We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport
Ranked #4 of 33 Hotels in Detroit
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Farmington Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
47 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Relaxing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

The Westin was a nice and relaxing retreat. Most comfortable bed EVER and very clean and quiet. The Bar staff is awesome and so was the front desk staff. Not the best location if you are traveling back and forth in city as parking is pretty expensive and it's kinda a maze getting from the room to the parking structure. But great if staying prior to flight.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Miyaj131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, Manager at The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Providing a relaxing stay is what we're all about. Hope to see you again!

Paul DiNapoli
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    816
    383
    96
    36
    17
See reviews for
255
309
129
531
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
643 reviews
145 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 417 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

We absolutely love staying here...especially whenever we have any flights from DTW. The hotel is best in area and has own security terminal into Delta terminal! You cant beat that...it has a nice restaurant bar with decent food and drinks. I agree with everyone about charging for internet is ridiculous but more and more hotels are doing it...(btw in europe every hotel charges for internet) but hopefully this hotel realizes that free internet is a nice perk for your guests!

Room Tip: Stay here and use the TSA security terminal!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RonanJordi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, Manager at The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for your feedback. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and we take your comments very seriously. We hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Paul DiNapoli
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich, Ct
Level Contributor
60 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

What a convenient and comfortable hotel inside Detroit Metro airport! Great rates with consistent Westin comfort. The parking is pricy but convenient for pick up and drop off of car rental Hotel has a TSA security entrance that brings you to the middle of Delta terminal. Will definitely return for next trip to Detroit.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RSDBA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, Manager at The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

We do our very best to offer a great value for the products and services that we provide. We're thrilled that you enjoyed your visit and we hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Paul DiNapoli
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saginaw, Michigan
Level Contributor
103 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

So a nice property as the other reviews commented, but folks, these days charging for in-room WiFi access in a hotel that caters so much to business travelers and is also pricey is like charging for the SHOWER. It is, quite frankly, ridiculous and not a customer-centered policy. Will not return.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank kimmielou01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, Manager at The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

While I'm pleased that you enjoyed your overall visit with us, I'm sorry to hear of your concerns with our internet fees. We do our very best to provide a great value for our products and services and we certainly hope you'll give us another try in the future.

Sincerely,

Paul DiNapoli
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

freindly staff, great location, no noise. modern clean up-to-date rooms.

would stay there anyday. i needed a wheelchair to get to gate at 6:AM. The hotel arranged for the wheelchair and airport personel to meet me at my room.

Room Tip: only issue is the legnth and the need to know how to get to front desk from the curbside. but there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Memos1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, Manager at The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

I'm so glad you enjoyed your time with us. We're always happy to help you in any possible way and we hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Paul DiNapoli
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
75 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

Stayed here for 2 weekend nights late September on a Priceline bid.
The hotel is incredible looking. From a faux forest in the atrium to nicely furnished rooms.
Yes, it is in the Delta terminal so folks flying another airline might not find this very convenient.
But for Delta passengers, you just walk right into the hotel which is attached to the terminal it is even more convenient than the Chicago O'Hare Hilton.
While the hotel itself is beautiful and the staff are great, I found a few things irritating.
A $5 food voucher is available if the guest declines housekeeping for a day. But, as it turns out the voucher cannot be used for the next morning's breakfast - go figure.
The bathroom shower has a two shower head device and a big sign that asks the guest not to use both shower heads - go figure.
The very comfy bed has both a very heavy blanket and a very heavy comforter. Way too warm and unnecessary - go figure.

Room Tip: Runway view rooms get more sunlight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidPortland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, Manager at The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

I'm happy that you enjoyed your visit with us. Our Heavenly Bed certainly does have many layers, but we're always happy to remove any items for you. We hope to see you again soon.

Paul DiNapoli
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston, Florida
Level Contributor
230 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

O.K. I know your thinking, how great can an IN TERMINAL airport be? Well It is awesome. Despite looking right out the room at the flight line, you hear nothing. The rooms are fantastic, great restaurant, and super convenient for early travel out in the morning. Even when the direct TSA access is still closed, it was a shot walk to ticketing and normal security. I will make it a point to stay here again.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Batt2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, Manager at The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear Valued Guests,

We're glad you decided to try us too! Hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Paul DiNapoli
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Detroit hotels
17.3 mi away
MGM Grand Detroit
MGM Grand Detroit
#3 of 33 in Detroit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,049 reviews
17.7 mi away
The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit
17.8 mi away
Aloft Detroit at The David Whitney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.2 mi away
Greektown Casino Hotel
17.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Detroit Downtown Riverfront
17.2 mi away
MotorCity Casino Hotel
MotorCity Casino Hotel
#12 of 33 in Detroit
4.0 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport

Property: The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport
Address: 2501 Worldgateway Place, Detroit, MI 48242
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Detroit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Detroit
#2 Family Hotel in Detroit
#2 Luxury Hotel in Detroit
#3 Business Hotel in Detroit
#3 Romantic Hotel in Detroit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 414
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport, located in the new world-class McNamara Terminal, offers a private security entrance, latest technology and Detroit's most stylish & comfortable surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Jetsetter, HotelsClick, Reservation Counter, Despegar.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport Hotel Detroit
Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport
Detroit Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing