We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth the wait” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Slows Bar BQ

Slows Bar BQ
Reserve with OpenTable
Slows Bar BQ is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 1,094 Restaurants in Detroit
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $25
Cuisines: American, Bar, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Kingsport, Tennessee
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Worth the wait”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014

I was in Detroit for business and decided to give Slows a try based on the TripAdvisor ranking (and the fact that I love barbecue). I will admit that parking was a challenge, and it took a minute to figure out how to get in the restaurant; but once inside, it was a wonderful experience.

The restaurant was crowded, but I was able to find a seat at the bar and was fine to eat there. I enjoyed sampling a few of the craft brews while I waited for my meal. Once my brisket, sweet potato mash, and cornbread came out, I knew I had made the right decision!

If you are in a rush, it might be difficult to have the same experience I had; but if you are able to be flexible, the food and atmosphere is definitely worth the trip.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank knidiffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,482 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    797
    446
    163
    52
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
58 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great place for lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

Three co-workers and I had lunch on a recent Friday--after 1:00 p.m. No wait and service was good, although leisurely. I had the Yardbird (chicken in a mustard sauce) on bread, and the mac and cheese, which were both very good. It was plenty of food for lunch and then dinner (even with skipping the bread). The flavors of the Yardbird were an interesting blend of mustard, smoky bacon and cheese; chicken was very tender. It was a sandwich to savor. The mac and cheese was very creamy and tasty. Two others had the Carolina pulled pork, which was enough food for at least two meals (if not three). Hearty portions.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Madeline0403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
66 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014

We've been trying to get down to Slows for a while but always heard how long the wait is to get in. We sent on a Wednesday and we had no wait at all! They food was good and the service was fabulous!!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RonKel21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield Hills, MI
Level Contributor
124 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Best BBQ in town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

Food is very good. Location lacks convenient parking. Most times the place is too busy to get in. Only been 2x in the few years it's been open due to the aforesaid parking and wait "problems". If you can determine the "slow" time @ Slow's you should go as the food is worth it.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GregfromDTW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinckney, Michigan
Level Contributor
50 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“No parking”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

We couldn't have dinner there today because there was no parking. After several trips around the block, we gave up and went elsewhere. I don't plan on going back.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank BrablecCougar72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Slows Bar BQ also viewed

 

Been to Slows Bar BQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing