We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good time”

Vicente's Cuban Cuisine
Ranked #13 of 1,122 Restaurants in Detroit
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cuban
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Toledo, Ohio
1 review
“A good time”
Reviewed February 23, 2014

This is a very friendly and fun cantina. Food -3 stars. Service-5 stars Overall experience- 4 stars Come on a Saturday night for salsa dancing, good drinks and enjoyable food. Go to Miami if you want 5 star Cuban cuisine.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank M B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    83
    25
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
2 reviews
“Great Food & Great Atmosphere”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Call Ahead and make reservations, its always a wait on Friday and Saturday Nights. You will enjoy the salsa lessons during and after dinner. The employees are really nice and make you feel right at home.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kesha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Savory Experience on a Busy Night”
Reviewed February 12, 2014 via mobile

Boy, were we glad we made reservations for 6:00 on a Saturday night! This place was a beehive of activity! And it was definitely worth the visit. Though we were seated in a high traffic area with people coming and going all around is, it turned into a blessing. Our server passed by us frequently and was very attentive. He suggested a house special tapa that was absolutely incredible -- shrimps, calamari, scallops in an unbelievably savory sauce. I had the zarzuela, which I highly recommend -- sort of like a seafood paella without the rice. My husband enjoyed his tilapia, also incredibly savory with lots of flavor. Afterwards, we enjoyed probably the best port I have ever had, also recommended by our server. (Wish I remembered his name!). All in all, an excellent experience. Too bad we weren't able to stick around for the salsa dancing at 10!

Helpful?
Thank mji2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan, United States
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best value for quality food, service and atmosphere.”
Reviewed February 8, 2014

Whenever we have friends in town we take them to Vicentes. The food is consistent, the menu is large, the prices are fair and the sangria is incredible. Always top notch service. We love ordering the tapas and sharing with the table. The deep fried plantains are must every time we visit. The dance lessons on the weekends are fun too! I tried a Cuban restaurant in Royal Oak and never went back. We always call and make a reservation on busy nights and never have a problem being seated ahead of the line waiting.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrew E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best paella and sangria this side of Barcelona”
Reviewed January 28, 2014

My husband and I went there for dinner this summer. Ever since we've been to Barcelona for a cruise we have tried to find paella and sangria that could come close to duplicating what we experienced there. We finally found it with Vicente's! The sangria and paella were delicious and the service was outstanding. Cant wait to go back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nannyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vicente's Cuban Cuisine also viewed

 

Been to Vicente's Cuban Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing