We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“MGM Grand Detroit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of MGM Grand Detroit

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
MGM Grand Detroit
Ranked #1 of 34 Hotels in Detroit
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Novi, Michigan, Usa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“MGM Grand Detroit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Room was great, loved the bathroom and staff even left some cookies for us since we were celebrating our anniversary! We thought that was very thoughtful. We will return, already planning our next stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Danielle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

924 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    600
    218
    51
    23
    32
See reviews for
104
412
47
183
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester Hills
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Loved the spa, the service, and the hotel appearance. I was made to feel like a star at MGM and I will be returning frequently. The room service was pricy but the same as if you went to a nice restaurant except you got to enjoy the meal in the privacy and comfort of your room which is a plus.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tequion B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Michigan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

I love this hotel! Ask to get on the concierge level for a good breakfast and snacks :-) the hotel allows access to the spa. If you don't stay at the hotel it's $25 to go to the spa. There is a steam room for the ladies and a sauna for the men. The pool is so relaxing and tranquil! I could spend all day lounging by the salt water pool. I would say this is more for adults and not so kid friendly.

Get a hot stone massage if you splurge. They accept spa finder cards and have discounts Tuesday-Thursday.

The rooms are beautiful and have lovely huge windows to see the city.

The spa is what sets this apart from the other casinos in the area.

The restaurants in the casino are fabulous and TAPS has a great beer and burger selection!

Love this place!!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Noelleymarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Michigan, Usa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We are life long residents of Detroit. Currently live in Plymouth MI. We stay at MGM Hotel every 2 months. Our favorite hotel in Detroit. We've been to all others. Our rating would be 4 to 5 stars. We are so fortunate to have this first class hotel and the restaurants in Detroit.

Room Tip: None. They are all great
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
94 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Very nice place - it's easy to lose track of time in the worry free atmosphere. The room was perfect, the staff is friendly, and the gym was incredible! The casino was very tempting, but since it was a work trip I was unable to wander around to catch any gaming action.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Doug C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan, Usa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Table games .....craps table only had one table open during the week and during the day.....no room.
Unable to use free room coupon even during the week!!!!!
Overall hotel and spa experience was top of the line.....highly recommended!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, Washington, Usa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

This property is an outstanding value. Staff was very helpful at all times. The room was excellent in that it was spotless and well furnished. Although I didn't used the bar, I thought that was a nice touch.

Room Tip: I couldn't find instructions on using the TV. A TV guide was on the TV, but it would be nice to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill12226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Detroit hotels
0.5 mi away
The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit
0.5 mi away
Aloft Detroit at The David Whitney
1.0 mi away
Greektown Casino Hotel
Greektown Casino Hotel
#5 of 34 in Detroit
4.0 of 5 stars 913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Detroit Downtown Riverfront
0.6 mi away
MotorCity Casino Hotel
MotorCity Casino Hotel
#13 of 34 in Detroit
4.0 of 5 stars 520 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Atheneum
The Atheneum
#12 of 34 in Detroit
4.0 of 5 stars 422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MGM Grand Detroit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MGM Grand Detroit

Property: MGM Grand Detroit
Address: 1777 Third Street, Detroit, MI 48226
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Detroit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Detroit
#1 Luxury Hotel in Detroit
#1 Business Hotel in Detroit
#2 Green Hotel in Detroit
#3 Family Hotel in Detroit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — MGM Grand Detroit 4.5*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
While in Detroit, get down to business at the ultimate entertainment destination, MGM Grand Detroit. Surround yourself in timeless design in our ultra-chic hotel. Dream big on king-size beds with 300 thread count sheets, relax in our oversized marble baths with dual rain shower heads. Or indulge yourself in a garden of earthly delights within our signature restaurants, or nightlife options. Last, lavish yourself within Immerse, Detroit's only resort style Spa. Immerse Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your MGM Grand Detroit reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mgm Grand Detroit Hotel Detroit
Mgm Grand Hotel Detroit
Detroit Mgm Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing