We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great Stay with small personal touches” 4 of 5 stars
Review of MGM Grand Detroit

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
MGM Grand Detroit
Ranked #1 of 33 Hotels in Detroit
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Stay with small personal touches”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for one night in July. We mentioned at the front-desk that we were celebrating our 11th anniversary and that information was passed along everywhere we went... a nice touch. An easy personalization, just like our telephone which had my name displayed across the screen.. The room was beautiful and well equipped. The bathroom was huge with romantic double shower heads. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay... the casino crowd was a little less upscale but we aren't gamblers, we noticed it only during our walk to and from Wolfgang Puck's steak house.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kas17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

964 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    628
    226
    53
    24
    33
See reviews for
112
429
49
192
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Every hotel employee that I encountered was amazing. They were always smiling and could not do enough to make sure my stay was a good one. The room is large and absolutely beautiful with a bed that I would love to have at home! The casino has many restaurants, from a sports bar theme to Wolfgang Puck Steak House, so you don't have to leave the property for dinner. The price for a weeknight stay was basically the same as other hotels in the city (with a AAA discount), I won't stay any where else when in Detroit.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OhioTravelDiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

as a frequent vegas vacationer i didnt want to compare the MGM detroit with the casinos in vegas. But to my surprise it is very comparable. We arrived and valet was FREE. the valet attendants were very nice. Checkin was a breeze. I didnt get the guy's name but he was very nice and took his time to explain the hotel. the room was very nice. We stayed on the 11th floor. The tv in the bathroom AWESOME. the shower was very roomy and had 2 shower heads. Double sinks. Free Wifi in the room. Comfy bed and pillows. The hotel has 24/7 complimentary coffee in the lobby area.

TAP sportsbar is very good. The Palette buffet was just ok. The casino is nice. The only thing i hated was the smoke. People are allowed to smoke in all parts of the casino. I would suggest having a smoking and nonsmoking section. the smell of smoke was unbearable. In order to eat or go to the club you have to endure the smell of smoke.

The area that the hotel is in is boring. nothing to do outside of the hotel.

Room Tip: high floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Michigan, Usa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Great hotel/casino/restaurant
Close to Ford Field Took a short taxi ride to Ford Field.....
Ate at Wolfgang Pucks pizzeria ....great food.......everything tasted so fresh...staff was very friendly...rooms were very clean...beds were so comfortable, I wish I had one at home


  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, Usa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

the people that work at this hotel are professional and you just love how they make you feel as a guest. lost my velet ticket, forgot the type of rental car i had, but the velet manager and staff found it and saved my appointment time,

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Armand S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Mississippi, Usa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Hotel has the nicest rooms/features of the three casino/hotels in Detroit. Casino is nicely laid out, albeit somewhat crowded even on weekday nights. Wolfgang Puck Steak restaurant in the casino is a plus.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton, California, Usa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

I will simply say that there is no doubt that the management takes customer service seriously. From the front desk, to the spa, to the restaurants and even on the blackjack tables people were so nice to us. They were smiling, but not that fake smile you see at many places. They seemed genuinely happy. Whatever they are doing there is working. Couldn't have been happier.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dpredsox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Detroit hotels
0.5 mi away
Aloft Detroit at The David Whitney
0.5 mi away
The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit
1.0 mi away
Greektown Casino Hotel
Greektown Casino Hotel
#5 of 33 in Detroit
4.0 of 5 stars 954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Detroit Downtown Riverfront
0.6 mi away
MotorCity Casino Hotel
MotorCity Casino Hotel
#12 of 33 in Detroit
4.0 of 5 stars 541 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MGM Grand Detroit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MGM Grand Detroit

Property: MGM Grand Detroit
Address: 1777 3rd St, Detroit, MI 48226-2498
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Detroit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Detroit
#1 Luxury Hotel in Detroit
#1 Business Hotel in Detroit
#2 Green Hotel in Detroit
#3 Family Hotel in Detroit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — MGM Grand Detroit 4.5*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
While in Detroit, get down to business at the ultimate entertainment destination, MGM Grand Detroit. Surround yourself in timeless design in our ultra-chic hotel. Dream big on king-size beds with 300 thread count sheets, relax in our oversized marble baths with dual rain shower heads. Or indulge yourself in a garden of earthly delights within our signature restaurants, or nightlife options. Last, lavish yourself within Immerse, Detroit's only resort style Spa. Immerse Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com and Jetsetter so you can book your MGM Grand Detroit reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mgm Grand Detroit Hotel Detroit
Mgm Grand Hotel Detroit
Detroit Mgm Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing