We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“My favorite local hotel.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of MGM Grand Detroit

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
MGM Grand Detroit
Ranked #1 of 33 Hotels in Detroit
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Plymouth, Michigan, Usa
1 review
“My favorite local hotel.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We are life long residents of Detroit. Currently live in Plymouth MI. We stay at MGM Hotel every 2 months. Our favorite hotel in Detroit. We've been to all others. Our rating would be 4 to 5 stars. We are so fortunate to have this first class hotel and the restaurants in Detroit.

Room Tip: None. They are all great
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

948 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    617
    223
    51
    23
    34
See reviews for
108
422
49
189
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
94 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Very nice place - it's easy to lose track of time in the worry free atmosphere. The room was perfect, the staff is friendly, and the gym was incredible! The casino was very tempting, but since it was a work trip I was unable to wander around to catch any gaming action.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Doug C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan, Usa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Table games .....craps table only had one table open during the week and during the day.....no room.
Unable to use free room coupon even during the week!!!!!
Overall hotel and spa experience was top of the line.....highly recommended!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, Washington, Usa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

This property is an outstanding value. Staff was very helpful at all times. The room was excellent in that it was spotless and well furnished. Although I didn't used the bar, I thought that was a nice touch.

Room Tip: I couldn't find instructions on using the TV. A TV guide was on the TV, but it would be nice to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill12226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelsea, Michigan, Usa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Nicest hotel room I've been in. Modern, clean and upscale. Loved the free valet parking and free water bottles. They really lay on the service. Loved the fact that my beautiful window view was perfectly clean glass.
I'm not so keen on the smoke in the casino, but that's any casino.

Room Tip: Loved the view of ambassador bridge and sunset.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anniston, Alabama, Usa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Absolutely the best experience. More than I could have ever expected. MGM's Staff was superb and dead on target with any services and assistance we needed. The Concierge staff assisted us with a rental car, airline confirmations, and directions for points of intrest downtown.

Room Tip: I've never slept in a more comfortable bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carl W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centerville, Indiana, Usa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

great hotel, casino needs work, staff very unfriendly and few and far between...area around the machines were not very clean and a lot of dirty ash trays and drink glass that were not retrieved for the last person usage


  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Noble J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Detroit hotels
0.5 mi away
Aloft Detroit at The David Whitney
0.5 mi away
The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit
1.0 mi away
Greektown Casino Hotel
Greektown Casino Hotel
#5 of 33 in Detroit
4.0 of 5 stars 942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Detroit Downtown Riverfront
0.9 mi away
The Atheneum
The Atheneum
#14 of 33 in Detroit
4.0 of 5 stars 435 reviews
0.6 mi away
MotorCity Casino Hotel
MotorCity Casino Hotel
#12 of 33 in Detroit
4.0 of 5 stars 532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MGM Grand Detroit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MGM Grand Detroit

Property: MGM Grand Detroit
Address: 1777 3rd St, Detroit, MI 48226-2498
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Detroit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Detroit
#1 Luxury Hotel in Detroit
#1 Business Hotel in Detroit
#2 Green Hotel in Detroit
#3 Family Hotel in Detroit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — MGM Grand Detroit 4.5*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
While in Detroit, get down to business at the ultimate entertainment destination, MGM Grand Detroit. Surround yourself in timeless design in our ultra-chic hotel. Dream big on king-size beds with 300 thread count sheets, relax in our oversized marble baths with dual rain shower heads. Or indulge yourself in a garden of earthly delights within our signature restaurants, or nightlife options. Last, lavish yourself within Immerse, Detroit's only resort style Spa. Immerse Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your MGM Grand Detroit reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mgm Grand Detroit Hotel Detroit
Mgm Grand Hotel Detroit
Detroit Mgm Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing