We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit
Ranked #7 of 33 Hotels in Detroit
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 25, 2012

We went to Detroit for to watch the Texans play the Lions. The hotel is gorgeous. The rooms smelled fresh and were very very clean.The staff was very nice and polite.The location is in very close distance to Ford Field and Comerica park. If you stay here you must walk across the street to American Coney and have lunch or a late night bite.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emilygirl20002000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,311)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

956 - 962 of 1,312 reviews

Reviewed November 23, 2012

Travelling round the world in a lot of 4* and 5* hotels I truly can’t understand why the Westin Cadillac in Detroit is such high-rated at Tripadvisor. It was a disappointing experience from check-in during the stay and also checkout.
Check-in: I reserved a room with King bed months ago paid with SPG points. Receptionist wasn’t able to find the reservation. Than we got the keys and went to our room. “Surprise” is was with 2 single beds.. Went down to the reception again and requested the room we reserved with king bed (or at least ONE bed). It took a lot of time – be aware we arrived from Europe after 10hour flight and approx. 15hour travel time in total – and we just wanted to get to the room and relax. So we waited again at the bar and the guy from the reception brought us the keys for the new room – upgraded to club level. Sounds good but was not. Smelly floor, small and dark room with “view” to the opposite wall. We decided not to change the room again (reception guy was not friendly at all and because we already saw 2 rooms the hope that one would be better was gone) and better to leave the other day and look for another hotel. So we checked out after 1 night at the Westin instead of 4 nights as planned. Reception wasn’t interested in knowing the reasons why we are leaving earlier – again not very friendly attitude. At least SPG got me some points back – but also paying for 1 night is one night paid too much.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank heikeanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

The Westin Book Cadillac in Detroit was a fun hotel and a great location in downtown Detroit. My wife and I traveled here for a nearby wedding. The hotel is in a very cool old brick building downtown and the design inside is very nice. The hotel staff went above and beyond for us especially after checking into our room and realizing a dress my wife brought was missing. The hotel staff quickly double checked the hallways the bellman brought our bags through and our car that was in the valet lot. The staff quickly located the dress, brought it to our room and apologized for leaving it in the car. We were certainly grateful for their help as that situation could have gone much worse.

The only critical comment we have is that since they were sold out of king rooms we were given a room with two beds. Unfortunately, those two beds were full size beds and not queen beds. This might sound nit-picky but I would think that a Westin would put Queen size beds in their double rooms - full size beds are too small. There was plenty of space in the room for two queen beds.

Regardless, the room was a great size and the bathroom large. 4 stars all day long.

Room Tip: Book a king room - watch out for small full size beds in the double rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KBussema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

We got stuck here for a week during Sandy. The staff were very friendly and quickly got me checked in and to my room. The hotel is clean and both restaurants are really good. It wasn't the worst place to be stuck!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lysalee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Just returned from a great 2 night stay at the Westin. Great staff, special Kudos to Sylvester. Rooms really are very tranquil, even thought I had 2 children with me. Booked a great rate online through one of their football weekend packages (we were there to see the Lions game). All amenities at the hotel are wonderful. Rooms were very large and the bathroom was also huge. Great valet staff. I wished their club suite was open on the weekends. My kids also thought the pool was a bit on the cold side. I loved the workout facility. First class accomodations!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank urbandweller50207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

I stayed here in early October for a few nights and really had a great stay. The staff were very friendly upon arrival and quickly got me checked in and to my room. The property is in fantastic condition. I was most shocked by the size of the rooms. The room, including the bathroom, were huge! the room was so clean and in such great condition that it felt brand new. I also appreciated the quality of the beds and linens. I really slept well while I was there.

I had a breakfast and lunch at the hotel restaurants and also had room service one night. All the meals were good with above average service. It was also nice to have a Starbucks in the lobby for that early morning jolt.

There is a nice selection of equipment in the fitness center, but the cardio equipment was always very popular in the mornings! Go really early or plan on a later morning workout if you want to do some cardio.

I'd highly recommend this as a place to stay!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank J J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

Just stayed at this Westin in downtown Detroit. What a wonderful facility. Everything was fantastic. Location, facility and service are second to none. Location is within walking distance to the entertainment area, less than 1/2 mile. Valet service is great with little wait time to get your vehicle and the hotel was extremely busy. If your visiting Detroit I would definitely recommend this hotel as the place to stay.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GaryS59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Detroit hotels
0.3 mi away
Aloft Detroit at The David Whitney
0.4 mi away
MGM Grand Detroit
MGM Grand Detroit
#10 of 33 in Detroit
1,115 reviews
0.6 mi away
Greektown Casino Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Detroit Downtown Riverfront
0.2 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit

Address: 1114 Washington Blvd, Detroit, MI 48226-1907
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Detroit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Detroit
#4 Luxury Hotel in Detroit
#6 Business Hotel in Detroit
#8 Family Hotel in Detroit
Price Range: $212 - $600 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit 4*
Number of rooms: 455
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Book Cadillac returns legendary style and glamour to Detroit hotels. The historic Book Cadillac Detroit Hotel has been restored to its original splendor to reclaim its position as Detroit's premier hotel and social gathering destination. The luxury hotel also features more than 60 residences on the upper floors and some of the Midwest's most dramatic public event spaces. You would have to see the property to truly understand its significance. Now included in the National Register of Historic Places, the Italian Renaissance-style hotel, built by Detroit's famous Book brothers, was the tallest building in Detroit and the tallest hotel in the world at its completion in 1924. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit Hotel Detroit
Westin Detroit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing