We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel but........”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit
Ranked #8 of 33 Hotels in Detroit
Certificate of Excellence
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great hotel but........”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

This history of this hotel is incredible (just google 'Book Cadillac'). When it was built in 1924 it was the tallest hotel in the world. The hotel is what you would expect from a Westin and I stay here frequently.

My only complaint is that the lounge for SPG rewards members is closed on Monday nights and only open until 7PM on all other nights. This is a significant drawback compared to the Marriott just a few blocks away. I've asked the front desk agents about the lounge being closed Monday and closing so early other nights and have never heard an explanation. Disappointing for an otherwise great hotel......and not what I've experienced as a Platinum SPG member at other Westins.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike_T_33_33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    615
    437
    123
    43
    32
See reviews for
171
397
61
410
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
McKinney, Texas
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

My husband and I traveled to Detroit for The Little Caesars Bowl Game in December 2012. This was a nice hotel. The room was clean and the service was good. We were a little dissapointed with the hotel restaurant we visited for breakfast. They only had one person as the greeter, waitress and server. We ended up waiting for at least 10 mins to be seated. Not to mention the meal was a bit pricey. The first night we arrived we asked the doorman for a good place to eat. Unfortunately we were directed to the WORST Coney Dog place on earth. We noticed they were sending other unsuspecting guests there over the next few days. They must be getting a referral fee. The food was AWFUL! Otherwise, the hotel itself was very nicely decorated and has very nice presentation.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TXRegalQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pittsburgh
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Very nice hotel front I think they use it in the Chrysler 300 TV adds. Very cool entrance with ck in on the second floor. The Bar was very large and had many over stuffed chairs with a nice view of downtown Detroit. It was a short walk to the People mover and for $1.00 you can take it around the city, I took it to Greektown Casino, one of three in the city. It was very busy as it was a Friday Night but I had some luck. After visiting the other Casinos I went back to the Hotel, The room was very large as was the Bathroom and very clean, the bed was very warm and I slept like I was at home. I thought the Bar drinks were a little over priced. I will stay here next time I,am in MOTOWN.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saltman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

I traveled to Detroit for the North American International Auto Show and stayed at the hotel for one night. When I arrived, no one was stationed at the check in desk or concierge and it took several minutes before I could track down someone. I received an huge upgraded room that was very clean. I declined the key to the refreshment bar that was included in the room.

When I checked out the hotel the next day, I received my bill which included the charge to use the hotel's Internet service. The following day, I received a revised bill that included a charge for using the refreshment bar. This wasn't possible since I declined the key to open the bar. I contacted the hotel and was forwarded to an automated billing complaint line. A few day after not receiving a response, I called the hotel again and finally got to speak to a manager. I expect the charge will now be taken care of.

Overall, it's a very nice hotel, but the service has room to improve.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CapTrav2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
116 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Westin Book Cadillac
When we paid the visit they did some refurbishments in the entrance area and ball room areas, so "clean and very neath" impression was a little disturbed. We stayed in the hotel in 2009, and had a great experience. This was the reason for our return. Unfortunately the experience was not this great this time. Hard to define why, maybe we had too high expectations based on the pervious time?

Rooms:
The room was spacious, clean og modern. Big beds and plenty of space for luggage. The bathroom was very spacious with nice shower and amenities.

Service:
The service was good, somehow it was so good as to what we experience in 2009. The staff was polite, service minded and nice.

Location:
The Westin Book Cadillac is located downtown Detroit. Very good location and easy to find. There are valet parking and also self parking. The parking house is located in the building next to the hotel and easy and find.

There are two People Mover stations not fare from the hotel - only few minutes walk. This was a smooth way to move around downtown. Smooth to leave the car in the parking house.

We had a fine stay at the Westin Book Cadillac. It is a very nice hotel, centrally located and with modern and very comfortable rooms. If you get a good price we can recommend it!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ReiseKurre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

I spent a long weekend in Detroit mixing some business with pleasure. This property made the weekend perfect.
Because of the age of this historic building, rooms are very large and comfortable. Being a Westin, the beds are extra comfy. The rooms feature a full desk area which was great for finishing up last minute work. And the bathroom was very large and stylish.
The health club is well equipped and the pool area is functional. I used valet parking but you can access the parking lot easily for self parking, just ask the doorman.
Definitely my favorite place to stay when in Detroit.

Room Tip: If possible ask for a corner room, they are slightly larger that the others (and rooms here a very l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TOVoyageur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

Great hotel, large rooms (and even large bathrooms!). Absolutely no complaints about this hotel except for the VERY slow valet when you park your car. We stayed here for the opening of the Detroit auto show and even if you called down to have your car pulled around 30 minutes in advance you will still have to wait 30 minutes when you get downstairs.

Te food is great at the hotel bars and there is a great M.simon resturaunt on the first floor. If you love food - stay here!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank worldtravelpros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Detroit hotels
0.3 mi away
Aloft Detroit at The David Whitney
0.4 mi away
MGM Grand Detroit
MGM Grand Detroit
#3 of 33 in Detroit
1,070 reviews
0.6 mi away
Greektown Casino Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Detroit Downtown Riverfront
0.4 mi away
The Atheneum
The Atheneum
#14 of 33 in Detroit
507 reviews
0.2 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit

Property: The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit
Address: 1114 Washington Blvd, Detroit, MI 48226-1907
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Detroit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Detroit
#4 Romantic Hotel in Detroit
#6 Business Hotel in Detroit
#8 Family Hotel in Detroit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit 4*
Number of rooms: 455
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Book Cadillac returns legendary style and glamour to Detroit hotels. The historic Book Cadillac Detroit Hotel has been restored to its original splendor to reclaim its position as Detroit's premier hotel and social gathering destination. The luxury hotel also features more than 60 residences on the upper floors and some of the Midwest's most dramatic public event spaces. You would have to see the property to truly understand its significance. Now included in the National Register of Historic Places, the Italian Renaissance-style hotel, built by Detroit's famous Book brothers, was the tallest building in Detroit and the tallest hotel in the world at its completion in 1924. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit Hotel Detroit
Westin Detroit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing