate to stay again! Very comfy beds and starbucks coffee in room.

Room Tip: As for a room with a view of the jetway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank skcTC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, Manager at The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
I'm so pleased that you've enjoyed or parking inclusive package, as well as our wonderful Dema restaurant. We look forward to seeing you during future travels.

Thank You,

Paul DiNapoli
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    816
    383
    96
    36
    17
See reviews for
255
309
129
531
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland County, MI
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

I stayed here on 1/4/2014 for my early flight out on 1/5/2014. It was totally worth it. The hotel is clean, quiet, has a great restaurant with a view, an indoor pool and hot tub. It was like getting a head start on my vacation. The morning of I was already right at the airport so no need to rush to the airport. The rooms were quiet and I did not hear planes flying overhead at night. The restaurant was delicious. One thing to note, that the direct access to the terminal from the hotel does not open up until about 7:30AM. Our flight out was at 6:30AM so we had to use the main security (which is about a 4-5 min walk away) but really no big deal at all. The rooms are comfortable, clean, with a large flat screen TV and mini-fridge and nice shower. I would definitely recommend this hotel for travelers.

Room Tip: They are all nice. I preferred away from elevators but elevators seems quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jacquikzoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, Manager at The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Thank you so much for your recommendation and kind words. One of our goals is to help our guests have a relaxing and personally renewing stay....happy to hear that mission was accomplished.

Hope to see you soon.

Paul DiNapoli
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

Very nice hotel, nice food accommodation, 3 minutes walking distance to the main airport lobby and TSA checkpoint. There is a TSA check point just next to the hotel check in area, but it does not open until 7:30 am. Before that time, you'll have to use the regular TSA checkpoint and the lines can be quite long so plan accordingly.

Room Tip: Make sure to have free wifi
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OSKMemphis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, Manager at The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Thank you very much for your feedback and I'm pleased that you enjoyed your time with us. We truly appreciate the kind words and we hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Paul DiNapoli
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

We again used this hotel for an overnight stay before a flight. It is a little more than other hotels in the area but the convenience of being at the airport is worth the money, especially if you have an early morning flight. We purchased the park and stay package. It gave us up to 10 days of parking.
You pull up to the hotel the valet takes your car and upon returning the valet gets your car. No snow to clean off the car. You do not have to trudge through snow to get your car Just very convenient for travelling in the winter.

The room was very nice and clean.

We ate in their restaurant and the food and service was very good.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, Manager at The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
I'm so pleased that you enjoyed the convenience of our Park and Stay package, as well as the service at our amazing Dema Restaurant. We hope to see you again soon.

Paul DiNapoli
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
167 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

I recently stayed at the Westin located in the Detroit Airport. As with any Westin, you can expect a great stay. The hotel is nicely appointed with a rather impressive lobby (for being attached to an airport, in my opinion) as well as having nice spacious and comfortable rooms. The dining and bar amenities are great as well. The food was above average for a hotel.
What really makes the Westin so special is the ease of getting in and out. There is an external entrance to the hotel, but it also has one which can be accessed from the airport, so if you're traveling and want to avoid the rigor of the TSA experience, you'll find that the Westin's security area is much less congested.
My helpful pointer for this hotel is simple: If you're in the Detroit area for business, stay here to avoid the typical travel experience. It's my "go-to" spot when conducting business in Detroit.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrTG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, Manager at The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
We absolutely love being your "Go To" hotel of choice and we truly appreciate your loyalty. We also understand the importance of ease of travel and amazing guest service and we look forward to seeing you again.

Sincerely,

Paul DiNapoli
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
256 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

Airport hotels in my experience have rarely been associated with the quality, service and caring staff found here. The rooms are spotless and well appointed. The staff accommodates every possible request.

Since I always do carry on, having the private security screening checkpoint right at the hotel is very convenient. After a nice breakfast, and a good night's sleep, it makes for an enjoyable start to the day.

I would highly recommend this little slice of heaven if your travels bring you to Detroit. Taking a long international flight with a fresh start like this is well worth the price, especially since the service on Delta is so spotty, even in Business Class. A good night and morning helps when dealing with the lousy service at Delta all day!

Room Tip: Ask for room near elevator. Halls are very long.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveler_200950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, Manager at The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Thank you so much for describing us as "a slice of heaven". We are thrilled that you enjoyed your experience with us and we truly appreciate your loyalty. Hope to see you soon!

Paul DiNapoli
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
643 reviews
145 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 417 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

We absolutely love staying here! We live in suburb of Detroit and always stay here especially if we have early morning flight next day etc or like last night when we flew in on long flight and wanted to have a romantic "gateway!'

First of all the hotel is located in the McNamara/Delta terminal (tucked in corner of Delta terminal/You enter the hotel in corner side of Delta terminal). Then you take escalator down to lobby area. When you descend down escalator you are overwhelmed by the minimalist/hip, zen-like tranquility with dark lighting and ubiquitous bamboo/dark wood.

Check in was smooth with Jenna being super friendly and amazing (she honored my requests and acknowledged my platinum SPG status and didnt treat me any differently as we got great deal with hotwire. . .Kudos to Jenna for her wonderful customer service!).


The room is what you would come to expect from Westin with heavenly beds and minimalist feel we chose a terminal view which you wouldnt notice as rooms are quiet and curtains keep out all light.

We went down to Dema bar immediately after check in and sat at bar and our server Christie who we know from our prior trips here was amazing as always but the thing we noticed most from our last couple of visits was that the management had listened to our comments as the food was delicious (and markedly improved from last time) yes it is expensive but it had improved in quality whereas before it was expensive but not too great. We had the Caprese salad and seafood Fettuccine which was amazing.


In summary

The good:
--Great airport hotel in McNamara terminal with its own security/TSA entrance
--Service here is top notch .. . .we had a problem with the water pressure and called to front desk and they asked if I wanted to change rooms or shower in adjacent room and I stated the latter and they immediately brought the key . . .This is true of every aspect of this hotel from bar to reception to everywhere the service is phenomenal. This place also acknowledges your SPG status which is nice.

Pool, whirlpool and gym which are always empty . . .we love using whirlpool!
Heavenly beds and what you come to expect from Westin brand
Bamboo feel/resort feel in lobby

The bad:
Internet was $9.95 a night but was free in lobby; free for SPG members of course

The Ugly:
The food is expensive but the improvements in the food since our last couple of stays makes this a bad not ugly as shows managements commitment to service and listening to customers comments; we love this place!

Room Tip: You cant go wrong with any rooms but higher are better and avoid 2-3 rd floor rooms as close to TSA...
See more room tips
Green Features: Very eco friendly with recycling bins everywhere, This place is definitely eco friendly
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RonanJordi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, Manager at The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Thank you very much for describing your experience in such great detail. I'll be certain to thank Jenna, Christie and our new Dema Chef (Andrew) for the impact that they all had on your experience. I'm incredibly proud of them and happy to say - not surprised!

We all look forward to seeing you again.

Paul DiNapoli
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Detroit hotels
17.3 mi away
MGM Grand Detroit
MGM Grand Detroit
#3 of 33 in Detroit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,048 reviews
17.7 mi away
The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit
17.8 mi away
Aloft Detroit at The David Whitney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.2 mi away
Greektown Casino Hotel
17.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Detroit Downtown Riverfront
18.1 mi away
The Inn on Ferry Street
The Inn on Ferry Street
#2 of 33 in Detroit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport

Property: The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport
Address: 2501 Worldgateway Place, Detroit, MI 48242
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Detroit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Detroit
#2 Family Hotel in Detroit
#2 Luxury Hotel in Detroit
#3 Romantic Hotel in Detroit
#3 Business Hotel in Detroit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 414
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport, located in the new world-class McNamara Terminal, offers a private security entrance, latest technology and Detroit's most stylish & comfortable surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport Hotel Detroit
Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport
Detroit Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing