We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth it?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
MotorCity Casino Hotel
Ranked #11 of 33 Hotels in Detroit
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Worth it?”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

The Motor City Casino and hotel is an excellent hotel with a professional staff. All the expected amenities with on-site restaurants, self garage parking and valet parking and, of course, the casino. However, I don't know if it's worth the full price of over $200 per night. I was able to get a room at a 25% discount. Otherwise, I probably would have stayed elsewhere to save some money.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank axpjester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

611 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    215
    84
    48
    35
See reviews for
72
247
32
100
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
95 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed here over Memorial Day weekend - the room was clean, spacious and comfortable, they have robes for your use during your stay. There is a large selection of goodies (for a price) in the room, the price list was not available - so we did not touch anything for fear the M&M's were $6.00 a bag - A price list would have been nice. Coffee maker has Starbucks and to-go cups, nice for the morning. The only thing I thought they had (from the pictures when we booked) was a pool for guest use, they do not. We could pay $25 for use of the "spa" which may have had a pool - no one showed us and we have no idea, but for a hotel of this caliber and size - we really missed a pool, plus it's a bit out of the way for walking anywhere, a pool would get great use. Oh - I almost forgot - make sure there is not an "automatic wake up call" set for your room - we were unfortunately woke up at 3:30 am, check with the desk so this does not happen to you.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Boswella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livonia, Michigan
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

As outsiders of Detroit, we went to spend the night downtown. This hotel should be called the Phoenix instead of Motocity. When you walk in it feels like you are in a five star hotel. Check in very helpful. The rooms are very modern and VERY clean. Bathtub can fit 2 people easily. Shower and toliets separate eminities. Very nice.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TerryM14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed May 11, 2013

They give free stays all the time, but it's a trap. U havta have a credit card & pút down $50...
They make sure NOT TO TELL YOU that thier pops & 25¢ crackers & candy bars are inside a cencored scale & kept track of. And appear to be complimentary. But cost $10 a peice! Then when you complain they say, every room is "supposed" to have a price list! But they purposely don't! Most likely youre not grtting ur fifty dollar deposit back!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juicee34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Always clean, always comfortable, always friendly staff. The hotel can't help who comes in to the casino, staff takes good care of it the hotel and casino as well as their guests. Room service food is always good.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TStorm10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We recently spent the night at the Motor City while enjoying a show at Sound Board. Overall, I would have the rate the entire facility as a solid average. The casino was a let down. The smoke-free room was no bigger than our own living room and exceedingly warm. The rest of the casino was very poorly ventilated but did provide for excellent people watching. The dinning options were nothing to write home about. We chose not to wait in line for the buffet because it was quite long. On the positive side, some of the walk-up dinning options allowed for touch-screen ordering and then simply waiting for your number to be called. That came in handy in the busy late night/early morning rush.

Af far as the hotel room goes, it was fairly comfortable, clean, and maintained. The bed was comfortable and the pillow menu was a pleasant surprise. That being said, the bathroom was great! The shower had great pressure and the separate bath was both long and deep. My 6'3" partner was able to stretch out fully in the tub, which is quite rare.

Of note, the mini-fridge in the hotel room was fully stocked with no room for personal items. Additionally, every item in the fridge was on a sensor which would result in a charge had we removed them to store our bottle of wine and soda.

Room Tip: Upper levels are only able to be reached with a room key for that floor. This may cut down on the c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SPGryphon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 7, 2013

1st of all they make u sign a note saying u wont smoke, the hallway smelled like weed,the people across the hall had a party,the music was loud as hell.When security came upstairs they just turned it down 4 a sec.People continued 2 open and close the door across the hall and all u smelled was mary jane.The woman in the casino dressed like hookers,so ladies watch ur man and if ur a single man the hoes r right down their with butt cheecks out and coochie lips barely covered.Who wants 2 sit in a chair behind that,what if they have herpes or something ugh.The casino only had 1 place where u could get a players card which sucked because the line was always long as hell,motorcity doesnt have a pool or a club,the cable channels r ok @ a certain time they dont show anything,so u have 2 order a movie or go 2 sleep.Which was hard 2 do when it was a party going on until 4 a.m. People were blowing smoke in my face,i wouldnt stay @ Motorcity again if they gave me a free room. I will stick with Windsor.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vandres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Detroit hotels
1.4 mi away
Greektown Casino Hotel
0.6 mi away
MGM Grand Detroit
MGM Grand Detroit
#3 of 33 in Detroit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,067 reviews
0.9 mi away
Aloft Detroit at The David Whitney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Detroit Downtown Riverfront
1.0 mi away
The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit
1.3 mi away
The Atheneum
The Atheneum
#14 of 33 in Detroit
4.0 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MotorCity Casino Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MotorCity Casino Hotel

Property: MotorCity Casino Hotel
Address: 2901 Grand River Ave, Detroit, MI 48201-2907
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Detroit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Detroit
#10 Business Hotel in Detroit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — MotorCity Casino Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 400
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your MotorCity Casino Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motorcity Hotel Detroit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing