We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel - - but?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit
Ranked #8 of 33 Hotels in Detroit
Certificate of Excellence
Derby, Kansas
Level Contributor
324 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“nice hotel - - but?”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

This is a nice hotel. Refurbished five years ago. Most of the employees are nice/courteous. The good. It is in a great location to the Cobo center. The employees are great. the bad. Housekeeping does not know the word clean. We stayed here 5 nights. We had to call the front desk three of the five days for clean glasses, toilet paper, and Kleenex. The bathroom floor was NOT cleaned once. The Weston is your basic big city down town property. Expensive food and drink. The best place for breakfast is the Hudson Cafe (5minute walk) lunch or dinner try Big City next to the holiday Inn express.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lakelizrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_Book_Cadillac, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
We are sorry to read that your stay did not meet your expectations. In reading you comments, it seems that there was a misunderstanding of the Westin Make the Green Choice program. The program, which gives a guest 500 SPG points or a $5 food and beverage voucher for each day they decline housekeeping, is an instrumental part of our sustainability initiative. By participating guest decline all services of housekeeping, i.e. towels, amenities replenishment, bed making, etc. With your comments, we will look at how we are communicating the program specifics and identify opportunities to improve the process. Thank you for your help in improving the MGC program.

David W
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    605
    432
    121
    42
    32
See reviews for
166
392
61
403
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

It is one of the most Westin-like hotels around the world with modern interior and luxury bathroom. It is comfortable to sleep in and the food is great whether in-room dining or early breakfast.

Only caveat is that just don't walk out at night and just watch out for the surroundings when you walk outside of hotel. I tried to grab a drink by going to supermarket next door but even there seems quite dangerous (for a tourist) and now understand why Westin offers beverages (not overpriced though) in the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heejoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_Book_Cadillac, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide your review. We are please that you enjoyed our property and our Culinary Team will be happy to read your complement about your dining experiences. Downtown Detroit and the area around the hotel is experiencing many positive improvements and we were happy have been the catalyst for development here. We are excited about how the area is making such a strong comeback. Thank you again for your review.

David W
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
132 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

I always stay at Westins when I travel as I know I will always have a good bed and a good shower. The bed at this Westin didn´t disappoint though I was surprised by the lack of toiletries in the bathroom. Not even a shower cap. The rooms were large and the check in smooth and friendly. I did think the bell service was a bit slack. Sure it was snowing heavily but not one of them came to help me with my luggage. Considering they were watching me slipping and sliding across the ice that was pretty bad. Once inside, they fell all over me but by this time I had my luggage under control and wasn´t feeling inclined to them tip someone for the easy part! Roast downstairs is fabulous, and the bar just off to the side of reception is a nice spot to sit and have a quiet drink. Westin - please train your bell service on "service"!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leigh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_Book_Cadillac, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you for your review; it was a pleasure to read that you enjoyed the Westin Heavenly Bed and Heavenly Shower. Obviously we are disappointed to read of your experience with front door team. Please accept our apologies that you were not offered assistance with your luggage, this is not the level of service we aim to provide. Your comments have been shared with the team. We are certain that if given an opportunity, you will experience the high level of service we have become known for.

David W
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 1, 2013

One of the nice hotels I have ever stayed at, just beautifully restored. The rooms are great and the restaurants are fantastic.. The Roast is unbelievable... Go and enjoy a nice weekend - upi pwe it to yourself..

Room Tip: all the rooms are great..
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saginaw, MI
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 28, 2013

I recently spent a Saturday night at this hotel. My overall opinion of the hotel appearance and service is WOW outstanding. I myself am in the hotel industry and I could not find one flaw with this hotel. It was spotless, it was modern and majestic and the wonderful front desk person (young man - sorry I did forgot his name) upgraded me upon checkin because I was a Starwood member and had never stayed at this hotel before. He wanted to make sure I had a great experience so I would come back. Great job, because I will be back! The guestroom looked brand new and was very tastefully decorated in soft blues, greens and grays - I wished I could have spent a week in that room. The overhead rainfall shower was also amazing. I travel to Detroit for concerts and sporting events several times a year and I will definately stay here from now on. General Manager - you have a beautiful hotel and a wonderful staff. Everyone I encountered from valet parking, to front desk, to guest service over the phone, to the gift shop lady, along with staff passing by made me feel welcome.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GM3325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_Book_Cadillac, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Wow! What a great review! Thank you very much for staying with us and for your great comments about our Team (Christopher in particular), our facility and your Heavenly Shower. I will be sure to share your comments with Christopher and the Team. I am glad you enjoyed every moment of your stay and that as a Starwood Preferred Member you were able to enjoy an upgrade.

David W
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Nice downtown hotel. We came to Detroit to see a couple of Red Wings game this last weekend. We liked the location and closeness of the Detroit People mover and also loved the Valet Parking. The concierge and staff was always polite and knowledgeable. We had a great stay here.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view. We stayed in Room 910 and there wasn't much of a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yatiddles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_Book_Cadillac, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments. We are glad that our service left you feeling so positive. We are indeed fortunate to be so close to the People Mover which, as you experienced, is a great way to get around the downtown area. We hope to have you back again soon – maybe for a Tigers game.

David W
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

I stayed here the night of my wedding and had a wonderful experience. The night person Tanisha (I hope that's her name) welcomed us with a smile and checked us in vey quickly and she could probably tell we were anxious to get to our room! The beds were heavenly and the room service the next morning was prompt. I have stayed at other hotels in the city but this is by far my favorite!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monique P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_Book_Cadillac, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Congratulations! We are honored to part of such a special event. We wish you two the best of everything and hope to see you back for many anniversaries.

David W
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Detroit hotels
0.3 mi away
Aloft Detroit at The David Whitney
0.4 mi away
MGM Grand Detroit
MGM Grand Detroit
#3 of 33 in Detroit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,067 reviews
0.6 mi away
Greektown Casino Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Detroit Downtown Riverfront
0.4 mi away
The Atheneum
The Atheneum
#14 of 33 in Detroit
4.0 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
0.2 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit

Property: The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit
Address: 1114 Washington Blvd, Detroit, MI 48226-1907
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Detroit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Detroit
#4 Luxury Hotel in Detroit
#6 Business Hotel in Detroit
#8 Family Hotel in Detroit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit 4*
Number of rooms: 455
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Book Cadillac returns legendary style and glamour to Detroit hotels. The historic Book Cadillac Detroit Hotel has been restored to its original splendor to reclaim its position as Detroit's premier hotel and social gathering destination. The luxury hotel also features more than 60 residences on the upper floors and some of the Midwest's most dramatic public event spaces. You would have to see the property to truly understand its significance. Now included in the National Register of Historic Places, the Italian Renaissance-style hotel, built by Detroit's famous Book brothers, was the tallest building in Detroit and the tallest hotel in the world at its completion in 1924. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit Hotel Detroit
Westin Detroit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing