We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not so good of an experience”
Review of MGM Grand Detroit

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
MGM Grand Detroit
Ranked #3 of 33 Hotels in Detroit
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Troy, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not so good of an experience”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Having stayed at MGM Grand in the past without any problems, my husband and I were looking forward to staying overnight Labor Day weekend. It was my 50th birthday celebration. We arrived around 2pm and were told our room was not ready-no problem since we were a little early. We were told that the hotel had been full the night before and it was taking a little longer to get the room ready. We had a nice brunch and went back around 3:15, room still not available. We had reserved an Executive King and now were told that there is only one of this room type on each floor but when the next room was available we would be notified by phone (I gave my cell number). No call by 4:30, so checked and the room was still not available. Toraine, the front desk representative, sensed our frustration. She went above and beyond by doing little things, like getting us access to the concierge level, a room credit, and late check out. Toraine really tried to help us short of cleaning the room herself! No call by 6pm, checked and the room was still not available-4 hours after we arrived. Finally got into the room at 6:45. Unfortunately, we also had trouble getting our luggage delivered. After an hour and two phone calls, my husband went down to the bell captain desk to inquire. He was taken to a back room where our luggage was on a cart and was then brought up to our room. We could finally relax-6 hours after we arrived. I agree with other travelers that the room was fabulous and otherwise good service. Hopefully this was a rare occurance.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KNem0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,070 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    685
    247
    67
    33
    38
See reviews for
129
462
53
221
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Just got back from a stay at this hotel. Room was fabulous - bed linens luxurious, bathroom was incredible with walk in shower with double shower heads. We had a CD/DVD player in our room (unlike previous from another reviewer). Flat screen in bathroom as well! Hotel was spotless throughout and the casino staff were constantly tidying up. The staff throughout the hotel were amazing. Every staff member we passed smiled and said hello and wished us a nice stay. The concierge service was great, free valet parking with no waiting for our car upon checkout. Had a great dinner at the Saltwater. Check in and out was very quick. Only complaint was my husband thought the luxurious king bed was too soft! It was like sleeping on a cloud to me! We will definitely go back again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dianne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

service, quality and ambiance for this hotel stay was delightful. we were extremely impressed with the the concierge service offered. The only criticism was no dvd or cd player in the room, this would have been nice feature to add along with all the other great amenities.

Overall the room was clean and the staff was helpful and attended quickly with any request.

Room Tip: spacious 750 sq ft room is perfect with lots of room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tera M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Loved the MGM Grand! My husband and I spent one night for a stay cation. The experience was incredible! The staff is very accommodating and service is top notch. The decor is modern and edgy. The rooms were so quiet, even being located directly across from the elevator! The smoke is only noticable in the casino itself, not in the hotel, but even the best ventilation systems cant completely purify the air. I remembered the same smell in Vegas. The "clear" was nice and smoke free. I wish it were larger. The pool and hot tub are amazing and you know you are at a real spa. I was so relaxed...could have stayed all day. My only complaint is that the pool was cold...too cold for me to swim in. All in all, a world class hotel!

Room Tip: Our room was right across from the elevator so I was nervous it would be loud. We didn't hear a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Urbanchik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
138 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Most middle America casinos lack the Vegas flair. The MGM Grand Detroit is a Las Vegas style casino in the middle of the country. The service at this hotel is better than most Vegas hotels and the people are pretty friendly. The casino size is big and there are numerous choices to dine at.

My room was very clean and the bedding was excellent.

I would stay here again for personal trips as well.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jooksing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, Ohio
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Been to MGM Las Vegas several times and let me tell you I like this one way better, Staff is very friendly and helpful and the casino is very clean.MGM in Las Vegas are so rude. I even won so thats a plus. We all enjoyed our visit and will be back. I dont know about the rooms because we never stayed overnight.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janet11120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We stayed at the MGM in March while we were in town for a sporting event. The room was clean and spacious. The staff in the lobby were very professional and helpful. We briefly visited the Casino on a Saturday night; it definitely had a different "vibe" than a moderate-to-upscale Vegas casino. Should we visit Detroit again we would certainly stay here; we are pretty sure it's the nicest place in town.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DKB983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Detroit hotels
0.9 mi away
Greektown Casino Hotel
0.5 mi away
Aloft Detroit at The David Whitney
0.4 mi away
The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
MotorCity Casino Hotel
MotorCity Casino Hotel
#10 of 33 in Detroit
622 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Atheneum
The Atheneum
#14 of 33 in Detroit
507 reviews
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Detroit Downtown Riverfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MGM Grand Detroit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MGM Grand Detroit

Property: MGM Grand Detroit
Address: 1777 3rd St, Detroit, MI 48226-2498
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Detroit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Detroit
#1 Romantic Hotel in Detroit
#1 Business Hotel in Detroit
#2 Green Hotel in Detroit
#3 Family Hotel in Detroit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — MGM Grand Detroit 4.5*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
While in Detroit, get down to business at the ultimate entertainment destination, MGM Grand Detroit. Surround yourself in timeless design in our ultra-chic hotel. Dream big on king-size beds with 300 thread count sheets, relax in our oversized marble baths with dual rain shower heads. Or indulge yourself in a garden of earthly delights within our signature restaurants, or nightlife options. Last, lavish yourself within Immerse, Detroit's only resort style Spa. Immerse Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Preferred Hotels, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your MGM Grand Detroit reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mgm Grand Detroit Hotel Detroit
Mgm Grand Hotel Detroit
Detroit Mgm Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing