We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Moms night off” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of MotorCity Casino Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
MotorCity Casino Hotel
Ranked #12 of 33 Hotels in Detroit
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Moms night off”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

Every month I head to Motor city for a night off! I enjoy the clean rooms, huge bath, awesome turkey burgers and entertainment in the casino. Great to just spend an evening relaxing alone and taking time to myself. The past coule of times there has nto been a hairdryer in the room but guest services were quick to bring one up. Love the pillow library

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

594 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    206
    83
    45
    35
See reviews for
70
239
31
98
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

Mrs.Ilitch: Please cut your losses and sell your casino.
We stayed 2 nights. The rooms are very nice but you staff dosen't pay attention to the cleaning details. Debris in chair cousions and stains on bed floor boards. The fridge and snack tray auto charge is a joke and renders the use of the fridge ussless.

On night 1 at 2:11 am there was a loud knock on the neighbors door. You could here a lady say O my God I am freaking out I have been robbed ,black man red hat red shoes on the elevator.

On night 2 after returing from a Tiger game we went for dessert in the Lodge cafe. We waited 20min to be seatted because the tables were un bussed. Not 1 or 2 90% of them. We ordered what was suppose to be warn apple cobbler with ice cream. We got cold canned apples,cold sauce and no ice cream. We brought this to the attention of our waitress. We waited 10min for the ice cream . She said that a manager would speak with us. 20min later no manager.I tracked down the waitress got our bill paid and left. We spoke to the manager at the hotel front desk and he reimbursed us for the cobbler.

Security was doubled the second night. I felt as if i had to keep my head on a swivel ever time we left the room. Every were we went the staff acted as if they didn't care and had a thats not my job attitud. Hotel manager and attendant in hotel store were the exception.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank LED1977ZEPP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Port Richey, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

Rooms were great and great food at the Buffett but forget about taking a walk or walking to a resteraunt Better off staying in Greek Town. Cigerette smoke was terrible in the casinos. Free fountain drinks but it was serve yourself.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank branch2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

The negative reviews that I read are accurate. The whole place smells like cig smoke. It is in a rough neighborhood. I felt somewhat uncomfortable for a variety of reasons.

On the positive, the rooms are actually pretty nice and it has some good amenities.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tommyboyOSU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherstburg, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

Enjoyed the stay at the MCC. Parking was easy, the room was spacious and clean. The only down fall is there is nothing around there, if you don't want to drive, you definatly don't want to walk, you have to cab it. Now saying that, it was only a $6.00 cab ride from Joe Louis area back to the Hotel. All in all, I enjoyed MCC and will come back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

The company I work for had their Christmas party at the casino and we were given a room. Even though I live in Detroit, it was nice because I didn't have to drive home after the party. We waited in line for so long (45 mins) to check in, they upgraded our room to the executive suite. The best thing about the room were the beds. They were so soft and cool. As soon as we laid in it, we were taken away to dream land. The bathroom was very nice with marble walls and floors, extra deep bath tub and one of those rainfall shower heads that felt like a head massage when you stood under it. It came with robes (really stiff, not soft) and "all natural" amenities (shea butter soaps, tea tree shower gel, etc.). I love the dark chocolate wood decor and the view of the city from the window. We received complementary valet parking. Tip: Don't touch the mini bar, not even to remove it from the slot to look at it. That's a instant room charge of $15+.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DyBunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romeo, Michigan
Level Contributor
79 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed at MCC twice in the past 7 months on business. Both times I have found it to be "just okay." From the marble lobby to the Iridescence restaurant to both my rooms, MCC strikes me as an idea someone once cared deeply about but then lost interest. You expect a little wow-factor when you have your choice of three competing casinos, but the rooms aren't left spotless by the maids, the TV remotes barely work, and the bathroom supplies are not all that different from what Hampton Inn provides. Even the casino feels old and tired compared to the nearby MGM Grand. Not that MCC is a place to avoid: it's okay, but keep your expectations in check.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Indiebob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Detroit hotels
1.4 mi away
Greektown Casino Hotel
0.6 mi away
MGM Grand Detroit
MGM Grand Detroit
#3 of 33 in Detroit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,047 reviews
0.9 mi away
Aloft Detroit at The David Whitney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit
1.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Detroit Downtown Riverfront
1.3 mi away
The Atheneum
The Atheneum
#14 of 33 in Detroit
4.0 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MotorCity Casino Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MotorCity Casino Hotel

Property: MotorCity Casino Hotel
Address: 2901 Grand River Ave, Detroit, MI 48201-2907
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Detroit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Detroit
#10 Business Hotel in Detroit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — MotorCity Casino Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 400
Also Known As:
Motorcity Hotel Detroit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing