We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$159
$144
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of $167/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Atheneum(Detroit)
$145
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of $181/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$198
$179
GardenInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$152
$135
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of $155/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$259
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $287/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$209
$197
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of $231/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of $187/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$159
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 29% below average rates

The price you found is 29% lower than this hotel's average rate of $223/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (312)
Filter reviews
312 results
Traveler rating
53
80
82
49
48
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
53
80
82
49
48
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfisher buildingwayne state universitystarbucks coffeeice machinevalet parking ishotel restaurantinterviewcadillacdiawoodwardmotownconcertconferencegreektown
Filter
Updating list...
277 - 282 of 312 reviews
Reviewed June 15, 2012

I stayed at this hotel(not by choice) but for a training across the street. My first impression of the room was ok. Big space but no attention to details re: cleanliness. There was a large orange colored stain that looked like food and a black stain on the ceiling. The floor behind the chair and desk looked like it was never vacuumed in months due to the dust bunnies. I wore my flip flops in the shower and the shower head was positioned for 5' persons. Oddly there were face prints and food on the window but the spectacular view of downtown Detroit was wonderful. The bed was ok, mostly clean except the decorative pillow was stained. The continental breakfast was not great (rolls, cereal, and small bagels) but the restaurant was amazing. Downside is there is only valet but my car came back in one piece! I wish this hotel had amenities like a microwave and refrigerator in each room.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BearsAngEd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2012

the bed was cozy and the location is good (not too close to downtown but not too far).
The only problem was that the windows in second floor that not heading to the street are noisy because of air condition engines.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank AE907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2012

I went to this place for what was supposed to be just a nice weekend getaway, turned out to be a disaster from hell! I checked in on a Friday in a "King Premium" room, do not let the title of the room fool you! The hotel did not have its air on so it was miserably hot! The fans that they provided in the room were like those fans from the flea market and they were extremely small! Nothing was "premium" about the room except maybe the comforter and the fact that the room had a dvd player, the "chaise lounge" is a joke, outdated small television. The bathroom setup was pretty nice but the tub was filthy which was quite disturbing. The "upscale" restaurant was a complete joke a small fuzzy navel would cost you $10, the service was not the best, the employees seemed as if they were uncomfortable speaking to customers. To make matters worst I waited approximately 20 mins for a simple meal (at the time there were only 3 other people there who had already had their plates!) which ultimately had me sick later that night!! I had to go to emergency and all to be treated for food poisoning... Save your money!!!!!!! Although they are suppose to be more "affordable" avoid going there!!!!!!! I guess the only nice thing about the place is that it's "downtown", I could have saved my $14 for valet parking and went somewhere else! Stay at your own risk!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 1TravelWoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2012

Stayed at the Hotel St. Regis a few months ago, and was honestly tempted to leave if it weren't for the fear of what may be found on the other side of the door when leaving. First room we were assigned to had a very strong smoke smell, and was dirty, second room was adjoining to the strangers next door - large gap under the door allowed their entire conversations to be heard, which were not something pleasant to awake to at 2am when they came barreling in yelling about the fight they were just in downstairs, and the action they were about to take on these people if they ran into them - the patrons are NOT the fault of the hotel, but should not have been able to hear every word of a conversation. Was advised of timely shuttle by reception, waited 40 minutes from time we were told it would be there, when being dropped off, told to find your own way back - also different that what was told to us at reception. Washroom had peeling counter, only 1 (of 4) light bulbs working, and the elevator would stop unexpectedly and abruptly. Bed was OK, but stains on sheets and comforter were not appealing. When being dropped off by a taxi in the eveing (11pm) told it would be best to go straight to your room, and he pointed toward the abundance of people in the lobby. Cab stayed and driver stood infront of car until the elevator door closed.

Overall, would never go back - when discussed concerns with the front desk, the response was "I hope you enjoy your stay next time," waited 20 minutes for vehicle from valet, note we were the only ones waiting. Would not return

Room Tip: Don't go!
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KassM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2012

My stay at the St.Regis was excellent. I was there on business for the auot show.My room was very clean, and the staff was very friendly.However the hotel was not downtown but it was close enough.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank heath k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews