We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Food and Service”

Vicente's Cuban Cuisine
Ranked #13 of 1,109 Restaurants in Detroit
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cuban
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Excellent Food and Service”
Reviewed May 18, 2014 via mobile

Excellent service from the wait staff and wonderful food. We had the Albondigas appetizer, which had a very good sauce. I had the lamb dish Chilindron De Cordero. It was slow roasted and the meat was very tender. Again, the wine sauce was amazing. My wife really liked the Ropa Viejo. The tres leches cake for dessert was decadent and delicious. We also enjoyed the atmosphere and beautiful Cuban artwork.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dean W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    81
    24
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Georgia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good Cuban food and fun atmosphere”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

The food was good. They have salsa lessons and dancing every Friday night. Stick to their sangria, their mojitos were okay.. All their tapas were delicious!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank blsoler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelby Township, Michigan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Interesting Experience”
Reviewed May 12, 2014

This restaurant is another little Detroit jewel. The menu is mostly Cuban and so we had traditional appetizers but they also offered a salmon with spinach entrée which was wonderful. The "red" sangria was the best I've had and served in a festive way. The Cuban coffee was wonderfully strong and sweet and the waiter was quite accommodating. The room is very "open" and the only negative was that it was rather noisy at times. It could have just been that night and clientele. I am taking my husband and brother there very soon so that they can experience this restaurant.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lizard90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
102 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“The trifecta!”
Reviewed May 5, 2014 via mobile

This place has it all right; great food, ambience and service. The tapas are great (and nice size portions) and the main courses are outstanding as well. Our waiter was very helpful and friendly. Food was served promptly, etc... This place gets it!

Helpful?
1 Thank Ejones77rtw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Michigan
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Amazing food enhanced by unbelievable service”
Reviewed April 1, 2014

My husband and I had lunch at Vicente's, but the service started before we even sat down. We managed to park at the only parking meter on the street that required coins and didn't take credit cards. Neither of us had change. My husband gave Randean a couple of dollars, and Randean made a special trip to get change. He even went out to the street and fed the meter so we could simply sit at our table.

We have only had Cuban food a couple of times, so needed some help with the menu. Randean was wonderful in suggesting a variety of tapas for us. Few responses are more irritating to me than when I ask a server for a recommendation and all they say is, "What do you like?" Randean didn't hesitate to give advice on what would be a good selection of tapas.

My husband wanted a mojito and asked Randean which was the best of their many offerings. The Mojito Gran Res was the most expensive item we ordered ($12), but my husband said it was worth every penny. My 50/50 Sangria was refreshing and another winner.

We had Camarones Enchilados, which were delicious with a bit of a bite. My husband enjoys spicy food more than I do, so was happy that I let him have one more shrimp than I did. Our chicken dish was Pollo Al Ajillo, which was tasty and a good complement to the other dishes, but didn't wow us like everything else. (Perhaps our tongues were tingling too much from the other tapas to fully enjoy its subtle flavor.) Our two favorites were the Filetillo de Lomo, which was simply incredible, and the Papas Rellenas, which surprised us. How could fried mashed potatoes stuffed with ground beef be so delectable?

Throughout, Randean was attentive without being obnoxious. A couple of other people also helped to make sure our water glasses stayed full. We can't say enough about the wonderful service.

We also loved the atmosphere. It would be a hoot to go on a Friday or Saturday night for the salsa dancing.

The prices, too, were reasonable. I'm happy to pay for food that is unusual and delicious and gives us the added bonus of a fun experience. If we had been willing to forgo the alcohol, our very-filling meal would have cost only $35.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank VNE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vicente's Cuban Cuisine also viewed

 

Been to Vicente's Cuban Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing