We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You have to push if you want the GRAND service”
Review of MGM Grand Detroit

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
MGM Grand Detroit
Ranked #3 of 33 Hotels in Detroit
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
United States
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“You have to push if you want the GRAND service”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

The appearance from outside is great but once you enter the building it seems set-up in a very segmented fashion. The Hotel entrance and bank of elevators is to cramped and restricted. The rooms are nice to look at, beds are comfortable, but the rooms could be slightly larger. The views to the South are all industrial or freeway. The food is OK at the new TAP Sports Bar but that is it. The Buffet is hit or miss with it sometimes being unkept with dirty tables and dis-shelved place settings.

Room Tip: City View is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChiefPontiac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,083 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    691
    250
    69
    35
    38
See reviews for
130
467
54
224
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auburn Hills, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

Didnt have much time but still wanted to do something fun for our 20 year anniversary -so we booked a king standard at MGM grand in Detroit, at the last minute.
What a surprising delight! Rooms were very clean, modern and decorated nicely. Pool and spa area were beautiful - but book spa treatments as soon as you book your room, they fill up fast on the weekends. Loved the H20 products, husband loved the flat screen TV in the bathroom.
Valet was very busy but took very good care of us. Upon check-in, we mentioned it was our anniversary and they us a 1p checkout on the house! Gaming area was ok, but I was surprised that drinks were not free when at the tables gambling. Loved Ignite's sushii bar,see ouru separate reviewprivate on that. Overall a very nice, quick getaway that didnt empty our wallets, thx! We'll be back

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beachbums2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DetMGMGrand, Manager at MGM Grand Detroit, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Happy 20th Anniversary! Thank you for choosing to celebrate your special occasion with us. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and hope you'll be back to visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brownstown Township, Michigan, Usa
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Great atmosphere and gaming. Rooms are very clean and the hotel has a very nice pool. Food is great too! Close to the ball fields to take in a Tiger game or go see the Red Wings play. We took our family as part of a casino promotion and were able to do some gambling too.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Renee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Our recent stay at MGM Grand in Detroit exceeded our expectations! The rooms are lovely, the beds and bedding are superb, but the pillows do not match the ones at the Ritz! I can highly recommend this hotel to anyone whose business or recreation takes them to Detroit.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NancyAnnArbor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio, Usa
1 review
Reviewed March 4, 2013

I was very impressed with the spa service. Staff was very professional and helpful. Area was very clean, relaxing, and inviting. Enjoyed using the fitness center. Very clean, organized, and modern equipment. Valet service was very fast. Loved my hotel room. Stayed on the concierge level and it was worth it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HoneyBlondeCurls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan, Usa
1 review
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Service and room outstanding. Close to reception. Friends came back for gaming fun and entertainment. Plenty of action on a Saturday night. Room service excellent, food was as well. Will return for next weekend out with family and friends. All covered by my M Life rewards. Thank you MGM.



  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarkston, Michigan, Usa
1 review
Reviewed March 3, 2013

The room was terrific and super clean. The hotel staff and most casino staff were wonderful. Did have a problem with the valet. It was correctly but it took alot of convincing and waiting to be solved.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Detroit hotels
0.9 mi away
Greektown Casino Hotel
0.5 mi away
Aloft Detroit at The David Whitney
0.6 mi away
MotorCity Casino Hotel
MotorCity Casino Hotel
#10 of 33 in Detroit
643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit
0.8 mi away
The Atheneum
The Atheneum
#15 of 33 in Detroit
509 reviews
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Detroit Downtown Riverfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MGM Grand Detroit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MGM Grand Detroit

Property: MGM Grand Detroit
Address: 1777 3rd St, Detroit, MI 48226-2498
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Detroit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Detroit
#1 Luxury Hotel in Detroit
#1 Romantic Hotel in Detroit
#2 Green Hotel in Detroit
#3 Family Hotel in Detroit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — MGM Grand Detroit 4.5*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
While in Detroit, get down to business at the ultimate entertainment destination, MGM Grand Detroit. Surround yourself in timeless design in our ultra-chic hotel. Dream big on king-size beds with 300 thread count sheets, relax in our oversized marble baths with dual rain shower heads. Or indulge yourself in a garden of earthly delights within our signature restaurants, or nightlife options. Last, lavish yourself within Immerse, Detroit's only resort style Spa. Immerse Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Preferred Hotels, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your MGM Grand Detroit reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mgm Grand Detroit Hotel Detroit
Mgm Grand Hotel Detroit
Detroit Mgm Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing