We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great stay...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit
Ranked #8 of 33 Hotels in Detroit
Certificate of Excellence
Brentwood, Tennessee
Level Contributor
396 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Another great stay...”
Reviewed July 19, 2014

The hotel is beautiful, clean and has larger rooms than most would expect. I left a previous review of all the things I loved and what makes it five stars to me when I stayed before, so I wanted to comment on a couple of things that could have been improved with this stay. First, even though I get my valet parking paid for through work, it is move convenient for me to self park and take my time getting everything the kids need out of the car. I do not like how the doors out to Michigan Ave. are closed during the day with two signs saying "exit closed". When you have a bunch of luggage it is a pain to go out onto Washington and walk all the way around the building. I am glad they are at least unlocked because my past two stays I go around the signs with all my luggage but feel as if I am breaking a rule. This door should be staffed even when the 24 Grille is closed. The only other problem was that it took over an hour for some bath towels to be delivered to our room. We always have a great stay and the staff is wonderful. I would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OurTnFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_Book_Cadillac, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Thank you for your review and your loyalty to our hotel. Thank you also for your suggestion regarding the Michigan Ave. door. I have shared that with our leadership team.

Be well,
David W
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    615
    437
    123
    43
    32
See reviews for
171
397
61
410
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
197 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2014

Got a great deal from Priceline express deals so it made this hotel even better. Nice that we weren't treated like lower class citizens for getting the deal. Was able to be on a higher floor and get the 2 beds requested. Room was huge, view of an interesting building (where a Kermit puppet started hanging the 2nd day we were there). Had a great happy hour snack and drink at Roast. Bought a cool Detroit shirt for a good price in the shop. Right across from the two famous coney island hot dog places (and close to a ton of stuff including Cliff Bell's). Biggest bummer is no free internet in the rooms.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanie881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okemos, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 16, 2014

Fantastic hotel and great service. Walking distance to Comerica park. If meeting another friend have them park in a lot across from the hotel. Fantastic valet parking service, They were very courteous $10 beats fighting the crowd.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jasim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
98 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2014

A perfect location from which to explore Detroit (a block from Woodward Ave, perfect for strolling to the Tigers Baseball Stadium or driving up to the Motown Museum - we did both) and moments away from the riverfront and the people mover.
Room was huge, lovely to have so much space, and very quiet.
Check-in and Valet were a breeze, plenty of helpful staff.
The 2nd floor lobby bar was a delight, spacious yet initimate (difficult to achieve in hotel lobbies, but the Cadillac has!). Try the crabcakes, delish! Thanks, Eunice, for the service with a smile!

Room Tip: We were on the 11th - view was of a water tower, but I love 'em, so I was happy! I guess a high...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DumDumBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2014

After seeing this hotel on the web site "The Forgotten Detroit" I wasn't sure what to expect, knowing that this hotel had been abandoned for 25 years! The renovations have both modernized the building and paid homage to it's past and will definitely be a corner stone to rebuilding Detroits future!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bluekrypton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_Book_Cadillac, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Thank you for your review and comments. What’s exciting is so many of the buildings on that website are now being restored. Soon they will need to change the name to Forgotten, Forgotten Detroit.

Be well,
David W
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
Level Contributor
371 reviews
135 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 278 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2014

This is a nice enough hotel right smack in the middle of Detroit. The building is a nice old building, but the room decor does feel like a sterile business hotel.

Long check-in lines.

We had a king suite, a nice corner room. Nice comfy bed and pillows. There was considerable confusion when the booking was made. The reservationist told us mistakenly that we had a two room suite with two queen beds. Confusion ensued, and a phone call afterward confirmed there are no queen beds in the hotel...just doubles. I don't like the uncertainty of making reservations with humans who don't tell the whole story.

New reservation and a clerk who said he gave us an upgrade...and then low and behold after we check out we get an email showing that we PAID for the free upgrade. So don't do the auto check out, get them to print the #$@* bill for you and check it.

Do I need to stay here again? Not really. We live in Michigan and thought we'd do a weekend Tiger's game stay-cation.

Moral: make your reservations over the internet, get a copy of the quote, and check your bill at the desk before you leave.

Restaurant: Overpriced and really below average food. Avoid the $20 breakfast and the $6 bagel. Wait service is very poor...is it too much to get toast WITH your eggs, not 10 minutes later? And can someone please learn how to make french fries? My $18 hamburger had the most awful hard, cold french fries. Never again.

Room Tip: Whatever you do, don't call the hotel for information...they will not give good information.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pyegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_Book_Cadillac, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
We are disappointed to learn you disliked your stay on so many levels. We strive to provide guests a pleasing, restful stay. We hope you reconsider and allow up an opportunity to provide you a stay which is more in line with the high level of service we have become known for.

Be well,
David W
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holt, Michigan
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2014

Our daughter booked us a room here for 2 nights so we could go to a Tigers game togther. We were very pleased with the Hotel. It was one of the most comfortable beds we have ever slept on. The room was very quiet and had great room darkening curtains. Large beautiful bathroom with granite countertops and rainfall shower head. There was a safe in the room for valubles and had starbucks coffee in the room. One of the nice perks was it was in walking distance to Tiger stadium so we didnt need to fight traffic for parking. We also could select our own check out. It was a very secure Hotel too. You could not get to the floor you were staying on without putting your key in the elevator to take you there. Felt very secure and super luxurious place to stay. My rating for kids was an accident, meant to leave it blank, also did not use the spa facilities if any . We had no children with us so really dont know.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_Book_Cadillac, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Thank you for your glowing review! It is extremely rewarding to read that we have impressed first time guest so much. We hope to have you back very soon.

Be well,
David W
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Detroit hotels
0.3 mi away
Aloft Detroit at The David Whitney
0.4 mi away
MGM Grand Detroit
MGM Grand Detroit
#3 of 33 in Detroit
1,070 reviews
0.6 mi away
Greektown Casino Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Detroit Downtown Riverfront
0.4 mi away
The Atheneum
The Atheneum
#14 of 33 in Detroit
507 reviews
0.2 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit

Property: The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit
Address: 1114 Washington Blvd, Detroit, MI 48226-1907
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Detroit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Detroit
#4 Romantic Hotel in Detroit
#6 Business Hotel in Detroit
#8 Family Hotel in Detroit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit 4*
Number of rooms: 455
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Book Cadillac returns legendary style and glamour to Detroit hotels. The historic Book Cadillac Detroit Hotel has been restored to its original splendor to reclaim its position as Detroit's premier hotel and social gathering destination. The luxury hotel also features more than 60 residences on the upper floors and some of the Midwest's most dramatic public event spaces. You would have to see the property to truly understand its significance. Now included in the National Register of Historic Places, the Italian Renaissance-style hotel, built by Detroit's famous Book brothers, was the tallest building in Detroit and the tallest hotel in the world at its completion in 1924. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit Hotel Detroit
Westin Detroit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing