We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$182
$170
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$152
$135
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of $159/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Atheneum(Detroit)
$225
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$138
$122
Doubletree.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of $147/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$198
$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$229
$215
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$142
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of $163/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$219
$186
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$144
$123
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$249
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (313)
Filter reviews
313 results
Traveler rating
54
80
82
49
48
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
54
80
82
49
48
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfisher buildingwayne state universitystarbucks coffeeice machinevalet parking ishotel restaurantinterviewcadillacdiawoodwardmotownconcertconferencegreektown
Filter
Updating list...
267 - 272 of 313 reviews
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Hotel St. Regis is not the boutique hotel that it boasts itself to be. It is lacking the wow factor, but at $90.00 a night, I guess I shouldn't be surprised. There was no shampoo The tv volume was broken. The high speed wifi crawled like an old lady driving her K car on Sunday. Valet parking, at $14.00 was the only option. The health club opened at 12:00, which was the same time as check out. The breakfast was very disappointing: plain bagels, no toast, preservative rich muffins and no fruit. No bowls, no plates. This was a disappointing experience.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zoes_and_zacks_mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

The location of the hotel is ok, but there really isn't much around it in terms of sights or restaurants. The room was clean enough, but the bed only had a bed spread and a plain sheet. For those to throw off the bed spread and use a blanket and a sheet, this set up was a bit odd. The AC didn't work correctly either. The in-room thermometer read 80+ degrees, while the temperature setting was at 60 degrees. It wasn't horrible, but I really think the AC needs to be worked on. The TV remote didn't work either. I know you're gonna say it was the batteries, but the remote turned the TV on and off, I just couldn't change the channels or the volume. The valet guys were nice, but $14 bucks a day for valet seemed a bit steep.

Overall, the hotel was fine. Nothing great. Just an average hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roamingseppo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012 via mobile

The rooms are ok- not dirty but also not extremly clean. Staff is friendly, wifi works good and bed is comfortable. Bathroom could be cleaner.

The location is horrible apart from a CVS and dirty looking restaurants there is nothing else. You need to take a cab to get to downtown. It costs aprox. $8-$12 one way ( depending on the driver!!!!!!)

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laraoz34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

The St. Regis is old and yes, there is more restoration that needs to be done but it is historically correct and more than pleasantly comfortable. If you are scared of being at the heart of a big city, I guess you might get the "willies" but the several times I have been at the St. Regis, absolutely nothing is happening in the neighborhood. There is a little bit of "Jack Nicholson" might be in the elevator feeling at the St. Regis but that adds to its charm. It can get overly warm in the room but just roll back the copious bedding and relax on a really comfortable mattress.
This is a hotel of days gone by where Truman Capote could be sitting in the lobby but that is part of the charm. The St. Regis will give you night's rest at a good price with safe parking and you can be on time for your 8:00 meeting. The dinning room serves a good meal and you need not stray from the property unless you want to jump on to the interstate and go visit the local casino properties.
Good deal as far as I am concerned.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KMc061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

We could not find a hotel to stay in while we were in Detroit for the Jimmy Buffett concert at Tiger Stadium. At the last minute St. Regis had a cancellation and we decided to give it a try.

The staff was very congenial and helpful and the room was very clean and well maintained. We would stay there again for sure!

Room Tip: They have valet parking for $14, which we gladly took advantage of and we were only a very short cab ride away from the heart of the city. I would suggest you do not walk from the hotel to the downtown area as you will pass through sections that might be unsafe.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rapportta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews