We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friday lunch”

Hygrade Restaurant & Deli
Ranked #62 of 1,109 Restaurants in Detroit
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Delicatessen
Restaurant details
Detroit, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Friday lunch”
Reviewed January 17, 2014 via mobile

I had the Reuben and it was amazing. Have lived in Detroit most of my life and this was my first time. Will definitely be back!

Helpful?
1 Thank markinmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    13
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Harbor Springs, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best pastrami in Detroit!”
Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

Although I grew up in Metro Detroit, I recently discovered this place thru trip advisor. Not disappointed! Although not in a great area of town, it is worth the drive. Owner and servers were terrific, pastrami sandwich was large, warm and delicious on chewy rye. Heaven. Can't wait to get back. Mikes Ham is right next door, and Slows BBQ just down the street.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 148Diana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“This had the best Reuben sandwich I have ever had!”
Reviewed November 22, 2013

A bunch of managers took the administrative support staff out to lunch for Administrative staff day. We ALL got the Reuben, and we ALL thought it was the best we had ever had. The flavors were well balanced, and the owner came out and made sure that everything was perfect during our visit. We will be heading back!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank woman15r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
73 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Delicious! ”
Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

Ignore everything you know about the neighborhood and listen to your stomach. Go to Hygrade and eat a delicious sandwich. Have some fries and a Doc Browns can of pop! Go back again and again and never leave disappointed.

Helpful?
2 Thank nicolledotcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
122 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“Outstanding, Old-School Deli in SW Detroit”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

The best hot roast beef sandwiches you'll find! Excellent corned beef sandwich on rye as well. Excellent breakfast.

Run-down area of the city, and the sign on the front roof reminds you that customers get their vehicles broken into far too often. That's a serious turn-off, but a reality of the city.

A lot of pride in ownership is apparent, and the place is positioned between two resurgent areas of the city (Corktown, and Midtown), so a comeback to its old glory days is certainly possible.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 4248MI_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hygrade Restaurant & Deli also viewed

 

Been to Hygrade Restaurant & Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing