We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Above and Beyond” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit
Ranked #7 of 33 Hotels in Detroit
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Above and Beyond”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

The Westin Book Cadillac in Detroit was a fun hotel and a great location in downtown Detroit. My wife and I traveled here for a nearby wedding. The hotel is in a very cool old brick building downtown and the design inside is very nice. The hotel staff went above and beyond for us especially after checking into our room and realizing a dress my wife brought was missing. The hotel staff quickly double checked the hallways the bellman brought our bags through and our car that was in the valet lot. The staff quickly located the dress, brought it to our room and apologized for leaving it in the car. We were certainly grateful for their help as that situation could have gone much worse.

The only critical comment we have is that since they were sold out of king rooms we were given a room with two beds. Unfortunately, those two beds were full size beds and not queen beds. This might sound nit-picky but I would think that a Westin would put Queen size beds in their double rooms - full size beds are too small. There was plenty of space in the room for two queen beds.

Regardless, the room was a great size and the bathroom large. 4 stars all day long.

Room Tip: Book a king room - watch out for small full size beds in the double rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KBussema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    572
    408
    110
    39
    30
See reviews for
152
376
58
375
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

We got stuck here for a week during Sandy. The staff were very friendly and quickly got me checked in and to my room. The hotel is clean and both restaurants are really good. It wasn't the worst place to be stuck!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lysalee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

Just returned from a great 2 night stay at the Westin. Great staff, special Kudos to Sylvester. Rooms really are very tranquil, even thought I had 2 children with me. Booked a great rate online through one of their football weekend packages (we were there to see the Lions game). All amenities at the hotel are wonderful. Rooms were very large and the bathroom was also huge. Great valet staff. I wished their club suite was open on the weekends. My kids also thought the pool was a bit on the cold side. I loved the workout facility. First class accomodations!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank urbandweller50207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

I stayed here in early October for a few nights and really had a great stay. The staff were very friendly upon arrival and quickly got me checked in and to my room. The property is in fantastic condition. I was most shocked by the size of the rooms. The room, including the bathroom, were huge! the room was so clean and in such great condition that it felt brand new. I also appreciated the quality of the beds and linens. I really slept well while I was there.

I had a breakfast and lunch at the hotel restaurants and also had room service one night. All the meals were good with above average service. It was also nice to have a Starbucks in the lobby for that early morning jolt.

There is a nice selection of equipment in the fitness center, but the cardio equipment was always very popular in the mornings! Go really early or plan on a later morning workout if you want to do some cardio.

I'd highly recommend this as a place to stay!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank J J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

Just stayed at this Westin in downtown Detroit. What a wonderful facility. Everything was fantastic. Location, facility and service are second to none. Location is within walking distance to the entertainment area, less than 1/2 mile. Valet service is great with little wait time to get your vehicle and the hotel was extremely busy. If your visiting Detroit I would definitely recommend this hotel as the place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GaryS59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howell, Michigan
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

This hotel is nice, staff is friendly. We were in town for the World Series game. Walking distance to comerica park. The bedroom area was cleaned good and the bed was VERY comfortable, but the bathroom still needed some work left over black hairs on the counter and on the white coaster that the glasses were on. The price is very high for these rooms for what you get, which i was surprised about. Valet service was great, fast and friendly and treated our car with care which was nice. I dont think I would pay $200 a night, maybe lower $100's if I stayed again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Megan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livonia, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

To cut a long story short our first room was not cleaned properly, half eaten food in the fridge and mud on the bathroom floor. After waiting over an hour for someone to clean it up and bring us an ice bucket, we decided no one was going to come and to switch rooms . Our second room and a try full of old food, right in front of our door. We asked if someone could clean it up and after arriving back to our room 5 hours later, it was still sitting outside our room. So gross. I will never return to this hotel because they do not clean their rooms properly and even if they did, they do not make any effort to help their guests. Totally unacceptable for a room costing over $200. The only reason I said poor and not terrible is because the valet guy was great. Oh, and the coffee in the WBC coffee shop was gross. Not anything like Starbucks. It tasted very sour to me.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nikki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Detroit hotels
0.3 mi away
Aloft Detroit at The David Whitney
0.5 mi away
MGM Grand Detroit
MGM Grand Detroit
#2 of 33 in Detroit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 998 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Detroit Downtown Riverfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Greektown Casino Hotel
Greektown Casino Hotel
#5 of 33 in Detroit
4.0 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Atheneum
The Atheneum
#13 of 33 in Detroit
4.0 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit

Property: The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit
Address: 1114 Washington Blvd, Detroit, MI 48226-1907
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Detroit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Detroit
#4 Luxury Hotel in Detroit
#6 Business Hotel in Detroit
#8 Family Hotel in Detroit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit 4*
Number of rooms: 455
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Book Cadillac returns legendary style and glamour to Detroit hotels. The historic Book Cadillac Detroit Hotel has been restored to its original splendor to reclaim its position as Detroit's premier hotel and social gathering destination. The luxury hotel also features more than 60 residences on the upper floors and some of the Midwest's most dramatic public event spaces. You would have to see the property to truly understand its significance. Now included in the National Register of Historic Places, the Italian Renaissance-style hotel, built by Detroit's famous Book brothers, was the tallest building in Detroit and the tallest hotel in the world at its completion in 1924. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit Hotel Detroit
Westin Detroit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing