We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't get more convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport
Ranked #4 of 33 Hotels in Detroit
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Gig Harbor, Washington, United States
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Can't get more convenient”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

This is a great place for a business meeting or if you have an early morning flight. It is the ultimate in convenience to the Detroit airport. I've stayed there twice for those reasons. Comfortable and quiet. The catered food for our meeting was exceptional. Everyone was pleased.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank PNWTravelr_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, Manager at The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for being a frequent guest and we also appreciate you mentioning our Banquet and Catering services. Our food quality and service is exceptional there too and we're glad you enjoyed your experience.

Paul DiNapoli
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,397 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    838
    397
    102
    40
    20
See reviews for
262
322
137
550
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (322)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We've stayed here twice before flying out the next day on vacation. Clean, spacious and comfortable. The room service is delicious. What a way to start off your vacation. This year, we also stayed here one night when we came back, before travelling home. It's such a great hotel.

Room Tip: Great place to sleep if you have a morning flight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djraiche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, Manager at The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

I'm so glad you had a "Perfect" experience. That's always our goal and we'd love to see you again.

Thank you,

Paul DiNapoli
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lansing, MI
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

This is a comfortable, convenient, extra-nice place to stay before an early flight. There is even a security checkpoint in the lobby, which is a great alternative to the security points in the airport which are mobbed with long lines.
The restaurant is quick and very good.
It's not inexpensive, but when you need an alternative to the usual airport hotels and restaurants, this is a great place to stay and to dine.

Room Tip: I enjoy the rooms facing the gates, so you can see airplanes coming and going.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, Manager at The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and I'm happy you enjoyed our Dema Restaurant and Bar. We hope to see you during your future travels.

Paul DiNapoli
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland USA
Level 6 Contributor
254 reviews
185 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Stayed two nights due to weather delay. Had a Club Room on the 8th floor. There were about 5 elevators going up and we never had to wait more than 10 seconds. The room was along the outside of the atrium type hotel. Room was nice, bed was soft but comfortable and the HVAC and hot water was fine!
The Club room was nice but not open all day, only for a short time in the morning and for a couple of hours in the PM. The food served was fresh and not typical! Shrimp!!! Big shrimp! Great cookies too!
Had dinner on the property one evening and the prices are quite steep. Ok if you are on expense but $18 for a burger and $15 for a pizza are outta sight. We are not in NYC.
Check in and check out were quote painless and quick. Want to make a comment about the DTW security line that you can use as a customer of the hotel......Be aware it does not open until 7:30AM

Also we decided to go out to the terminal for lunch and you can get a pass to go into the terminal if you are staying at the hotel. A Detroit policeman had to come in from the terminal after getting a call from the front desk. He was filling in a form on us and we had to sign. Then we had to go through security as we normally would except we were body searched. Was this all worth it? I do not think so. You can pay $$$ for a hamburger in the hotel or get searched to get a burger at National Coney Island.

I would stay at the hotel again and am giving it four stars!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank panther61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, Manager at The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for being our guest and we're glad you enjoyed our amenities.

We hope to see you again,

Paul DiNapoli
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

OMG, the impossible just happened. After a long day spent in the hotel's fairly comfortable meeting rooms, I went to my well designed, comfortable guest room and had the inevitable hotel IT problems with poor wireless strength occur, only to have an actual live, breathing network engineer show up at my door in 5 minutes after my call to the front desk. Armed with a portable router, the engineer created a little wi-fi hotspot for me so that my MacBook Air could get connected with the fastest, strongest network I've EVER had in a hotel. Fixed in one minute. Done. Allowing me to get back online and do my work with no problems. Ahhhhhhh, thank you, kind man and the Westin Hotel that hired you! Why can't all hotels be like this one during my many business travels? Oh, and did I mention the room is clean, has a great bed, and the meeting rooms and food are decent, too? You might think, as I did, that an airport Westin would be merely convenient and serviceable, but not this responsive and outstanding, right? I was pleasantly surprised and think you might be as well, when you see that it is all that AND a bag of chips, AND more!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CardCarrier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, Manager at The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

So happy to help! We'll always do whatever it takes to make your stay enjoyable. All that and a bag of chips....love it.

Paul DiNapoli
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

A business partner and I were on a flight diverted to Detroit this past Tuesday. 175 passengers dumped into the Detroit airport at 11:45pm on a Tuesday night. Airport closed, only 3 service agents available. My company's Travel Services department was able to get us into the Westin right in the airport. Fast check in, beautiful lobby... A real oasis after a horrible travel day. Bar stayed open past midnight to take care of a handful of stranded, hungry travelers, and rooms were typically top notch. A really nice hotel that is obviously extremely convenient. Great experience.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Jeff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, Manager at The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We're happy to help during your time of need and we hope to see you again.

Sincerely,

Paul DiNapoli
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

Stayed one night prior to our flight and this is by far the nicest cleanest hotel my wife and I have had the pleasure of staying at. We got a park and fly rate and the valet was right there to take our car and on our return was quick to get the car. We has awesome customer service from everyone we meet from the valet to checkin... (even the TSA lol). Would stay here again as the location is perfect to get into the Delta terminal.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miller-Time-CDN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, Manager at The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Guest service is our specialty and we're happy that your experience was enjoyable. We hope to see you soon.

Sincerely,

Paul DiNapoli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Detroit hotels
17.6 mi away
MGM Grand Detroit
MGM Grand Detroit
#3 of 33 in Detroit
1,089 reviews
17.9 mi away
The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit
18.0 mi away
Aloft Detroit at The David Whitney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.5 mi away
Greektown Casino Hotel
17.4 mi away
MotorCity Casino Hotel
MotorCity Casino Hotel
#10 of 33 in Detroit
651 reviews
18.3 mi away
The Atheneum
The Atheneum
#16 of 33 in Detroit
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport

Property: The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport
Address: 2501 Worldgateway Pl, Detroit, MI 48242-6298
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Detroit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Detroit
#2 Family Hotel in Detroit
#2 Luxury Hotel in Detroit
#3 Business Hotel in Detroit
#3 Romantic Hotel in Detroit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 404
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport, located in the world-class McNamara Terminal, offers the convenience of a private security entrance, latest Westin guestroom, technology and comfort, Reflections Restaurant and Lounge, 26,000 sq. ft. of meeting space and Detroit's most stylish & comfortable surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport Hotel Detroit
Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport
Detroit Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing