We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$182
$170
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 35% below average rates

The price you found is 35% lower than this hotel's average rate of $260/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$152
$135
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of $156/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Atheneum(Detroit)
$225
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$198
$179
GardenInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$138
$122
Doubletree.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of $146/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$230
$215
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$144
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$314
$142
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of $178/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$209
$178
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$249
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (313)
Filter reviews
313 results
Traveler rating
54
80
82
49
48
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
54
80
82
49
48
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfisher buildingwayne state universitystarbucks coffeeice machinevalet parking ishotel restaurantinterviewcadillacdiawoodwardmotownconcertconferencegreektown
Filter
Updating list...
264 - 269 of 313 reviews
Reviewed September 28, 2012

If you're looking for a hotel within walking distance to the Detroit Amtrak, this is the place for you. it's an older facility (1966) hat actually feels older than it is, but the room was very nice. The only downside was that we had no hot water in the morning! Since we were on a schedule to catch our train, I didn't mention it until checkout. The desk person was very apologetic and sent someone up to check it out immediately.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yellow98cobra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor M, General Manager at Hotel St. Regis, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Thank you for your kind and gracious comments. We are glad you enjoyed your stay (minus the cold shower). The lack of hot water is not a minor detail. It is crucial to a hotel's success. The St Regis is under new management and we are working hard eliminating all the glitches. We know that when you return, you will get the comfort and the service that you expect.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

I recently stayed at the St. Regis Hotel in Detroit's 'New Center' area over the Labor Day 2012 weekend. I was booked there blind by a Internet booking company as being in downtown Detroit. In fact it is 3 1/2 miles north of what people today think of as downtown Detroit. I did not check that company's definition of downtown as close as I should have.

The St. Regis is a a hotel that has already failed in its first come back attempt earlier in the decade. The period between the end of 2009 and the end of 2011 when the hotel was in receivership it was not well managed and generated a lot of bad reviews on this site and other places on the web. The St. Regis is not that hotel any longer. In fact, all other things being equal, I thought that the hotel's wonderful service, genuine old world charm, and great price more than made up for any deficiencies in amenities. The beds were very comfortable, the room temperature was good, and the cable TV worked fine.

The room was smallish, but still afforded plenty of space for two adults and their luggage. There was a newer water stain in the bathroom ceiling that I suspect caused the locker room smell we experienced all weekend. Other than that smell the bathroom was finely appointed and thoroughly clean.

The breakfast included with the room price was a little underwhelming even for a free hotel breakfast. The breakfast room attendant was pleasant, and she made the best of the limited resources for the guests in her care.

The valet parking at $14 per day was well worth it. It was street level parking like so many Detroit hotels have, but the no penalty pass outs made coming and going about as convenient as it could have been. I really didn't mind multiple tips for these valets as they were almost all seasoned older gentlemen who seemed to respect their clients and their client's property. Unfortunately that is not always the case even in major chains.

The hotel does offer free health club access to a facility in the New Center area, but we did not have an opportunity to explore that amenity. Also the hotel's restaurant was open six days a week for lunch and dinner, but the hours were too limited on Labor Day weekend to be of any value to us. There is a 24 hour White castle literally around the corner and just about every other major restaurant as you head north on Woodward Avenue. In many ways the New Center location is not as isolated as downtown hotels after hours. If you have a car it might be worth the inconvenience of staying so far north of downtown.

While both of my most recent trips to Detroit have centered around downtown if I were to have business around Wayne State or if I was planning a trip to the Motown Museum I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hallmarksucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor M, General Manager at Hotel St. Regis, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Spot on with your remarks. Yes, it was tough for the hotel during receivership, but things are greatly improving with new management now and a schedule of constant improvements. If our biggest negative is location, then we are shouting "Hurrah" because the New Center Area is a big part of downtown (which is not just the RenCen, Greektown, and the sports arenas). If you are going to the Fisher Theatre, it is just a skywalk away. Thank you for all the lovely things you've written about Hotel St Regis. We hope to see you return soon and see if you notice the changes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Stayed one night at this Hotel. Not Bad. A lot of history. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. We did open the window as the air system did not work. VERY large crack in the window which someone could severly cut themselves. I believe the risk manager at this hotel is not paying close attention to details such as this.

It is a distance from downtown. We took a cab to MGM which was $8 and about 10 minutes away. The Fischer Theatre is directly across from the Hotel.

I would not stay at the hotel only because of the distance from them to Downtown.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jabjcb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Hotel St. Regis is not the boutique hotel that it boasts itself to be. It is lacking the wow factor, but at $90.00 a night, I guess I shouldn't be surprised. There was no shampoo The tv volume was broken. The high speed wifi crawled like an old lady driving her K car on Sunday. Valet parking, at $14.00 was the only option. The health club opened at 12:00, which was the same time as check out. The breakfast was very disappointing: plain bagels, no toast, preservative rich muffins and no fruit. No bowls, no plates. This was a disappointing experience.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zoes_and_zacks_mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

The location of the hotel is ok, but there really isn't much around it in terms of sights or restaurants. The room was clean enough, but the bed only had a bed spread and a plain sheet. For those to throw off the bed spread and use a blanket and a sheet, this set up was a bit odd. The AC didn't work correctly either. The in-room thermometer read 80+ degrees, while the temperature setting was at 60 degrees. It wasn't horrible, but I really think the AC needs to be worked on. The TV remote didn't work either. I know you're gonna say it was the batteries, but the remote turned the TV on and off, I just couldn't change the channels or the volume. The valet guys were nice, but $14 bucks a day for valet seemed a bit steep.

Overall, the hotel was fine. Nothing great. Just an average hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roamingseppo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews