We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Warm Welcome for the Tired Traveller”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport
Ranked #4 of 33 Hotels in Detroit
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
66 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“A Warm Welcome for the Tired Traveller”
Reviewed September 17, 2011

On our recent trip to Michigan we booked a one night stay at the Detroit Westin Hotel as it was attached to the airport and we didn’t want to travel too far in a strange town after a long overseas flight. The website states the hotel is located at the airport terminal which it is but this can be confusing as Detroit has two terminals and we arrived at the other terminal. A few questions to the airport staff and we were on our way to the courtesy shuttle which dropped us off at the door of the hotel. The distance between terminals means you cannot walk to the hotel and must use the courtesy shuttle however the shuttle runs often and is only a 5 minute ride.

Check in was easy. We’d booked online for a very good rate and the check in staff were courteous and friendly.

The hotel is new and modern and gives a relaxing feel. It is also extremely quiet considering it is at one of the airport terminals. The room was large and spacious and included two queen size beds which were very comfortable. After the long flight the beds were just heavenly to sink into. In fact if you really like the beds, linen or decor in the hotel you can actually purchase them! The room facilities were great and the bathroom clean and modern with a double shower head. This hotel rivals many 5 star hotels for room quality and at a fraction of the price!

As it was late at night we were unable to get a drink in the bar. It closed early due to the hotel being quiet but we were able to order room service which was delivered quickly and tasted delicious. It came complete with all your condiments and the mandatory pickle.

Free wireless was available in the lobby, but in the rooms for a price, which I found unusual. However this practice was common in the US. We used the free lobby access which worked well.

The hotel check out is at midday which is very convenient and allows a sleep in if you need it. We certainly made use of this. Before departing we decided to have lunch in the hotel restaurant. The service was great, staff friendly, food tasty and reasonably priced, in fact it was so nice we revisited there for another meal during our 5 hour layover on the way home. The food is much tastier and seating more comfortable than any fast food place on offer at the airport. We recommend you try this.

Although we didn’t use all the facilities the hotel also has a gym, pool and business centre. Pretty much everything you need for a stay/stop-over.

All in all the hotel was modern, comfortable and a great price. Very convenient for the business traveller and also for late flight arrivals after a long haul flight.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ccranny01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, Manager at The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport, responded to this review, October 2, 2011
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for the wonderful and extremely deetailed review of your stay. Our goal is to offer convenience, with outstanding service and amenities. I'm extremely pleased that this was your experience - especially after such a long journey.

Sincerely,

Paul DiNapoli
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    832
    393
    99
    40
    19
See reviews for
261
321
132
544
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2011

This is a typical Westin (heavenly bed, good shower, etc.) but what makes it special is it is right on the concourse at DTW. It has it's own security checkpoint and can't be more convenient for an early morning flight.

Room Tip: Some rooms (that I prefer) look out onto the airport tarmac. Others look into the hotel atrium.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crsWashington_DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, Manager at The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport, responded to this review, October 2, 2011
Dear Valued Guest,

Our convenient location and outstanding guest service typically equates to a wonderful guest experience. I'm so glad (and not surprised) that was the case for you. Thank you very much for your feedback abd we hope to see you again.

Sincerely,

Paul DiNapoli
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Lake, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2011

Checked into the Westin after U of Michigan-Notre Dame football game. It was late and check-in was a little slow. But once in the room it was nice and quiet and clean. My only issue was the parking. It was difficult to get back to my car---I had to go through the Delta Terminal to elevater, to walkway across road, to elevator in parking garage....my car was directly across from the hotel entrance. Long haul to cross the street.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
Helpful?
Thank springlakekathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, Manager at The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport, responded to this review, September 14, 2011
Dear Valued Guest,

I appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us. It was an exciting game and I'm so glad you enjoyed your visit. I do understand that airport guest parking can be a bit of a walk from the Westin, but our Valet Parking services might be a great option for your next stay.

We hope to see you soon.

Have an inspiring day.

Paul DiNapoli
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
136 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,483 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2011

Once again we began our holiday by taking advantage of a "Park-and-Stay" package at the Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport. The valet parking is so convenient. It's such a pleasant way to start a holiday, not having to worry about searching for a parking space and/or dealing with offsite discount lot shuttles (which was a good thing for us this time, as traffic backups had us running late, and without valet parking we may have missed our flight). In fact, our package rate was much less expensive than the daily rate for the valet parking alone, so it was a terrific value!

This time we elected to stay upon our return instead of before our departure, since we were booked on a red-eye flight and knew we wouldn't get much rest on the plane. We didn't actually check-in until 7AM (our reservation was for the night before), but Westin generously allowed us a late checkout so we could get about six hours of sleep before beginning the drive home. The hotel was quiet, the bed was very comfortable, and we got our much needed rest.

We have yet to find an airport hotel anywhere else in the world that is as convenient and comfortable as the Detroit Airport Westin. This hotel makes an early morning departure or a late night arrival not only bearable, but an enjoyable and eagerly anticipated part of any vacation we take.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Kodachrome_Dreams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, Manager at The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport, responded to this review, October 2, 2011
Dear Valued Guest,

Our Park and Fly program is typically a huge hit with our guests. Thank you for the honor of noting us as your "Favourite Airport Hotel Anywhere!". We're extremely pleased to read your feedback and we're so glad you enjoyed your visit.

Sincerely,

Paul DiNapoli
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlevoix, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2011

We stayed at this hotel while flying to and from a girlfriends long weekend in San Francisco. It made going through security so easy since they have their own entrance into the terminal for all Delta flights. Our car was also valet parked for the duration of our trip. The room was most comfortable (loved the Starbucks coffee) and the food and drinks in the lobby bar very good though a bit on the pricey side. I will definitely stay here again on my future trips as comfort and convenience become way more important than price as I get older.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, Manager at The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport, responded to this review, September 14, 2011
Dear Valued Guest,

I'm so glad you enjoyed your visit and we all hope to see you in the future.

Have a wonderful day!

Paul DiNapoli
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Revere
2 reviews
Reviewed September 13, 2011

My husband and I recently had the pleasure of staying at the Westin at Detroit Metropolitan Airport. We were traveling from Boston to Fort Myers and had to overnight in Detroit. This is when we my husband and I fell upon the Westin. After a long day of travel and an unexpected overnight in Detroit were greeted by the most friendly staff. We checked into the most luxurious room. We then proceeded to the restaurant in their amazing lobby where we had a late night dinner. I had mentioned to my waitress that my son was up in the room and hadn't eaten. She had room service delivered to him without any hesitation. After dinner we retired the day into the most comfortable bed we had ever slept in. If you have the opportunity to stay in Detroit we highly recommend the WESTIN METROPOLITAN AIRPORT.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Le O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, Manager at The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport, responded to this review, September 14, 2011
Dear Fellow Bostonian,

It was our sincere pleasure to have you and your family as our guests and we hope to see you in the future. We're a great stop on the way to Florida! I'm so glad (although not surprised) that you had an enjoyable culinary and sleeping experience with us, as our goal was to have you feel refreshed and relaxed during your journey.

Have an inspiring day,

Paul DiNapoli
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
Reviewed September 13, 2011

After traveling 8+ hours from Albuquerque to Detroit, I arrived on the red-eye flight landing just after 1am. The shuttle driver was alert and articulate, directing weary travelers to the exact locations of their parked cars, reminding them that certain elevators/stairways were locked at this hour and to take such-and-such instead. I was the last stop on her rounds, which really meant 2 minutes from the first stop. The trek in to the check-in counter is a bit of a hike and a little confusing when running on fumes but is beautiful and rewarding when you get there. The check-in staff were so friendly, upbeat and AWAKE that it rejuvenated me to be kind and friendly in my responses. The room was clean, cool and very much anticipated. The room I stayed in faced the terminal and was a little too close for my modesty--I imagine with the blinds open, staff working in the terminal can see straight through into the room; so keep the blinds closed. The auto check-out was excellent and I was up and out of my room without a thought to checking-out with the staff. All-in-all it was an excellent experience and my husband and I ALWAYS book this hotel in advance if we are arriving after 9pm.

Room Tip: Ask for one NOT facing the terminal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, Manager at The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport, responded to this review, October 2, 2011
Dear Tired Traveler,

Awake, Alert and rejuvenated fall right into our mission here at the Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport. I'm happy you enjoyed you stay and we can't wait to see you again.

Sincerely,

Paul DiNapoli
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Detroit hotels
17.6 mi away
MGM Grand Detroit
MGM Grand Detroit
#3 of 33 in Detroit
1,080 reviews
17.9 mi away
The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit
18.0 mi away
Aloft Detroit at The David Whitney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.5 mi away
Greektown Casino Hotel
17.4 mi away
MotorCity Casino Hotel
MotorCity Casino Hotel
#10 of 33 in Detroit
637 reviews
11.2 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Detroit-Dearborn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport

Property: The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport
Address: 2501 Worldgateway Pl, Detroit, MI 48242-6298
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Detroit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Detroit
#2 Family Hotel in Detroit
#2 Luxury Hotel in Detroit
#3 Romantic Hotel in Detroit
#3 Business Hotel in Detroit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 414
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport, located in the new world-class McNamara Terminal, offers a private security entrance, latest technology and Detroit's most stylish & comfortable surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport Hotel Detroit
Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport
Detroit Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing