We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“St.Regis hotel Detroit Michigan”
Review of Hotel St. Regis

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel St. Regis
Ranked #19 of 33 Hotels in Detroit
Rochester, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“St.Regis hotel Detroit Michigan”
Reviewed June 18, 2014

Adequate sleeping hotel. The housekeeping staff need extensive training. They took our daily tip but the room was not thoroughly cleaned. Towels, toilet paper etc we're not replenished without asking, dust prevailed on the TV, it's console.

Room Tip: Note: cannot rate kid activities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dnb50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor M, General Manager at Hotel St. Regis, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. I will ensure that the person who was responsible for your room is given more training to ensure that the¥ live up to our quality levels and assure you that yours was not a typical experience with our normally great housekeeping department.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    77
    70
    42
    40
See reviews for
35
65
32
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Grosse pointe
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2014

I have been working in the hotel industry for years and this was by far the most friendly staff I have ever experienced!! The gumbo was spicy & excellent! The turkey burger and hand cut fries were so yummy!!!

Thank you LaMusique staff!! I will be back to stay again!

Go tigers!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alipurdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor M, General Manager at Hotel St. Regis, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind comments. I'm truly happy to see that you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to having you return again soon! I'm confident the Tigers will get back on the winning streak we've all come to expect.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southfield, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2014

Nice environment, good service and everyone very friendly. We were here for a convention and found that the extra help at the service desk that was organized very helpful to organize the groups of people that were arriving from different countries.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beenhereawhile_DB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor M, General Manager at Hotel St. Regis, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Our entire staff is dedicated to providing great customer service and appreciate hearing that our efforts are appreciated. We look forward to having you return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romulus
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2014

We arrived at 6:30 am and the valet was right there to help us with a friendly smile. The lobby is beautiful and clean. I had a question for the front desk and was taken care of right away by a very kind woman. While we were assisting our visiting delegates, a very nice waiter brought us coffee and tea and told us to call on him if we needed anything, so very nice. Once the area cleared out, one of the housekeeping staff was right there cleaning the carpet, and was so sweet to answer some questions we had about the hotel. Victor the general manager came by several times to make sure everything was going well for us-very welcoming to all of us. Thank you for the wonderful welcome and assistance, all with a happy smile!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Tafoster6651
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor M, General Manager at Hotel St. Regis, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words. We enjoy having your group stay with us and are happy that you are enjoying your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014

4 rooms used, for business trip. Myself & colleagues were all very disappointed in this hotel.
No hot water in the entire hotel! The front desk kept saying it will work in an hour but it didn't.
The air conditioning did not work and windows do not open. TV remotes broken.
We arrived very late and were told hot water will be working in 20 min. We departed at noon the next day and it still wasn't working.
Housekeeping was so so loud in the morning. They were down the hall banging/knocking super loudly on doors, yelling "housekeeping" over & over. Then several of them stood outside my door talking and laughing very loud.
Carpeting old & worn.
If you get in late at night there is no food anywhere!
Sheets were very thin.
Just not happy with the whole experience.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Flyinmom3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor M, General Manager at Hotel St. Regis, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We do strive to maintain the best in accommodations for all of our guests and I'm thankful that you let us know about your experience so that we can improve in the future.

We did have a hot water issue during your stay with us that has since been repaired and I apologize for the inconvenience. I can only assure you that yours was not the typical experience of our guests and I do hope you will give us another chance to show you the fine accommodations and service that the St. Regis is known for.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Detroit hotels

Aubonne, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014 via mobile

I just stayed one night, the bus stop is 100 meters from the hotel, you will get in 15 minutes downtown.

Great bed, and very helpfull staff, I could ask them what ever they always had an answer.

Free fast wifi, large baththub!



Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon_le_robot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor M, General Manager at Hotel St. Regis, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience at The Hotel St. Regis! I was happy to read that you enjoyed our facility and staff.

We recently did a complete upgrade to our wireless system and I was happy to see that you noticed the faster internet access.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2014

Possibly the worst hotel experience ever.

The day time temperature was near 90 and the AC had not been turned on in the hotel, and was told to "open the window!" Fast forward 1a, still over 80 in the room. I called the front desk and was offered a fan... Almost 2a before it arrived.

Shower was cold, and would not get hot. It was kind of welcome after being hot all night.

645a tried calling for room service and no answer 2x. Had to relay my order through the front desk. Ordered the pancakes, and they came with no syrup...

Once syrup was received the pancakes were pretty good.

The only positive i can say is the gentlemen working the valet was really nice and professional. If I were him, i would find another hotel to work at

Room Tip: Do not even bother staying here....
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sastafford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor M, General Manager at Hotel St. Regis, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
I'm truly sorry that there were issues with the A/C and the hot water during your recent stay with us. It' s highly unusual to have these occurrences and we do call in companies to make repairs as quickly as possible. I apologize for the inconvenience, but can assure you that your experience was not a normal one and I hope you will consider coming back to experience the normal great services our historic hotel has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Detroit hotels
2.7 mi away
Aloft Detroit at The David Whitney
2.7 mi away
MGM Grand Detroit
MGM Grand Detroit
#3 of 33 in Detroit
1,089 reviews
2.2 mi away
MotorCity Casino Hotel
MotorCity Casino Hotel
#10 of 33 in Detroit
651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Detroit-Dearborn
2.9 mi away
Greektown Casino Hotel
3.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Downtown Detroit
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St. Regis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. Regis

Property: Hotel St. Regis
Address: 3071 W Grand Blvd, Detroit, MI 48202-3004
Location: United States > Michigan > Detroit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 33 Hotels in Detroit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel St. Regis 3.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel St. Regis, the most inviting landmark hotel near downtown Detroit. Among Detroit Hotels, the Hotel St Regis stands alone with its original stately elegance yet with a modern, more casual style. Delivering an extraordinary level of comfort and convenience is what we promise each of our guests. Few Detroit hotels can rightfully boast of a history as rich as ours. The Hotel St. Regis has played host to such diverse and notable travelers as Martin Luther King and Mick Jagger.Located in Detroit's New Center area, the hotel is next door to Wayne State University, the world class health facility - Henry Ford Hospital, Fisher Theatre and Cadillac Place, home of the state of Michigan Government offices. And our unique location is minutes from Detroit's major venues.Guests of the Hotel St. Regis will enjoy relaxing in comfort in one of the 124 stylish guestrooms and suites located on five floors. Each room has been newly redesigned featuring an inviting color scheme, guest bedroom & bath with marble vanities & superior bedding.Enjoy live Jazz every Thursday night from 6-9PM in our attached restaurant/lounge La Musique. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel St. Regis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Regis Hotel Detroit
St Regis Detroit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing