We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great stay and time to relax” 4 of 5 stars
Review of MGM Grand Detroit

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
MGM Grand Detroit
Ranked #1 of 33 Hotels in Detroit
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
“Great stay and time to relax”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Great room and spa! The casino floor and staff were friendly and room was clean. I would stay at MGM Detroit again and recommend to friends and family......slot tech could have been more alert to service light when slot machine was not working but other than that great stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Detroit_John
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

969 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    631
    227
    54
    24
    33
See reviews for
112
430
50
194
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marysville, Michigan, Usa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

we had a great time, valet was fine, front desk attendent she was very nice and informative, room very nice with nice view, we enjoyed our stay and will return. not any thing to dislike. only an hour drive from home, would have liked more towells in bathroom only 3 towells when 4 people stayin in double room.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Allison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grosse Pointe Farms, Michigan, Usa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

TAP was a great bar
Hotel room was fantastic.
The TV in the mirror in the bathroom was just too cool!
Great bed.
I recommend MGM for a great weekend getaay. Valet was timely, casino was fun and modern, hotel room was wonderful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zachary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkley, Michigan, Usa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

It was a nice stay.
The type of coffees were a good variety especially the whipped ones. I like to see a tea also.
The pool water needs to be warmer. I know there was a weather fluctuation but in any case if it is warmer is better. I saw people swam in a frozen lake after making a hole in it but this not suitable for everybody.



  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bashar H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio, Usa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

MGM Grand Detroit has the greatest training program in Michigan. From the Valets, to the Front Desk, Slot Attendants, Spa staff and Restaurants this is just an excellent facility. We've frequent this facilitry and have never, never, EVER, had a bad experience. The small issues we have encountered were handled immediately and completely to our satisfaction. For instance, I left my Kindle Fire in my room and called when I got home. They sent housekeeping to my room and immediately called me back to say they had it and would hold it for me. Even the $20 dollars I had tucked in the cover was intact. And when my wallet fell out of my pocket without me noticing, a slot attendant found it, gave it to Security and they returned it to the machine where I was playing with nothing missing. This is the kind of friendliness and security you'll find at MGM Grand. Food is great, room are very, very nice, beds are comfortable and the housekeeping staff does a wonderful job keeping everything clean. We always have a great experience at MGM Grand an you will too when you visit.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryAnn562
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

I had the opportunity to stay at the MGM Detroit in February. My room was amazing. the bed was like sleeping on a cloud. My bathroom had a shower with 5 shower heads plus a jacuzzi tub with multicolor lights. the room had 3 tv's (one was in the bathroom mirror) The concierge was always friendly and happy to assist no matter what the request. Everyone was extemely friendly and helpful thoughout the hotel and casino areas. If you have a chance definitely go down to the pool and spa. The pool is huge and indoor. The spa was very nice. My only issue was that it didnt have a quiet relaxation room with lounge chairs (thier room only had sit up type chairs). The only place to go after the massage was the pool area. Unfortunately there was a child who was alternately happy and crying so the peacefull glow that I had after the massage disappated. If I am ever in the Detroit area again i would definitely stay there

Room Tip: If you can stay in an exective room - DO IT!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tecumseh, Michigan, Usa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We have stayed several times at this facility and every one is a great experience. Every employee is helpful and friendly. Love the rooms and the pool/spa. The valet parking is fast and efficient. Would like to see some of the restaurants in the Casino open a little later, but that is the only downfall we experienced here. We will be back again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Detroit hotels
0.5 mi away
Aloft Detroit at The David Whitney
0.5 mi away
The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit
1.0 mi away
Greektown Casino Hotel
Greektown Casino Hotel
#5 of 33 in Detroit
4.0 of 5 stars 955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Detroit Downtown Riverfront
0.6 mi away
MotorCity Casino Hotel
MotorCity Casino Hotel
#12 of 33 in Detroit
4.0 of 5 stars 541 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MGM Grand Detroit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MGM Grand Detroit

Property: MGM Grand Detroit
Address: 1777 3rd St, Detroit, MI 48226-2498
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Detroit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Detroit
#1 Romantic Hotel in Detroit
#1 Business Hotel in Detroit
#2 Green Hotel in Detroit
#3 Family Hotel in Detroit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — MGM Grand Detroit 4.5*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
While in Detroit, get down to business at the ultimate entertainment destination, MGM Grand Detroit. Surround yourself in timeless design in our ultra-chic hotel. Dream big on king-size beds with 300 thread count sheets, relax in our oversized marble baths with dual rain shower heads. Or indulge yourself in a garden of earthly delights within our signature restaurants, or nightlife options. Last, lavish yourself within Immerse, Detroit's only resort style Spa. Immerse Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your MGM Grand Detroit reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mgm Grand Detroit Hotel Detroit
Mgm Grand Hotel Detroit
Detroit Mgm Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing