We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VERY CONVENIENT WHEN FLYING OUT OF DETROIT”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport
Ranked #4 of 33 Hotels in Detroit
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Ontario, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“VERY CONVENIENT WHEN FLYING OUT OF DETROIT”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

We again used this hotel for an overnight stay before a flight. It is a little more than other hotels in the area but the convenience of being at the airport is worth the money, especially if you have an early morning flight. We purchased the park and stay package. It gave us up to 10 days of parking.
You pull up to the hotel the valet takes your car and upon returning the valet gets your car. No snow to clean off the car. You do not have to trudge through snow to get your car Just very convenient for travelling in the winter.

The room was very nice and clean.

We ate in their restaurant and the food and service was very good.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, Manager at The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
I'm so pleased that you enjoyed the convenience of our Park and Stay package, as well as the service at our amazing Dema Restaurant. We hope to see you again soon.

Paul DiNapoli
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    832
    393
    99
    40
    19
See reviews for
261
321
132
544
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

I recently stayed at the Westin located in the Detroit Airport. As with any Westin, you can expect a great stay. The hotel is nicely appointed with a rather impressive lobby (for being attached to an airport, in my opinion) as well as having nice spacious and comfortable rooms. The dining and bar amenities are great as well. The food was above average for a hotel.
What really makes the Westin so special is the ease of getting in and out. There is an external entrance to the hotel, but it also has one which can be accessed from the airport, so if you're traveling and want to avoid the rigor of the TSA experience, you'll find that the Westin's security area is much less congested.
My helpful pointer for this hotel is simple: If you're in the Detroit area for business, stay here to avoid the typical travel experience. It's my "go-to" spot when conducting business in Detroit.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrTG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, Manager at The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
We absolutely love being your "Go To" hotel of choice and we truly appreciate your loyalty. We also understand the importance of ease of travel and amazing guest service and we look forward to seeing you again.

Sincerely,

Paul DiNapoli
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level 6 Contributor
258 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Airport hotels in my experience have rarely been associated with the quality, service and caring staff found here. The rooms are spotless and well appointed. The staff accommodates every possible request.

Since I always do carry on, having the private security screening checkpoint right at the hotel is very convenient. After a nice breakfast, and a good night's sleep, it makes for an enjoyable start to the day.

I would highly recommend this little slice of heaven if your travels bring you to Detroit. Taking a long international flight with a fresh start like this is well worth the price, especially since the service on Delta is so spotty, even in Business Class. A good night and morning helps when dealing with the lousy service at Delta all day!

Room Tip: Ask for room near elevator. Halls are very long.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveler_200950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, Manager at The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Thank you so much for describing us as "a slice of heaven". We are thrilled that you enjoyed your experience with us and we truly appreciate your loyalty. Hope to see you soon!

Paul DiNapoli
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester Hills, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
663 reviews
144 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 423 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

We absolutely love staying here! We live in suburb of Detroit and always stay here especially if we have early morning flight next day etc or like last night when we flew in on long flight and wanted to have a romantic "gateway!'

First of all the hotel is located in the McNamara/Delta terminal (tucked in corner of Delta terminal/You enter the hotel in corner side of Delta terminal). Then you take escalator down to lobby area. When you descend down escalator you are overwhelmed by the minimalist/hip, zen-like tranquility with dark lighting and ubiquitous bamboo/dark wood.

Check in was smooth with Jenna being super friendly and amazing (she honored my requests and acknowledged my platinum SPG status and didnt treat me any differently as we got great deal with hotwire. . .Kudos to Jenna for her wonderful customer service!).


The room is what you would come to expect from Westin with heavenly beds and minimalist feel we chose a terminal view which you wouldnt notice as rooms are quiet and curtains keep out all light.

We went down to Dema bar immediately after check in and sat at bar and our server Christie who we know from our prior trips here was amazing as always but the thing we noticed most from our last couple of visits was that the management had listened to our comments as the food was delicious (and markedly improved from last time) yes it is expensive but it had improved in quality whereas before it was expensive but not too great. We had the Caprese salad and seafood Fettuccine which was amazing.


In summary

The good:
--Great airport hotel in McNamara terminal with its own security/TSA entrance
--Service here is top notch .. . .we had a problem with the water pressure and called to front desk and they asked if I wanted to change rooms or shower in adjacent room and I stated the latter and they immediately brought the key . . .This is true of every aspect of this hotel from bar to reception to everywhere the service is phenomenal. This place also acknowledges your SPG status which is nice.

Pool, whirlpool and gym which are always empty . . .we love using whirlpool!
Heavenly beds and what you come to expect from Westin brand
Bamboo feel/resort feel in lobby

The bad:
Internet was $9.95 a night but was free in lobby; free for SPG members of course

The Ugly:
The food is expensive but the improvements in the food since our last couple of stays makes this a bad not ugly as shows managements commitment to service and listening to customers comments; we love this place!

Room Tip: You cant go wrong with any rooms but higher are better and avoid 2-3 rd floor rooms as close to TSA...
See more room tips
Green Features: Very eco friendly with recycling bins everywhere, This place is definitely eco friendly
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RonanJordi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, Manager at The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Thank you very much for describing your experience in such great detail. I'll be certain to thank Jenna, Christie and our new Dema Chef (Andrew) for the impact that they all had on your experience. I'm incredibly proud of them and happy to say - not surprised!

We all look forward to seeing you again.

Paul DiNapoli
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Findlay, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
319 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

My wife was flying it to Detroit and wasn't getting in till mid-night. With a 2 hour drive to get home we decided to stay by the airport and got the Westin via Priceline. Our rate was below $100 for the night. No breakfast was included.

The hotel is right on the airport. They have valet parking $33 for the night or park your self for $20. They are connected to the Delta terminal. My wife came in to the North terminal on another airline. There are shuttles that just loop around the terminals an parking garages every 15 minutes and they are free. I took one over and met my wife and returned to the Westin. It was easy and efficient. There are TV screens that tell you when the next shuttle will arrive.

I got there about 9:30pm and checked into a wonderful room. It was all high end. The bed and pillows were very comfortable. The bathroom was big enough and the show worked great and there was plenty of water pressure. The only issue I have is being a high end hotel with the price point they are at charging for in-room Internet is a little ridiculous.

I did have a drink down in the bar. The prices were fair and the service was fast and friendly. They had a restaurant but I had eaten so I didn't eat there. What I saw looked good.

Check-in and check-out were easy. It was a great experience. At the price we paid it was excellent. If I had paid the normal rates I would rate it more a 4. Still a great place and you can't beat the quality and location.

Room Tip: You can get great deals on Priceline but there is no guarantee that you will get the Westin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stargazerm31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, Manager at The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Thank you so much for your feedback and I'l glad you enjoyed your time with us. We do have a wonderful team here and I'm so happy to hear of your positive experience. We hope to see you during future travels through the Detroit area.

Sincerely,

Paul DiNapoli
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cherijcbs@yahoo.com
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

Great place to stay if you have an early morning flight we did the park and stay offering while we were in Jamaica for a week real nice to return in the snow to a warm car being brought to the door for us!! Will go this again!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sassy5044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, Manager at The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
So great to hear of your experience. No question, a warm vehicle is helpful after a winter vacation to Jamaica! We hope to see you again soon.

Thank you,

Paul DiNapoli
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013

I will start off by saying that I am usually not a Starwood traveler, as its hard to get points and nights with them. However, with this stay I found it to be best to stay at the airport. The hotel was recommended to me, so I thought I might as well give it a try.

I arrived from curbside, as I had just returned my rental car. So I came through the tunnel from the Delta ticket counter. It smelled like a clean Westin from that point on. The lobby is open and beautiful and again smells very clean. The young lady at the check-in counter was very nice and informed me of all the amenities offered, including their own security checkpoint (if you dont have to check a bag, you can use this). I went up to my room and was pleasantly surprised of the size of it. Again, very clean.

The one thing that did bug me a little bit, was that the maid service in the hallway kepy slamming the doors going in and out of the rooms. They apparently were pulling the security latch over to not lock the doors and then they would slam against that. But, it was 4-5pm, so not a big deal, but it was annoying to listen to for 30 minutes or so.

The bar downstairs has a decent beer, wine and spirits list, but I thought it was definitely high, even for a hotel. I live in SF, so I am used to high prices, but for DTW it was really high. Nothing on the menu was really outstanding, so the value for what you pay, definitely not there. But, what else are you going to eat, right? There were several of us at the bar, the bartender was very nice, but very busy for one person and so the service was a little slow.

Since it is Detroit and you are going to fly out, I would totally recommend this hotel if you have to stay over. It is to convenient not to use and its clean and the people are very friendly.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmcki60811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, Manager at The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Thank you very much for your detailed description of your stay. We're so pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and we do appreciate your reccommendations as well. Your feedback was very helpful and we certainly hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Paul DiNapoli
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Detroit hotels
17.6 mi away
MGM Grand Detroit
MGM Grand Detroit
#3 of 33 in Detroit
1,080 reviews
17.9 mi away
The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit
18.0 mi away
Aloft Detroit at The David Whitney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.5 mi away
Greektown Casino Hotel
17.4 mi away
MotorCity Casino Hotel
MotorCity Casino Hotel
#10 of 33 in Detroit
637 reviews
11.2 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Detroit-Dearborn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport

Property: The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport
Address: 2501 Worldgateway Pl, Detroit, MI 48242-6298
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Detroit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Detroit
#2 Family Hotel in Detroit
#2 Luxury Hotel in Detroit
#3 Romantic Hotel in Detroit
#3 Business Hotel in Detroit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 414
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport, located in the new world-class McNamara Terminal, offers a private security entrance, latest technology and Detroit's most stylish & comfortable surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport Hotel Detroit
Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport
Detroit Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing