We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and very clean”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit
Ranked #7 of 33 Hotels in Detroit
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Stayed one night at this hotel while in town for the Detroit Free Press Marathon. It was easy to find, and the valet service was friendly and prompt. Check in was easy, but the layout of the hotel was a bit odd....registration and concierge services were located on the second floor. Room was updated, spacious and clean. The heavenly beds were great, and the room was very quiet. Temperature in the room was hard to regulate, and the fan kicked on almost continually throughout the night. I'm sure I only noticed it because I was not sleeping well due to pre-race nerves! The grill was rather pricey-$21 for a burger and chips...but it was the only option for casual dining in the hotel (except for room service, I suppose). A "People Mover" station was close by, so traveling to the convention center and Greektown was easy. Overall, a beautiful building and the best hotel choice in the city.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
Thank RunningMom47201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_Book_Cadillac, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

We were pleased to read that you enjoyed our hotel's beauty, room size and amenities. Your review was very thorough, but you missed the most important thing…how did you do in the race? We’re sure you did great and hope that you will return next year, if not sooner.

David W
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,349)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,003 - 1,009 of 1,350 reviews

Reviewed October 23, 2012

You look at this hotel from ythe outside and think: " Maybe finally a hotel with some schwung, some character, that little extra?" But no. Run of the mill American standard business hotel, it always makes you think it's the exact same guy who sells the paint, carpets, beds and furniture to ALL this different hotels in the States. It's....boring. You sleep well, it's clean, it's well kept, it's dull. Again, impossible to find a proper beer in the fridge, well anything actually, they only stock it if you ask, and the bar closed too early. For my taste. Breakfast without anything to remember, staff nothing more than businesslike "polite". You have a great location and a wonderful building. Hey, it could be something special. It's not.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NilsFromNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_Book_Cadillac, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

We are pleased that you feel we have a great building and location. However we are sorry to read that parts of your stay and the décor of the hotel did not live up to your expectations. As you can imagine, décor is an area where it is hard to please everyone and hope that this does not keep you from returning.

David W
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Supposedly they spent $200M renovating this property. Well, it shows. Beautiful, immaculate public areas and my guestroom was perfect. Staff were friendly and the food in the 24 Grille was great. They even have a good selection of local beers on tap.
I was upgraded to a suite of the 23rd floor. Also had access to the lounge on the 23rd which serves a substantial complimentary breakfast.
I will definitely stay here again when I have business in Detroit.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnotherOntarioguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_Book_Cadillac, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

Thank you for your review. It is a great to read that you enjoyed your stay so much. We want every guest to feel the way you did and for them to leave feeling better than when they arrived. We hope to see you again soon.

David W
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

I've stayed here several times in the past few years and its become my preferred hotel in Detroit.

The rooms are large, modern and very nice. The beds are comfortable and a very good size and I always have a great nights sleep there. The room has a large flat screen TV with a decent movie selection, a minibar (which they now only stock when you ask, which is a little annoying) and the other general things you would expect for a decent hotel. The room had a proper desk and good web connection so that working in the room was pretty good comparatively.

The bathroom is very nice and the shower in particularly was great after a long trip from London. The room came with a robe, which added to the relaxation.

Room service is great and there is a pretty good selection of food both healthy and not so - everything was fresh and well presented, the service very good. The bar and restaurants downstairs were nice, served good food, had friendly staff and a decent range of drinks.

The hotel was located in easy walking distance of the Cobo centre which made it easy getting back and forth during the day. There's a taxi rank across the road, so cabs are always easy.

I'd have no hesitation recommending this hotel to anyone staying in Detroit, its a great hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GLD2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_Book_Cadillac, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

Thank you for such a positive review. We know that when a person travels often, it is nice to know your stay will make you feel special and help you to recharge and relax.

David W
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Stayed during the baseball playoffs last week. The hotel was super busy. The room was spacious and nicely appointed. Didn't really have a chance to check out any of the hotel's amenities. Staff were friendly and prompt.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jackonferry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_Book_Cadillac, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to have you back soon.

David W.
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

One robe in the closet and plastic cups in the bath are not what I expect form a Westin Hotel. A spacious room and nice bed linens I expect, but they don't make up for the corner cutting. The bathroom was quite large but the tub was small and narrow. We did have a window that opened, that was a plus. Good view from the upper floors of the river and Windsor.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper level floor facing the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_Book_Cadillac, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

We were pleased to read that you enjoyed the Heavenly Bed, room size and the amazing views. We were, however, very disappointed to read about the service items you felt were not up to Westin standards. We value your comments and thank you for taking the time to provide them.

David W.
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

My husband and I are starwood preferred guests (best program around) and love the properties they offer especially the Westin. This hotel in detroit is awesome. The rooms have a contemporary flare and clean as a whistle. We were upgraded to an executive king and it was beautiful. Very spacious for certain. The daylight windows were perfect in the bath and room. The shower head was great giving a rainfall type of feeling :-)

It was our 15th wedding anniversary and they were kind enough to send up a small bottle of champagne with rasberries in the flutes......very nice and thoughtful gesture. They truly go beyond expections in accomodating your every need.

The location is perfect. Walking distance to Fox theatre, many restaurants and CoAmerica park. We ate at Cliff Bells jazz club and loved it!

Room Tip: I would want a higher floor to avoid street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kimberlyMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_Book_Cadillac, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

We were honored to be part of your anniversary celebration and were able to make you stay very enjoyable. Your complements have been shared with hotel leadership who will certainly share this with their teams. From your description, it seem like you enjoyed the new Heavily Shower which features a rain fall head as well as detachable hand held wand…so relaxing. And we agree, Cliff Bells is one of Detroit’s gems!

David W.
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Detroit hotels
0.3 mi away
Aloft Detroit at The David Whitney
0.3 mi away
Detroit Foundation Hotel
0.4 mi away
MGM Grand Detroit
MGM Grand Detroit
#11 of 33 in Detroit
1,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center
0.6 mi away
Greektown Casino Hotel
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Detroit Downtown Riverfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit

Address: 1114 Washington Blvd, Detroit, MI 48226-1907
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Detroit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Detroit
#4 Romantic Hotel in Detroit
#4 Family Hotel in Detroit
#6 Business Hotel in Detroit
Price Range: $209 - $625 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit 4*
Number of rooms: 455
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Book Cadillac returns legendary style and glamour to Detroit hotels. The historic Book Cadillac Detroit Hotel has been restored to its original splendor to reclaim its position as Detroit's premier hotel and social gathering destination. The luxury hotel also features more than 60 residences on the upper floors and some of the Midwest's most dramatic public event spaces. You would have to see the property to truly understand its significance. Now included in the National Register of Historic Places, the Italian Renaissance-style hotel, built by Detroit's famous Book brothers, was the tallest building in Detroit and the tallest hotel in the world at its completion in 1924. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit Hotel Detroit
Westin Detroit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing