We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Delight is in the Details...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit
Ranked #7 of 33 Hotels in Detroit
Certificate of Excellence
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
59 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“The Delight is in the Details...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2011

I recently stayed at the Westin Book Cadillac for a quick getaway in Detroit. We had dinner at a nearby downtown restaurant and then went to the casino for a short time. The Westin EXCEEDED my expectations on all accounts, and it should be noted that I am a very picky hotel connoisseur. From Valet parking at check - in to check out, this hotel was perfect, and I dont say that often. The staff were friendly, quick and efficient.

We were upgraded to a suite due to my husband's platinum status, and the room was an A+. It was spacious, well decorated/designed, and clean. The room was very large with two large flat screen tv's, not that I wanted to watch tv, the surroundings are so serene, I just wanted to lounge and read a good book in the heavenly bed, which was turly heavenly. The bathroom was HUGE, with a separate tub/shower and vanity. The only minus of this particular room was the tub, which was tiny, and didnt seem to match the rest of the luxurious bathroom. The tub was simple and very small, and this bathroom really could have accommodated a large spa tub, that was a miss, but certainly not enough to impede my stay, just a mere oversight in the design.

The hotel lobby was really nice, and all the public spaces were beautifully appointed, yet simple and elegant. The hotel is old, but does not feel that way, they did a fantastic job restoring this hotel.

We ate at the restaurant that serves breakfast, and again b/c my husband is a platinum member with starwoods we were given a voucher for one breakfast b/c the executive lounge was closed for the holidays. However, b/c I ordered eggs with cheese and they did not put the cheese in my eggs, they comped the other breakfast, I did not even complain, they were just apologetic and service oriented, talk about attention to detail and giving you what you want. They really exceeded my expectations on that one!

The pool/hot tub area was also very nice and serene and WARM! the fitness center, although I did not use it, looked nice and had enough machines for most people who workout. They have a spa and two restaurants, plus a coffee shop on site at this hotel which really means you never have to leave the hotel. I ordered room service and although expensive (but what hotel's room service is not) they were very quick, polite and the food was delicious. I also called down for more lotion and they were literally at the door with two bottles less than 2 minutes later, talk about service! the valet service at check out was even pretty quick, I typically am annoyed at how long I have to wait for valet's at hotels, but this one was quick, and the valet loaded our bags so carefully you would have thought they were his own.

Overall this hotel was so fantastic it is exemplary and it is a shame that all hotels are not run so well, they should be rewarded for how fantastic their service is and how great the staff are! Thank you Westin Book Cadillac, while I dont really go to Detroit often, I will come back just to stay at this hotel, next time I would like to try out the spa!

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor, we were on 10 and that was not high enough, the views were obstructed from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SUNandSANDLOVER77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    601
    428
    120
    42
    32
See reviews for
165
391
60
397
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
39 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2011

The Westin Book Cadillac is an oasis in downtown Detroit. Sadly, the once proud Motor City is mostly blighted. There are a few gallant attempts to redevelop the central business district and the Westin is at the top of my list. Simply put, this hotel would be highly rated wherever it was located. The fact that it is anchored in Detroit makes it outstanding in my book.

I give the development team a lot of credit for not skimping on a renovation of the historic Book Cadillac hotel. The lobby, bar and common areas are fresh and contemporary, the rooms are spacious and well appointed, and the bathrooms, bedding and amenities live up to the Westin brand. There are two very good restaurants within the hotel, one being Roast by Michael Symon, a James Beard-winning chef.

The service at the Westin is understated and highly professional and the security (an issue in downtown Detroit) is adequate. I’d advise against walking around after dusk, but guests will feel secure within the building.

The only real reason one would select this hotel is if you have business to conduct downtown Detroit. If you are visiting MoTown for other reasons, I’d suggest hotels in more friendly environs. But, with few good options downtown, this property stands out.

Room Tip: Request an upgrade to a corner suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pete312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2011

I grew up in Detroit and have fond memories of the downtown area at it's height of prosperity. The JL Hudson Company and the Penobscott building. Thank you Westin for believing in the Book Cadillac to give her a new youth! Our stay was amazing! Great service. immaculate rooms and the vibe of Detroit!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
172 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2011

This is a centrally-located choice that offers a pleasant staff and lovely rooms. The layout was a bit odd. We had two adjoining rooms--one was nearly three times the size of the other. The surrounding neighborhood was desolate and that was kind of creepy. Going for a morning run did not seem like a good idea. Eating was tricky because the onsite options had limited hours. We were sorry that we could not get to Michael Symon's onsite restaurant and that we had to wait a very long time in the hotel bar to get some snacks. That said, overall these folks tried hard and it was close to Symphony Hall and the Art Museum.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OutWanderin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2011

Very pleased with the location and the staff was courteous and helpful from the valet service, to the reception desk to room service. I will stay here again and suggest this to friends and family. For the price (on Hotwire) it makes the choice of staying downtown after a night out an easy one, hands down. Great stay!

Room Tip: We had 3 adults in a room with 2 double beds. The staff offered us a room that could accomidate a r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michelle l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2011

This is nearly as good as it gets for a mainstream hotel.
A wonderfull building with a modern upscale interior. The reception desk was efficient and checked us in quickly.
The rooms are very comfortable and spacious with excellent facilities and a great view of the city. A spacious en-suite with a good shower and bath.
The restaurants and bars are great and I highly recommend dining at Roast - the hotels fine dining restaraunt.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrandmrsmacmichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_Book_Cadillac, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit, responded to this review, December 20, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review your positive experiences. As you can imagine our team works hard to provide guests with outstanding product and service. We hope to have you as a guest again.

David W.
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison
Level Contributor
220 reviews
180 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2011

Got an executive suite upgrade this time. Very nice corner room / suite with windows on both sides. Very clean, spacious room. Shower was large enough to have a party in.

Very nice, room service good, staff friendly. Valet quick.

Internet performed very well.

Would recommend this to anyone. Probably the nicest hotel I have stayed at in the Detroit area.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ClickTheGeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Detroit hotels
0.3 mi away
Aloft Detroit at The David Whitney
0.4 mi away
MGM Grand Detroit
MGM Grand Detroit
#3 of 33 in Detroit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,057 reviews
0.6 mi away
Greektown Casino Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Detroit Downtown Riverfront
0.4 mi away
The Atheneum
The Atheneum
#14 of 33 in Detroit
4.0 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
0.2 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit

Property: The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit
Address: 1114 Washington Blvd., Detroit, MI 48226
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Detroit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Detroit
#4 Luxury Hotel in Detroit
#6 Business Hotel in Detroit
#8 Family Hotel in Detroit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit 4*
Number of rooms: 455
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Book Cadillac returns legendary style and glamour to Detroit hotels. The historic Book Cadillac Detroit Hotel has been restored to its original splendor to reclaim its position as Detroit's premier hotel and social gathering destination. The luxury hotel also features more than 60 residences on the upper floors and some of the Midwest's most dramatic public event spaces. You would have to see the property to truly understand its significance. Now included in the National Register of Historic Places, the Italian Renaissance-style hotel, built by Detroit's famous Book brothers, was the tallest building in Detroit and the tallest hotel in the world at its completion in 1924. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit Hotel Detroit
Westin Detroit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing