We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
MGM Grand Detroit
Nearby Hotels
$209
Aloft.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$199
Hotels.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$228
Hotels.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$151
$138
Doubletree.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$186
$167
Hotels.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$200
$176
Travelocity
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$169
$124
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$289
$233
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$169
$135
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,207)
Filter reviews
1,206 results
Traveler rating
742
274
88
48
54
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
742
274
88
48
54
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswolfgang puckm lifebathroom mirrorcasino floorsteam roomslot machinesfrosted glassthe concierge levelcorner suitenon smokingrooms are beautifulwalk in showerhotel guestsliving roomroom serviceindoor poolambassador bridge
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
991 - 996 of 1,206 reviews
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Stayed overnight for Tigers game. Great customer service from every staff member encountered. All very friendly and go out of their way to help you. Rooms beautiful. Best hotel in Detroit by far. Close to Greektown; Ford Field; and Tiger Stadium. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ladybugthomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

The Casino & hotel are very nice , but the complete package is overshadowed by the cloud of cigarette smoke that shrouds the entire casino . Have had to stop going there because I have to wash all my clothes & take a shower as soon as I get home to remove the heavy layer of smoke I have on me from just a few hours of being there. I don't know how people can even breath there . Their ventilation system needs a complete overhaul . The no smoking area is a joke & not enforced judging by the number of people who sit there smoking right next to the "No Smoking " signs.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mitzimomg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

This was our second stay at the MGM Detroit. We were in town for the Jimmy Buffett/Lionel Ritchie concert.

I will start off by saying that this is by no means a substitute for Las Vegas, but as far as Detroit goes, the hotel (common areas and rooms) has a surprisingly modern and upscale feel.

The rooms are very clean, spacious and modern. On our first stay we paid extra for some sort of an "upgraded" room, but on the most recent trip booked the most basic standard room and found it to be pretty much exactly the same. The rooms feature a very very comfortable bed (a triple threat of duvet, feather bed and down pillows which always makes for a very good night's sleep). An ipod dock and a digital telephone complete the modern amenities. The bathroom is spacious and modern with a very large rain shower. Nice H20 aquatics toiletries.

As for the common areas, there is a very nice looking fireplace wall in the lobby. Exiting into the common areas, such as the casino, restaurant row and food court, the facilities are what you would expect from a gaming hotel.

The restaurants look nice, but don't be fooled, this is not Vegas quality. Our trip to "Saltwater" by Michael Mina was a disaster. I don't think Michael Mina has ever been to the restaurant since its' opening. There is a "food court" type area which services the demands of the local clientelle. It is adequate but that's about all.

Overall, the accomodations at the MGM are fantastic for the area, but as for the rest of the resort, don't expect to be transported to Vegas.

Overall, it was a pleasantly surprising stay in Detroit.

Room Tip: dont bother paying extra for the concierge lounge, not much to it
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Akatravelbug123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Stayed at the mgm grand Detroit for my third time. I love it. Great rooms, pool area is amazing. Great casino, Vegas like. It's quite expensive but i still like to go once a year and enjoy a night with my wife. Also bourbon steak is an amazing restaurant!

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank contact4251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

I was looking to take a weekend trip with my daughter (13) 2 weeks ago and decided to go to Windsor/Detroit as it was close to home. After looking for a 4* or 5* in Windsor, reading the reviews, and looking at the prices in Windsor we settled on the MGM in Detroit for a number of reasons: (1) price - MUCH cheaper than Ceasar's Windsor and more welcoming of kids; (2) location - right in the heart of downtown and very close to border for back and forth; (3) quality - as it was her 13th birthday I wanted something a little better than Holiday Inn or HoJo's and although attached to a Casino there is such distance between the hotel and Casino that my daughter didn't even know there was a Casino there; (4) Amenities - My daughter REALLY wanted a hotel with a pool, which was VERYhard to find. The one at the MGM was huge, clean, beautiful but a COLD. The pillow-top beds are AMAZING!
Know that the service is as you would expect - well delivered. And the room, which was a concierge level Queen was perfect for us. You can pay extra at the hotel for breakfast but I don't think it is worth it as the selection is not great and the there are SO MANY wonderful (and cheap) places close by to try.
Saying that, for her birthday dinner we went to Roast--very good, not AMAZING. We did love Fishbones however!
Go to the Motown Museum - wonderful, interactive and REAL.
Was VERY disappointed by the Museum of African American History in that the tour guide was so over the top in her dramatization that she became cartoonish taking away from the experience. Went to Southland mall to shop...LOVED IT! Still cheap!

Room Tip: Select a high level for great views of the city and the waterfront
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tsahai85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews