We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Choice if Stuck at DTW”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport
Ranked #4 of 33 Hotels in Detroit
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
317 reviews
171 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“Perfect Choice if Stuck at DTW”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

The Westin DTW is a great choice if you need to stay at the Detroit airport. It literally is part of the McNamara Terminal at DTW, which serves all Delta (and only Delta) flights. It has its own TSA security checkpoint, allowing you to step off the hotel elevator and get right in line at security to enter the airport concourse. The hotel has Delta check-in kiosks as well as flight status boards right in the central atrium. Especially if you are taking Delta, the Westin could not be any more convenient. If you are taking another airline, the airport offers a free shuttle from the McNamara Terminal to the North Terminal, about three miles away. I have used that shuttle in the past and found it to be relatively convenient. The hotel itself is as nice as most non-airport Westins. It is either relatively new or else has been immaculately maintained. The rooms are standard Westin rooms, meaning they are comfortable, well furnished, and provided with a number of amenities that make life easier for business travelers (lots of work space, outlets, etc.). I didn’t hear much air traffic from my room, but given how late I arrived and how early I departed, it isn’t likely there were many flights during that brief time. As with any airport hotel, there is no reason at all to stay here if you don’t have to be at the airport, which is too bad, because this Westin is as nice as the hotels I have tried in downtown Detroit. The downside is that it is relatively pricey compared to the other airport hotels located off the airport property, but to me, the convenience factor and the quality differences between this hotel and the others nearby makes the price difference worthwhile.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wedgewood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, Manager at The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your detailed feedback. We pride ourslves on the quality of our services (as well as the condition of our property) and we're so happy that you've selected us during your travels. Hope to see you again soon.

Paul DiNapoli
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    827
    390
    98
    39
    19
See reviews for
258
318
131
541
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (316)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sarnia, Canada
Level Contributor
87 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Very courteous checkin and very fast. The decor and cleanliness of both the lobby and rooms are exellent. If you fly out of that terminal, its is VERY convenient. Checkout was quick and courteous as well. I will return for sure.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chris s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, Manager at The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for being our guest and we're happy to have you return. We look forward to seeing you again.

Paul DiNapoli
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saline, MI
Level Contributor
95 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

The Park/Sleep/Fly package that the Westin offers is very convenient for us and we enjoy our stay at the hotel. Our room this time looked over the lobby and restaurant and was more spacious then some of the rooms looking out towards the airplanes. The security entrance/exit is not working for us because we arrive too late and leave too early. We ate at the restaurant and while the food is okay, it is nothing special, but it is pricey because of the location and the association with a Westin hotel. I wish they would change their menu occasionally and provide some lighter/smaller items for people who don't want a heavy meal later in the evening. We already booked additional stays at the Westin because of the convenience and the very professional and friendly valet service.

Room Tip: Since we mostly just come to sleep before a flight, any room will do for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beachlover888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, Manager at The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We'd always be happy to customize any of our menu selections for you, so please just say the word and we'll be thrilled to assist. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Sincerely,

Paul DiNapoli
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
78 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

I arrived in Detroit late, and had to leave early, so I opted to stay at the airport. I chose this hotel because it is in the terminal. It is lovely, room was large, clean and peaceful. Really a nice place. It was a blessing not to have to board a bus to get there. There is a security checkpoint right at the hotel, which is convenient, but unfortunately it didn't open early enough for my flight. It was a bit hard to find my way to the regular checkpoint, but there was almost no line, so it was no problem. If you are in transit in Detroit, this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank travelingmom35805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, Manager at The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Being a "Quiet Oasis" is one of our goals and we're glad you enjoyed your time with us.

Thank you,

Paul DiNapoli
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
38 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

This hotel is clean, modern, and sits comfortably among its Marriott and Hilton peers, in terms of service and quality. My room was neatly appointed, if not a little sloppy in presentation, but everything felt clean and cared-for.

As this is an airport hotel, don't expect much of a view, or nearby nightlife options. I was staying for a convention, which also took place at the hotel. If that's not your scenario, I'd suggest another hotel (perhaps the Westin downtown?), simply for the ease of travel and doing things.

The secret in this hotel, though, is the shortest *direct* security line at the airport.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeffrey J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, Manager at The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Special Guest,

Thank you for your commentary. We do offer views that you might enjoy next time, such as a view of the air strip. Please let us know how we can assist you.

Sincerely,

Paul DiNapoli
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
118 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

As a weekly traveler I've stayed in many airport hotels to make my early morning flight more convenient. Stayed one night at the Westin. Many other hotels (including the Hilton properties, which I am a Diamond member) should take note; really top notch from the classy, quiet and comfortable room, overall classy surroundings, friendly and efficient service, good food and a nice bar area. Shuttle to the North terminal was on time most inportantly! I am traveling to Detroit in a few weeks and will definitely be staying again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gunzee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, Manager at The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

I'm thrilled that you had a wonderful visit and we can't wait to see you again. Please be sure to say hello when you return!

Sincerely,

Paul DiNapoli
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macomb, Michigan
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

I checked in for one night prior to an early morning flight. I was presently surprised to see that things were well maintained. I had heard from friends that the hotel was worn down. Also, from the front desk to the restaurant, people were so helpful and friendly! I would choose this hotel again in the future.

Green Features: Recycle bins are placed in each room. Notes left for towel and sheet use to give clients the option to reuse towels and not have linens changed daily!!
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank georgiegirl42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, Manager at The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Our associates are the best around and I'm so pleased to here your feedback. We hope to see you again soon.

Paul DiNapoli
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Detroit hotels
17.6 mi away
MGM Grand Detroit
MGM Grand Detroit
#3 of 33 in Detroit
1,070 reviews
17.9 mi away
The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit
18.0 mi away
Aloft Detroit at The David Whitney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.5 mi away
Greektown Casino Hotel
17.4 mi away
MotorCity Casino Hotel
MotorCity Casino Hotel
#11 of 33 in Detroit
625 reviews
11.2 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Detroit-Dearborn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport

Property: The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport
Address: 2501 Worldgateway Pl, Detroit, MI 48242-6298
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Detroit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Detroit
#2 Family Hotel in Detroit
#2 Luxury Hotel in Detroit
#3 Business Hotel in Detroit
#3 Romantic Hotel in Detroit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 414
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport, located in the new world-class McNamara Terminal, offers a private security entrance, latest technology and Detroit's most stylish & comfortable surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport Hotel Detroit
Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport
Detroit Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing