We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay if flying out of McNamara Terminal”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport
Ranked #4 of 33 Hotels in Detroit
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Ontario
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Best place to stay if flying out of McNamara Terminal”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We've stayed here several times when flying on Delta out of McNamara Terminal. Although it's more expensive than most, if not all, the other airport hotels, you can't beat the convenience of valet parking and walking into the terminal for an early morning flight - no shuttles to wait for! The hotel itself is really beautiful. We usually arrive there late the night before a flight, so we haven't used the pool or fitness centre. We have enjoyed a drink in the bar though! The desk staff is lovely and the rooms are always clean and comfortable. Can't beat the heavenly beds! This is our favourite to place to stay when flying out of McNamara.

Room Tip: You can leave a bag of clothes behind for your return. Keep your valet parking ticket in a safe p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank m0m23b0ys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, Manager at The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We're so glad you always enjoy your time with us and we especially appreciate you mentioning our amazing staff. They truly are the best around!

Hope to see you soon.

Paul DiNapoli
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    823
    390
    98
    38
    18
See reviews for
256
317
131
539
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saline, MI
Level Contributor
94 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Once again we had an early flight on Delta and took advantage of the Park/Sleep/Fly package with Westin. The rooms are comfortable and the bathrooms adequate. This time we did not eat at the hotel restaurant; the food there is okay, a bit on the expensive side. The front desk staff is friendly and professional, check in/out is a breeze. The valet parking that comes with the park/fly package is great. On the trip back, one calls the valet desk from the luggage carousel area and once one arrives at the hotel entrance, the car is being driven up. I agree with another reviewer that if one does not fly Delta, using the shuttle bus to get between the terminals is not worth staying at the Westin. As I mentioned in a previous review, one cannot hear the airplanes and that is wonderful for getting a good nights sleep.

Room Tip: Request a room with a view of the airport if you like to watch the planes coming and going.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beachlover888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, Manager at The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for visiting us again and we truly appreciate your feedback. Our service is so amazing and you also might enjoy our new DEMA Restaurant menu during your next visit.

Sincerely,

Paul DiNapoli
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

During a recent trip back my home town from overseas, I found myself stranded overnight at Detroit-Metro. Rather than be shuttled to an off-airport hotel property, I elected to get a room at the Detroit Airport Westin. Even though I made a last minute reservation upon clearing customs at approximately 8pm, I was able to get a room at an affordable price. While I had never stayed at this particular Westin property before, I usually find the Westin chain to be consistent when it comes to quality and cleanliness. This particular Westin stay did not disappoint. The hotel's entrance is conveniently located in the terminal adjacent to Delta's check-in counters. Upon entering, it was apparent that this was no ordinary hotel in an airport. Rather, it had the feel of an upscale business hotel that you might find anywhere around the globe. As I find with most Westin's, the hotel atmosphere was modern and chic. After an efficient check-in, I proceeded to my room to drop off my luggage before heading to the Westin's bar for a late night bite. As a Starwood preferred member, I was given a room on one of the floors allocated for Starwood preferred members. The room, like the lobby, was modern and comfortable. With a full size bed, a couch, reading chair, desk, and very large flat screen TV, I had all the amenities I needed and more for a brief overnight stay. What I really appreciated was the well laid out work desk area which was well lit, had plenty of easily accessible electrical outlets (yeah, I did not have to crawl on my hands and knees to plug in my pc), and a comfortable desk chair much like one would find in any high end office environment. The bathroom, while relatively small, was more than adequate and was spotlessly clean. The waterfall shower was a nice and unexpected touch. The restaurant in the lobby was open only until 10pm (on a Saturday night, would have thought they might have been open a bit later), but thankfully the adjacent bar was open until Midnight and offered a menu with quite a bit of variety ranging from sandwiches to a range of entrees include meat and seafood. The bar had a number of wide screen televisions so I was able to watch the NCAA tournament while enjoying my dinner with co-workers. And while the service was a bit slower than one would expect, the server was friendly and the food was tasty. In the morning, checkout was efficient and friendly. Delta check-in kiosks adjacent to the hotel desk proved useful as I had to grab a new boarding pass after selecting a seat on-line earlier the night before. One feature of the hotel that I was unable to take advantage of because of the early time of my flight the next AM was a dedicated security check point in to the air-side of the terminal that is located off the lobby within feet of check-in. Sadly, this TSA checkpoint does not open to the public until 745 AM though I noticed that airline aircrew staying at the hotel were able to use it at 630 AM when I was checking out. Overall, a great experience and a great hotel. Westin once again proved themselves in tune with the needs --- and desire --- of this international business traveler.

Room Tip: Seems to me that there is a not a bad locale in the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WorldTraveler889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, Manager at The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your detailed and thorough experience with us. Sounds like you had a wonderful visit and I'm so glad we exceeded your expectations. Hope to see you again soon.

Paul DiNapoli
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Condamine, Monaco
Level Contributor
49 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Extremely convenient, right inside the airport near the gates, but does not feel like it when inside, nice atrium, good room and service, best in-airport hotel I have ever been to. The atrium is very large with big trees and an acceptable restaurant. There is also a gym in the hotel, the rooms are quiet and overlook the atrium.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GRIJNS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, Manager at The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for the wonderful compliment as being the best airport hotel that you've ever been to. Certainly high praise indeed and I humbly mention that we do hear that feedback a lot...

Can't wait to see you again.

Sincerely,

Paul DiNapoli
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
72 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

So-so, mediocre property, but it is in the airport. no hot water for shower, and toilets was broken.
Room was glanced over by maids before my arrival, and cleaning staff needs to learn how to clean. When you are going to bed, you don't want to turn the sheets back to find the last guest's hair. CHANGE THE SHEETS!

Service was vey poor in the restraint, ate there twice,....never again.
Overall.....take a shuttle and o somewhere else.

Room Tip: Don't book here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bacsusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, Manager at The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We sincerely appreciate your feedback and I must mention that we were very surprised. Although your feedback was uncommon for us, I was able to urgently research this matter and address without delay. Thank you again for your comments and we hope you'll give us another try.

Sincerely,

Paul DiNapoli
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, MI
Level Contributor
150 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

I have stayed here on more than one occassion when I have early morning flights. This is your standard Westin hotel with all the westin amenities. The good- if you have a delta flight, it is extremely easy to enter the airport due to the fact there is a security checkpoint in the hotel. Rooms are clean and despite being an airport hotel, quiet. The bad- lobby/restaurant area is open, and smells slightly fishy. I am not sure if this is due to the food served at the restaurant or the water. Food at restaurant not terrible, but not the best. If you stay here, you are stuck eating at the hotel. The lobby does not have natural light. If you are staying here and headed towards the non-Delta (ie the north terminal), don't bother staying here. The shuttle service is unreliable. I recommend parking at a discount lot and taking their shuttle to the delta terminal vs using the costly valet service at the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lhaganmich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, Manager at The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

I'm so glad you enjoyed our clean and extremely quiet rooms. Great news, we now have an airport shuttle tracking monitor at our main entrance, so if needed, our guests can track the exact timing of the Airport's inter-terminal shuttles.

Thank you,

Paul DiNapoli
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gig Harbor, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

This is a great place for a business meeting or if you have an early morning flight. It is the ultimate in convenience to the Detroit airport. I've stayed there twice for those reasons. Comfortable and quiet. The catered food for our meeting was exceptional. Everyone was pleased.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank PNWTravelr_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, Manager at The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for being a frequent guest and we also appreciate you mentioning our Banquet and Catering services. Our food quality and service is exceptional there too and we're glad you enjoyed your experience.

Paul DiNapoli
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Detroit hotels
17.6 mi away
MGM Grand Detroit
MGM Grand Detroit
#3 of 33 in Detroit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,063 reviews
17.9 mi away
The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit
18.0 mi away
Aloft Detroit at The David Whitney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.5 mi away
Greektown Casino Hotel
17.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Detroit Downtown Riverfront
18.3 mi away
The Inn on Ferry Street
The Inn on Ferry Street
#1 of 33 in Detroit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport

Property: The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport
Address: 2501 Worldgateway Pl, Detroit, MI 48242-6298
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Detroit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Detroit
#2 Family Hotel in Detroit
#2 Luxury Hotel in Detroit
#3 Business Hotel in Detroit
#3 Romantic Hotel in Detroit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 414
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport, located in the new world-class McNamara Terminal, offers a private security entrance, latest technology and Detroit's most stylish & comfortable surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport Hotel Detroit
Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport
Detroit Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing