We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spicy Pizza - yes please!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Motor City Brewing Works

Motor City Brewing Works
Ranked #51 of 1,093 Restaurants in Detroit
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: Bar, Pizza, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Spicy Pizza - yes please!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

My husband has a few close friends in the area and knows where the best places to eat are! So we drove over to meet a friend at the Motor City Brewing Works (over on Canfield) where (i kid you not) i had the most amazing Sopla Fuego pizza (Habanero sauce, anejo queso, chorizo sausage, red onions, jalapeno peppers, topped with sour cream, cilantro & a squeeze of lime)...HOLY crap it was amazing and super spicy...I honestly don't think a normal person can eat it...unless you're used to spicy food! The draft of the doors opening and closing can make it very cold...so dress warm. Want to know more about Detroit? Find me on blogspot: laughlovedress

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JerzChai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    57
    15
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Pizza, Good Taproom and Half-Decent Beer”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

Great pizza, a dozen or so brews on tap and excellent value for the location, atmosphere and quality. The service was hit/miss on our two trips to Motor City. During the day the server kept forgetting us (despite sitting at the bar) and parking was a challenge due to a private event. On the second visit a few days later the service was much more attentive. The atmosphere was great and we were pleasantly surprised at the food quality for a taproom and grill. Decent beer but not winning any awards. Overall, it's a great stop for Detroit and an OK stop for Michigan.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MeagAlayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
127 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good beer Great pizza”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

Nice tucked away place. Didn't get a 5 because they don't have parking and the first alarming question you're asked as you walk in is did you park in the lot. Unnecessary stress.

The place was crowded on Friday night. Always a good sign :-)

I loved the pizza. Very very fresh ingredients. Mmm mmmm good.

Helpful?
Thank DominoP3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Missed the mark for a tourist.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Beer flight was more expensive then any other brewery I've been to in Michigan (been to 21 total). Beers were sub par and service was splotchy. Only stopped in to try their beer, food looked amazing but don't know my interest if I was going to pair great food choices with weak beer.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank DaveR527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehouse, Ohio
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best pizza on the planet.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

The review titled awful, your nuts. This place is awesome. Great service from Tera behind the bar. And a warm friendly let me take care of you greeting from Kevin. Fresh ingredients on every pizza and fresh brewed beers. If your a true seeker of small off the beaten path kind of joints this is an absolute must stop.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Fronko24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Motor City Brewing Works also viewed

 

Been to Motor City Brewing Works? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing