We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Barbecue My Dad's Ever Had” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Slows Bar BQ

Slows Bar BQ
Reserve with OpenTable
Slows Bar BQ is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 1,093 Restaurants in Detroit
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $25
Cuisines: American, Bar, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
102 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Best Barbecue My Dad's Ever Had”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

My dad loves barbecue and said he has never had better brisket than he did at Slows. I've honestly never had a better experience at a barbecue restaurant myself too. He had the brisket and absolutely loved it, the baked beans, and the cheese fries. I had the salmon, which was covered in their apple barbecue sauce. Yum! The mac and cheese was delicious and the waffle fries were amazing. The portions are pretty large. I was stuffed after eating my meal.
We had the peach tea, which was delicious and quite peachy, but they charge you by the glass for it, so drink slowly!
Our favorite barbecue sauce was the apple one. I dipped my waffle fries in the apple barbecue sauce and that tasted better than ketchup on them.
Park for $3 behind the Mercury Bar in the guarded community parking lot so that you don't worry about your car. :)

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HopeGracePeace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,479 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    796
    444
    163
    52
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Clair Shores, Michigan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

Great food and very relaxed this is a hidden gem in Detroit, its a bit off from downtown but worth the extra drive. The meat is out of this world and every table is set with a variety of sauces to choose from. If you like ribs, brisket, and meat this place is a must go and the service was a delight.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
76 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best BBQ to Go”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

Slows to Go is great. They have their whole restaurant menu available to go and they do a great job of packaging everything you may need. It is a perfect stop if you would like to tailgate before a Wings, Lions or Tigers game. The pulled pork, Mac & Cheese and waffle fries are my favorites....and go with the apple barbecue sauce.. I only wish they had better corn bread.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rheinjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Michigan
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Astonishing, Excellent Food, Guranteed A Good Time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

Right in downtown Detroit, this restaurant is by far the best in the city. It is often very busy and hard to get a seat but once you're there it's incredible. The service is really good along with top of the line chefs. I tried the yardbird, one of the best sandwiches I have ever had. You would be a fool to not go here the next time you're in downtown Detroit. Slows also is a great option for upcoming Grad parties. I believe there is a separate location called slows to go for catering. Overall great place for a better time.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TheMichiganTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton Township, Michigan
Level Contributor
68 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Delicious BBQ; can be a long wait to dine in a loud restaurant.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

As native Metro-Detroiters, we only recently (in the past few years) heard about Slows and tried them out for the first time earlier this year. Been back a couple times and have found the food consistently delicious and the atmosphere pretty laid back. The service is a little inconsistent though; the staff are all pretty "trendy" looking in appearance and seem to have a blah-zay attitude but are friendly enough. The restaurant itself is a cool place - tons of beer on tap (which is a highlight for us) - with lots of wood and unique nooks and crannies. (Have fun finding the front entrance...it's kind of like a secret door!) I always eat the mac & cheese which is always piping hot, cheesy, and tasty just as mac & cheese should be. My husband loves the trio and usually ends up with the brisket, pulled pork, and chicken. The sides are tasty (cole slaw, corn bread, etc.) and come in pretty big portions. Definitely the best BBQ in/around Detroit. Authentic and worth the wait, we think. Try sitting at the bar for faster service - you can dine there too.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank aimeeln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Slows Bar BQ also viewed

 

Been to Slows Bar BQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing