We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, Updated, Classy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
MotorCity Casino Hotel
Ranked #11 of 33 Hotels in Detroit
Certificate of Excellence
Ohio
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great, Updated, Classy”
Reviewed July 8, 2008

Nice, Clean, Updated, .......Super nice hotel. Detroit is detroit. Kind of the dangerous but there trying. If you go to gamble, stay in the casino your gambling in. Dont leave. Nice casino, friendly staff.

  • Liked — Clean, updated
  • Disliked — location
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank itsfitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    218
    84
    48
    35
See reviews for
73
252
32
103
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Detroit
Level Contributor
47 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2008

My wife and I booked a stay at Motor City Casino for a quick romantic getaway. Our experience was mostly positive, but there were a few negatives.

The positives...
- The room was great! We loved the decor and the bathroom was awesome!
- We had dinner at Iridescence. What a beautiful place! The views are great, although we think they purposely made the window ledge high so you can't see the urban blight directly below - just the tops of the tall buildings! The food was excellent and the service was outstanding! We particularly liked the filet mignon appetizer in the Barbie sized skillet! We also liked the glowing dessert.
- All the staff was very nice and helpful

The negatives...
- Finding the correct entrance was quite tricky...and we're locals!
- We booked with some package that we thought was giving us $20 for the casino...that really didn't turn out to be the case...it was some type of credit and we had to get interrogated by a bunch of different people to even get it - not worth the hassle
- The clock radio in the room that is supposed to work with an iPod didn't work with an iPod
- There seemed to be a lot of security people around - not a bad thing, but it was a bit intimidating

  • Liked — The room
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2008

The only thing good about the Motor City Casino is the restaurant Iridiscense. Great food and great views. Everything else was lacking. Casino floor is okay, the hotel rooms while nice carry too much volume between them and you can't get a good night's rest, and if you want to take a break from gambling, there is not much to do. No clubs or lounges and very few places to grab a bite or drinks. My suggestion is to go to MGM Detroit (where they have a mega-club and 3 posh lounges/bars and numerous restaurants) or Greektown Casino (where you can step outside to a variety of restaurants and bars). Nothing much in the area around MCC. It's too far away from everything and it's a ghost town in the surrounding areas. Once you're there, you're stuck. While this may be good for MCC to pull in the average gambler, it drives away the high rollers, bachelors, families, and just about anybody that wants a variety of things to do on a night out on the town.

The biggest complaint I have is the exterior lighting. One of the ugliest displays I have ever seen. Not only does it scream 1983, the spots in Vegas wouldn't even put something that tacky up. It speaks to the patronage this place might offer.

  • Liked — Iridiscense
  • Disliked — The location
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank akelley77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saugatuck, mi
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2008

let me first start off by saying that the hotel is beautiful inside and the staff was great. walking through the casino to get to food our first night there, not wanting to drive anywhere was very different from the hotel. Our room was very luxurious and comfortable.

Now for the BIGGEST downfall of the hotel. Our first night we were there I was woken up quite a few times from people coming and going from their rooms. you can hear them talking and doors closing too easily through your own door. the next thing that was bad was the sounds from loud and noisy cars from the parking structure next to the hotel (people bassing their stereo's, loud exhaust or none at all.)

The second night the exact same thing happened except this time around the people in the next room decided to have a small party that started at 1:30 am. they were yelling and talking loudly and very vulgar (all heard through the wall where the head of the bed is). I went down to the front desk to talk to them about the noise and they apologized profusely, then they sent some one up to talk to them. It helped for an hour then the room next door someone opened their door and started yelling down the hall. And it goes on till early in the morning.

so what started off as a fun weekend get away to go to the auto show ended with us both being cranky from being woken up a lot.

  • Liked — the room
  • Disliked — the noises
  • Stayed January 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank nate200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2008

We were excited about this recently opened hotel, but left disappointed. Problems began with lack of separate parking for hotel guests. Our check-in experience was great. The room was very handsome and spacious. However, we immediately noticed loud music from our neighbors, but they turned it down after we asked. When returning around Midnight, we clearly heard other’s conversation, doors opening and closing, and people moving around. We excersized patience, but slept horribly the first night.

The second night, we experienced similar issues. We called the front desk, and they spoke with the neighbors. Conversation between the staff and the guest was clearly audible, and choice words from the guest afterwards. We immediately called again, and they switched our room. Right away we noticed the same issue with the noise. We tolerated disturbances for two more nights. For a four-star hotel, the noise was unacceptable and the walls too thin for a casino hotel where people come to party.

Additionally the hotel’s service was inconsistent. We called to ask where to find a breakfast menu and a woman simply said, “I don’t know.” During our second day our safe broke. The cleaning staff skipped our room while the safe was being worked on. We returned to our room at 8 p.m., and it wasn’t touched. The front desk said they would send someone right up. We returned again at Midnight to an unmade bed, dirty towels and glasses.

Happily our experiences with room service and the Classics Buffet were great. Every dish was consistently good and desserts were excellent.

Sadly, there are more negatives than positives to report. We wouldn’t recommend this hotel due to its parking, inconsistent staff, uncomfortable pillows, but more than anything its loud rooms. Skip the stay but come to play and have a nice meal.

  • Liked — Dining
  • Disliked — Just about everything
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lucky_bunni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, OH
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2008

This new hotel opened in the Fall of 2007, and it's fantastic overall. First, the staff (both in the hotel and the casino) is the friendliest of any place that I've ever stayed. Everyone from the desk clerk to housekeeping to security to the casino staff seemed genuinely excited to be working and wanting to be sure that I wanted for nothing.

The hotel would remind you of a cross between a W Hotel and a Westin--very comfortable and spacious rooms and a hip atmosphere. Incredibly comfortable beds and crisp linens, with a pillow menu to boot! The bathrooms include both a huge soaking tub and separate shower and great toiletries and fantastic large towels. It was very quiet, and we had no difficulties sleeping. We forgot toothpaste, and it took only about 5 minutes for a housekeeper to bring a full kit with toothbrush and paste to our room.

On the downside, there are no restaurants open in the hotel yet. There are 4 informal cafes in the casino and 1 formal restaurant, along with a full 24-hour room service menu--all very reasonably priced. Also, there's not anything to do right around the hotel, but you're only a mile from downtown, Joe Louis Arena, Ford Field, and Comerica Park (not that you'd want to walk around Detroit at all).

  • Liked — Friendly staff, onsite casino
  • Disliked — Not a
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
12 Thank gbidding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niles, Ohio
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2008

We went to the motor city for a weekend stay at the brand new Motor City Casino Hotel. We got a super saver rate of $139.00/nite for 3 nights.
from the website for the motel - it looks spectacular on the website and it is ! It really is a cool hotel. You start with FREE valet parking - everyone and anyone whether you are going to the hotel or the casino - they must have had a dozen guys working the valet and it is a smooth operation - USE IT. Around the hotel is still being constructed and so it is a little hectic as you drive into the place - and the only entrance to the hotel right now is through the casino entrance which can be extremely busy. We are not casino people but the restaurants right now are located in the casino and you have to go through to eat -
We had a deluxe king room - which for the intro price was great - what you see on the website is what it is - the bed was awesome and the bathroom fabulous - the staff was still getting their feet wet but the pretty blond concierge was vey pleasant and showed me some suites while my wife was bathing in the soaking tub -
The hotel was at 4% occupancy - so I cannot give you a staff rating - it would not campare to when they were even half full - we received excellent attention.
My ONLY complaint was that with a huge hotel only 4% occupied - why did they have to put someone in the room right next to us???? even for one night - they were a little noisy -
I don't know what regular prices will be - probably high - but if you don't mind the construction - go now -
As far as the surrounding area - Detroit has some serious problems with blight and the entire area here is no exception other than this hotel - maybe it will turn the area around - from our room we could see old Tiger stadium as well as Ford field and Comerica Park - I don't know if I would walk to them in the summer though
The only reason this was not 5 was because they are still constructing the area and the spa, lounge and hotel restaurants were not available yet
If you are looking for a place to eat in the city - go to Marios Italian resturant in Woodward Ave - very good

  • Liked — The retro chic atmosphere and amenities
  • Disliked — restaurants, lounge and spa not yet completed for guests
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
12 Thank Ohiofiremn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Detroit hotels
0.6 mi away
MGM Grand Detroit
MGM Grand Detroit
#3 of 33 in Detroit
1,070 reviews
1.4 mi away
Greektown Casino Hotel
0.9 mi away
Aloft Detroit at The David Whitney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit
1.3 mi away
The Atheneum
The Atheneum
#14 of 33 in Detroit
507 reviews
1.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Detroit Downtown Riverfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MotorCity Casino Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MotorCity Casino Hotel

Property: MotorCity Casino Hotel
Address: 2901 Grand River Ave, Detroit, MI 48201-2907
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Detroit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Detroit
#10 Business Hotel in Detroit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — MotorCity Casino Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 400
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your MotorCity Casino Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motorcity Hotel Detroit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing