We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thanks again Westin! Another wonderful Westin.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit
Ranked #7 of 33 Hotels in Detroit
Certificate of Excellence
Madison
Level Contributor
220 reviews
180 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Thanks again Westin! Another wonderful Westin.”
Reviewed November 29, 2011

Got an executive suite upgrade this time. Very nice corner room / suite with windows on both sides. Very clean, spacious room. Shower was large enough to have a party in.

Very nice, room service good, staff friendly. Valet quick.

Internet performed very well.

Would recommend this to anyone. Probably the nicest hotel I have stayed at in the Detroit area.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ClickTheGeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    604
    431
    120
    42
    32
See reviews for
166
391
61
401
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southfield, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2011

I stayed with friends who are from up north, and was proud to show them a good time in my Detroit. The hotel's transformation was amazing. I had been following its history and was excited to finally be staying there. The only thinig I was hoping for was a little more history around, like old b&w photos of its hey day! The modern decor inside isn't quite fitting with the amazing outside architecture, but maybe we didn't see the historical parts. Out of towners wouldn't even know what the Book Cadillac was all about, but then again maybe that is what Westin wants. It seems pricey for what is offered. It was very nice, but not fancy, and nothing really outstanding was offered for the price. The beds were indeed 'heavenly' and made it hard to even get out of bed in the morning, but will wait for a special rate next time. My friends were impressed with the city, the valet staff were nice and the location is good. We went to nearby bars and the Greektown casino. Walked there and took a taxi home. Didn't get a chance to eat in one of the restaurants, but will have to just do that another time.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DetroitAlicia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_Book_Cadillac, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit, responded to this review, December 20, 2011
Thank you for your review and we are very happy to hear that you and your friends enjoyed your stay and that they were impressed with the city. I wanted to let you know we are currently working on a historical display of images and artifacts going all the way back to the original Cadillac hotel. We hope you have an opportunity to see it.

Be Well,
David W.
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2011

I stayed there over the thanksgiving holiday. The hotel was full but not crowded. The 24 grill was great as well as lobby bar. The tv in lobby bar was very small considering the size of lounge.Rooms were sufficient and provided the comfort you expect. I was annoyed that internet is still a chargeable feature. Also i stayed on 23 floor ..club level. How is that the lounge was closed both Thursday and Friday... this is a hotel. How do you justify this. Not impressed by that . Overall i would recommend this facility for its overall features and amenities as well as location.Just not sure about a premium for club level.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kajah4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
72 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2011

Not sure why other reviewers are dissing the Book Cadillac. It seems they are hard to please guests. This is just a fabulous hotel in downtown Detroit. Originally opened in the 1920's and the rich and famous stayed there. It was closed for 20-some years until someone saw the value and put a lot of $$ into reopening it. This is the second time we have stayed there. The first thing I noticed was the doorman, and valet parking - this is NOT a 2-star hotel - more like a 5-star. Marble everywhere in the public areas. Registration is on the 2nd floor, which was different. Registration was quick and easy and they showed a lot of patience with our our group as we had booked 8 rooms, and wanted to all be on the same floor. We were each given late checkouts, which helped a lot since we were attending a sporting event at 10 a.m. Escalators and elevators worked very well. I did notice that the guest rooms are different sizes, some very large, others not as large as the ones we've had each visit (we are NOT preferred members), which could be expected of an older hotel as opposed to the cookie-cutter rooms of a newer, chain hotel. We had just a traditional king room. The rooms are just great - modern, sleek furnishings, large bathrooms - could fit a bed inside! The beds were wonderful! Everything was clean and our group was well satisfied. There is a workout center and a pool on-site, but we didn't have time to investigate. Coffee shop, restaurants and lounges w/i the building. This hotel is within walking distance to Ford Field,Comerica Park, Detroit Opera House, Fox Theatre and one block from a historic Catholic Church. One block from a People Mover station. The People Mover can get you to many downtown locations, for 75 cents a ride. Although there are many closed storefronts in the downtown area, I never felt unsafe walking. Valet $20; Self-parking was $10. Self-parking was right next door. You would be hard-pressed to find another more elegant place to stay in downtown Detroit.

Room Tip: Corner and end rooms seemed to be larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rhonda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_Book_Cadillac, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit, responded to this review, December 20, 2011
We are pleased to read that you and your group had a wonderful stay. Our team is committed to providing guests with lasting positive impressions of their stay. The configurations of rooms can vary based on the historic structure of the building. When first opened in 1924 the hotel had 1,136 rooms as opposed to the 453 rooms we now offer. Thank you again for your review.

Be Well,
David W.
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2011

I stayed here for two nights while attending a conference (also held at the hotel). Overall a very nice facility and excellent service. Rooms were spacious and well-kept. Noise was minimal, curtains closed tightly to keep out light, and internet access was fast. I had one breakfast at the onsite restaurant and was disappointed with the price. I realize this is an urban area but prices seemed high for what you got. On the plus side, the menu did feature several unique and healthy combinations. While I didn't use it, the exercise room looked fantastic. Usually exercise equipment is stuck into a tiny room but the Westin dedicated a large space to their good variety of equipment.

Overall, it was a pleasant stay in Detroit. I would stay here again and would recommend to others.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elperro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
65 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2011

My husband and I were attending a birthday party in Detroit (about 45 minutes from our home) and decided to make it a "date" by staying overnight at the Westin, which we had heard a lot of buzz about. We arrived to check in at about 10:45 p.m. While checking in my husband asked for a bottle of water to take some pills. Alas, at "our level" there was not complimentary bottled water in the room and the gift shop was closed. Our tough luck. The room was comfortable and attractively decorated with the obligatory plump, plush bedding and an oversized well appointed bathroom. However, the foam pillows had a slightly odd odor and the pillowcases were pilled, not the nice smooth texture of the sheets. In short, the Westin isn't going out of its way to make you feel like a guest. The coffee bar in the room had no creamer, there was a charge for wi-fi (which is just crazy, when every coffee bar and auto repair shop is offering this for free now) and the front desk was so impersonal in thier approach to customer service. We have other choices in the area that would would consider before returning here, or recommending it to out of town guests. Too bad. Detroit could use something to boast about.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank debtodeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2011

We decided to stay at the Westin Book Cadillac while taking an uncharacteristic road trip. This hotel is Westin at its best. The renovations to this older building seem to have been executed flawlessly.

We arrived after midnight, meaning the drive through downtown Detroit was a little unnerving. Having had bad luck with valet parking recently, we were prepared to need to use the GPS to find a garage in which to park the car. The hotel’s website only lists valet parking, but the garage used by the valets (practically attached to the hotel) also has self-parking for $10/night (though a sign said it would go up to $15 in January) – US cash only.

The lobby was tasteful, and there were people having drinks in the lobby lounge when we arrived. This seemed like a good choice because downtown Detroit does not seem particularly lively or well-populated at night. We experienced no noise issues during our stay, but the lobby lounge seemed to serve as a pleasant oasis for drinks in a rather uninspiring downtown.
Check-in was pleasant and efficient, and we went to our corner suite. It was spacious and decorated in very familiar Westin furniture and tones. The hotel feels very new, and every part of the hotel was spotlessly clean. The bathroom was also very large with a separate bath and shower. The Westin “heavenly shower” was in a large chamber shower, and the showerhead was high enough to require no ducking by anyone under 6’6”.

This is one of the taller buildings in the area, so guests can look out over downtown at the Ambassador Bridge and Windsor. My phone picked up Rogers 3G reception in the room, so there were no roaming charges overnight.

Checkout was equally as pleasant and professional.

We would definitely stay at the Westin Book Cadillac if we were in Detroit again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YOWboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Detroit hotels
0.3 mi away
Aloft Detroit at The David Whitney
0.4 mi away
MGM Grand Detroit
MGM Grand Detroit
#3 of 33 in Detroit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,063 reviews
0.6 mi away
Greektown Casino Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Detroit Downtown Riverfront
0.4 mi away
The Atheneum
The Atheneum
#14 of 33 in Detroit
4.0 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
0.2 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit

Property: The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit
Address: 1114 Washington Blvd, Detroit, MI 48226-1907
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Detroit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Detroit
#4 Romantic Hotel in Detroit
#6 Business Hotel in Detroit
#8 Family Hotel in Detroit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit 4*
Number of rooms: 455
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Book Cadillac returns legendary style and glamour to Detroit hotels. The historic Book Cadillac Detroit Hotel has been restored to its original splendor to reclaim its position as Detroit's premier hotel and social gathering destination. The luxury hotel also features more than 60 residences on the upper floors and some of the Midwest's most dramatic public event spaces. You would have to see the property to truly understand its significance. Now included in the National Register of Historic Places, the Italian Renaissance-style hotel, built by Detroit's famous Book brothers, was the tallest building in Detroit and the tallest hotel in the world at its completion in 1924. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, Ctrip TA, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit Hotel Detroit
Westin Detroit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing