We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sadly to say”
Review of MGM Grand Detroit

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
MGM Grand Detroit
Ranked #5 of 33 Hotels in Detroit
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Unfortunately, our weekend getaways at MGM Grand Hotel, Detroit, have become more and more controversial and less enjoyable than we had experienced earlier in the year. There has been a gradual decline in the cleanliness of rooms. One floor we refuse to stay on. Someone needs to take charge; supply housekeeping with everything needed to clean the rooms appropriately; room inspections are obviously not done correctly. If they were, the dingy bedspreads on worn out beds; dirty carpet (some smelly), dusty and smeared glass table tops, dirty tv remotes (some do not work), old (white chalk old) chocolate bars & out of date juice in Mini Bar would not be an issue. We have stayed in luxury queen room, lately staying in luxury & executive corner suites which, in our opinion, are in the worst condition. It is a shame that this has been our experience lately. Hopefully this review will be read and taken seriously by someone who has the courage and fortitude to change things at the hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,102)
There are newer reviews for MGM Grand Detroit
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

651 - 657 of 1,102 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

We visit the M life Hotels on Las Vegas annually so will compare to those. Hotel is first rate. Rooms have pillow top beds. All are no smoking. What is also nice is the living room as you enter the hotel after checkin. Complete with comfortable sofas, a very modern full length fire place and a free coffee machine.

Our room was comped so can't tell you the price. The bathroom was ultra modern with glassed walk in shower with 2 heads one in the wall and one in the ceiling.

In all the room was very comfortable and considering we were the first room off the elevators very very quiet!

There are 14 floors. Not sure who
gets to stay in the penthouse.

Enjoyed the two nights we stayed.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Okrent3209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Beautiful hotel and casino, comfortable rooms and a warm and inviting staff. Better location than Motor City and I prefer the casino to Greek Town. In the end the friendliness of the staff really set MGM apart.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Being gold status M Life members we asked for our free upgrade and got a corner suite. The front desk looked at our old M Life cards, mine is still Sapphire and my husband's is Pearl because he had lost his after our first trip to Vegas and told us we couldn't get an upgrade with those cards. I told her to just run our numbers, then it changed to Welcome Mr. and Mrs. Kookie to MGM Grand we have a corner suite available will that suit you? lol The room was huge 2 bathrooms, 3 TV's and a phone at every turn. Wet bar with a beautiful backdrop that if the light was on in the bathroom behind it, looked like it was glowing. The main bathroom has double sinks, a jet tub and a shower with 5 shower heads. The pool are is wonderful, they pump in some kind of fragrance so you can't smell the clorine. The locker rooms are a fantasy, they have soft fluffy robes, private shower stalls and in a different room a round table with beautiful flowers with every kind of lotion, deoderant or foo foo stuff that you need. There is a hot tub and steam room. In a lounge area are pitchers of iced tea and lemonaid and a bowl full of fruit and newspapers to read. I came out of there feeling like a celebrity. The casino was nice, Taps was ok. We had a server/bartender that was realy attentive, but breakfast the next day was a little slow. Vallet staff was Courteous and Friendly. We will be returning!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KrystalKookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed October 1, 2013

The room was great but I think that more then one bar soap should be left in the bathroom.
I also feel when you tell the host that you are celebrating a wedding anniversary something special should be added to the room.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We had the best time here. Room was clean and huge. Dinner at Wolfgang Puck was amazing!!! Best steak and ribeye ever. We attended a concert in Detroit this was the purpose of our stay so we didn't play any of the slots and tables but we should have we were just too busy with everything else. We will return it was a pretty goodtime everyone was friendly and courteous.

Room Tip: If you have an iPhone 5 you'll need to bring an adapter for the docking station so you can dock...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We had a great time. I have previously been a casino worker so I know what it takes to work, etc. in a casino so I appreciate a good job when it happens. I do not have any other advice.
Keep up the good work with all your employees.





Room Tip: None given as we were on a comp stay.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doreen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Detroit hotels
0.9 mi away
Greektown Casino Hotel
0.5 mi away
Aloft Detroit at The David Whitney
0.6 mi away
MotorCity Casino Hotel
MotorCity Casino Hotel
#11 of 33 in Detroit
662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit
0.8 mi away
The Atheneum
The Atheneum
#16 of 33 in Detroit
523 reviews
1.0 mi away
Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MGM Grand Detroit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MGM Grand Detroit

Address: 1777 3rd St, Detroit, MI 48226-2498
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Detroit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Detroit
#1 Romantic Hotel in Detroit
#2 Green Hotel in Detroit
#3 Luxury Hotel in Detroit
#3 Family Hotel in Detroit
Price Range: $205 - $490 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — MGM Grand Detroit 4.5*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
While in Detroit, get down to business at the ultimate entertainment destination, MGM Grand Detroit. Surround yourself in timeless design in our ultra-chic hotel. Dream big on king-size beds with 300 thread count sheets, relax in our oversized marble baths with dual rain shower heads. Or indulge yourself in a garden of earthly delights within our signature restaurants, or nightlife options. Last, lavish yourself within Immerse, Detroit's only resort style Spa. Immerse Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your MGM Grand Detroit reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mgm Grand Detroit Hotel Detroit
Mgm Grand Hotel Detroit
Detroit Mgm Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing