We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice but a little pricey.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of MGM Grand Detroit

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
MGM Grand Detroit
Ranked #3 of 33 Hotels in Detroit
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very nice but a little pricey.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

I stayed here in June on a comped night, which would normally been priced around $250-$300 for the night, which I think is a bit pricey. I recently stayed in an all suite hotel near the Greek Town Casino for around $160. The hotel is beautiful and my room was nicely appointed and clean. The service was excellent. I had the breakfast buffet which was good but again I think $20 for eggs, bacon and coffee is a bit expensive. The location is very good; Detroit has a lot to offer from baseball and hockey games to concerts and outdoor festivals. A minor complaint: the bedding consisted of a sheet and a heavy quilt which made it hard to get comfortable. The sheet was not warm enough but the quilt was too warm. They should consider providing a light blanket. Overall I enjoyed my stay very much.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lovesvegaslongtime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,049 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    676
    244
    64
    29
    36
See reviews for
124
458
53
215
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Monaco-Ville, Monaco
Level Contributor
585 reviews
161 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 766 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012

I have been a guest at 6 MGM properties and this was the worst easily. It has a great location but it is very dirty the room looked okay. I put on new white socks on my first evening and after walking around in the room the bottom of the socks are brown.Yuk! The towel had a long black hair on it.The food was okay but the service level was only fair. The staff spent more time chatting with each other than the customers. Needs to improve

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lechiffre1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2012

Our children surprised us with a 30 year anniversary weekend getaway. This was the most relaxing and wonderful surprise I've had in a very long time. The rooms were superb, the service was splendid, and the food was to die for. I would stay here again anytime of the year. We live in Detroit, but had never visited the hotel. I felt like I had taken a trip to some far away resort The shower in the bathroom was large enough for 15 people to get cleaned at the same time. Everything was just beautiful!!

E. H. Detroit

Room Tip: Eat at the Palette. My first visit so the room was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EHMDetroit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2012

At first I was not impressed with the cleaniness and the annuities of the room. The room over all was very nice, but should be for the price. But the spa tub was filthy. Not clean at all. The alarm clock was a cd player that didn't work at all. And the AC has a limit on how low it can go. Room stayed lukewarm. The next morning I told the Housekeeper Laqueesha (sorry if misspelled) and she said no problem. So I went to my meeting. Came back that evening and my room was immaculate. Everything cleaned. Alarm clock replaced with the MP3 player dock that they advertised in the beginning. So the rest of my stay was great. Food is excellent and lots to choose from. If it wasn't for the first night I would have rated it much higher..

Room Tip: Corner suites are very large and comfortable with lots of sunlight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aeonfluxe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

Stayed here recently with my husband. This hotel is the closest to a Las Vegas Casino in atmosphere that we have visited. We usually go to LV and have been going there for over 30 years. The MGM Grand has lots of slots including video poker, Blackjack and video roulette. The casino also offers all the table games. The casino itself is the most smoky of any I have been in. That being said they offer a nonsmoking area with slots in it, but ther are not that many machines in that area.
The Spa is great and they have an awesome indoor pool as well.
The rooms are spacious and the beds are very comfortable. Turn down service needs to be requested if you want it.
Stay at this hotel the next time you are in Detroit and feel like you are in Las Vegas!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank diamondgirl22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, MI
Level Contributor
64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2012

Pricey but excellent rooms...tv in bathroom, walk-in shower, great soap, nice beds. Plus, you can't beat the indoor pool, spa, and fitness center.

Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank 9Superstar9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poconos
Level Contributor
57 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2012 via mobile

Stayed on 17th floor concierge level. Lovely lounge there with refreshments at our beck and call (at no additional cost). Room was beautifully appointed. Beds a little squishy ( not a fan of pillow tops ). The bathroom was huge! Enormous glass shower room, adjoining toilet room and spacious sink area. TV in massive mirror above sink. Would have enjoyed this feature if there had been a soaking tub, but I suppose it is for those who can't miss a minute of am tv as they get ready.
The staff was so outgoing and friendly. Aside from my room door, I do not think I opened a single door during our stay. Every door seemed to be staffed by a smiling employee.
The hotel is located in the middle of what seems to be an abandoned downtown. Very sad. Quick walk to Comerica Park (why we were in town) and easy to find off of Rte 75. Casino is nothing special. Mostly slots and way too much smoke.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank jaxma98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Detroit hotels
1.0 mi away
Greektown Casino Hotel
0.5 mi away
Aloft Detroit at The David Whitney
0.5 mi away
The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Detroit Downtown Riverfront
0.9 mi away
The Atheneum
The Atheneum
#14 of 33 in Detroit
4.0 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Inn on Ferry Street
The Inn on Ferry Street
#2 of 33 in Detroit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MGM Grand Detroit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MGM Grand Detroit

Property: MGM Grand Detroit
Address: 1777 3rd St, Detroit, MI 48226-2498
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Detroit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Detroit
#1 Business Hotel in Detroit
#1 Romantic Hotel in Detroit
#2 Green Hotel in Detroit
#3 Family Hotel in Detroit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — MGM Grand Detroit 4.5*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
While in Detroit, get down to business at the ultimate entertainment destination, MGM Grand Detroit. Surround yourself in timeless design in our ultra-chic hotel. Dream big on king-size beds with 300 thread count sheets, relax in our oversized marble baths with dual rain shower heads. Or indulge yourself in a garden of earthly delights within our signature restaurants, or nightlife options. Last, lavish yourself within Immerse, Detroit's only resort style Spa. Immerse Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your MGM Grand Detroit reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mgm Grand Detroit Hotel Detroit
Mgm Grand Hotel Detroit
Detroit Mgm Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing