We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
MotorCity Casino Hotel
Ranked #11 of 33 Hotels in Detroit
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good stay”
Reviewed February 16, 2014

I had visit before; however this was my best experience. The weather had been brutal in our area and this stay made me feel out of town at a great place. From beginning to end things went well, like maybe the staff had just had a lesson in customer service. Valet friendly ,prompt . Registration desk friendly hassle free. Room was clean with ultimate amenities and bedding. Casino entertainment was fantastic for free with the best of Motown sounds, people friendly and having a fun time, bar drinks on point. Breakfast at buffet excellent variety you could be naughty or nice, our server was attentive and professional. Last but not least the slots were kind of friendly! Looking forward to my next stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pkmccants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

609 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    213
    84
    48
    35
See reviews for
72
246
32
99
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, Michigan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2014

The rooms are Very Clean and very well appointed. The downside is that the rooms are very noisy from anyone walking down the hall or from your next door neighbors, when built, any sound deading was not thought of. However we liked the rooms so well that we will give it another try.

Room Tip: Request a room away from elevators and ice machines.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Klepper42264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarnia, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2014

I booked at room at the MotorCity Casino as part of my husband's 50th birthday. It wasn't a let down! Our room was spacious, modern, spotless and very comfortable. I thought it was a nice touch to have a couple of small free bottles of water. I loved the bathroom! The deep tub was to die for as was the nice marble shower, big enough to have a party in! The bed was also super comfortable. Check in was quick and the clerk was very friendly and courteous. Our room was on the 14th floor so we were able to enjoy free hot munchies from 5 - 7 pm in the evening and a continental breakfast from 6 - 10 in the morning. Both were excellent but if I had to choose one I would say I enjoyed the breakfast more. However, for having it included in our room it was a fantastic perk and very tasty! The attendent both in the evening and morning were excellent and stayed on top of keeping the dishes full of food and clearing away the dirty dishes. My only comment was they need at least one more table or at the very minimum another couch and coffee table to accommodate everyone. Many people were standing both in the evening and morning.
We had a fantast time in the casino (no we didn't win but we had fun!) and enjoyed having a room right there. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: try to get a room on the 13th floor or higher so as to be included in the evening munchies and morni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
99 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2014

Everything sparkled, hallways, elevators....the room was modern and clean, had a restful night. Check in took too long, not enough staff to accommodate the long line of people, they could be a little bit more hospitable too.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DiamondPlus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2014

Uncovered parking in Detroit? During winter? Not the best way to make a good first impression... The check in process was quick and efficient, but the front-desk manager didn't provide any answers to my touristy questions. The rooms are GREAT, free wi-fi was a huge plus and the room service surprised me with its quality and healthy choices. The underground food court is a DISASTER especially if you are a vegetarian like me.
Summing up I liked it, i would definitely return next year. The staff could be a little bit more friendly and hospitable.

Room Tip: The building is located in the middle of nowhere do views will be less than charming no matter which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nico-Villar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison Heights, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 6, 2014

I had a spa day. It was amazing!! very clean, neat and the staff was over the top great! I had a massage by Deanna she was amazing. I spend a lovely evening relaxed, and full. I had eaten at their buffet, and had a quiet nights rest in one of their very clean rooms. I really enjoyed my perfect day/night away.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
92 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2014

Let's start with the free self-park. Sure that's because of the Casino, but it was great. Upon arrival, the hotel was noted to be clean and modern. A quick check in and we were notified we had been upgraded to executive level, which included hor d'oeuvres that evening and breakfast the following morning.

We went up to our floor, via the very clean elevator and the very, very clean hallways. We noticed everything sparkled here.

Our room was great, separate tub/shower, with a separate room for the toilet as well. Everything was modern and clean. There are a few "little things" like q-tips and cotton balls available, which I thought was a great touch.

The beds were very comfortable, and being on the 14th floor allowed for a spectacular view of Detroit. We were there for a Red Wings game, so we got ready and headed to the Casino to catch the shuttle to the game.

After the game (the Wings beat the Canucks 2-0), we went back to our room, had a drink or two to loosen our grip on our cash prior to us heading down to the casino. The Casino itself is spotlessly clean, however it is very, very smokey. We both played a little while and both won a little money - enough to pay for lunch the next day.

Overnight the hotel was quiet - no noises in the hallways to be heard.

The breakfast was okay, coffee, bagels/bread, cereal, yogurt, fruit. The hot selection was oatmeal. The Sheraton Club lounge at Pearson Airport in Toronto is an example on a great executive/club lounge. This was the only place I found the hotel to be lacking - although really, it's free food/drink.

All in all, this was a great experience. I will absolutely return to this hotel on future trips.

Room Tip: 13-15th are executive levels!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ern23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Detroit hotels
1.4 mi away
Greektown Casino Hotel
0.6 mi away
MGM Grand Detroit
MGM Grand Detroit
#3 of 33 in Detroit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,064 reviews
0.9 mi away
Aloft Detroit at The David Whitney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Detroit Downtown Riverfront
1.0 mi away
The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit
1.3 mi away
The Atheneum
The Atheneum
#14 of 33 in Detroit
4.0 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MotorCity Casino Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MotorCity Casino Hotel

Property: MotorCity Casino Hotel
Address: 2901 Grand River Ave, Detroit, MI 48201-2907
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Detroit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Detroit
#10 Business Hotel in Detroit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — MotorCity Casino Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 400
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your MotorCity Casino Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motorcity Hotel Detroit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing