We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
  
Recommended experiences in and around Detroit
from $85.00
More Info
from $29.00
More Info
from $29.00
More Info
from $75.00
More Info
Reviews (119)
Filter reviews
119 results
Traveler rating
78
35
3
2
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
78
35
3
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews belle isle tropical plants formal gardens banana trees state park pass spring and summer nice collection quick visit aquarium species cactus fredericks gem admission bloom beauty volunteers
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 119 reviews
Reviewed September 1, 2018

Located on pretty Belle Isle, this charming conservatory's glass and steel structure, reminded me of many I've seen in Europe. With five distinct sections, Anna Scripps Whitcomb Conservatory showcases a wide range of plants from around the world and best of all it's free. The formal gardens around the conservatory are pretty and include a fountain designed by Marshall Fredericks.

There are many things to see on Belle Isle, including this small, but wonderful conservatory.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank StockholmKindaGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2018 via mobile

We stopped in at 4:40pm, and expected to be shooed away since they were closing at 5:00pm...

But! To our surprise we were greeted with kindness and smiles.

We just wanted a quick stroll with out of town guests and it was really lovely and very empty... which is rare.

It was a beautiful day at the conservatory and I’m continually impressed with the attention the beds get... seems everyone who works there really cares for the grounds.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank jaureliak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2018 via mobile

I dont remember going as a child but those plants and flowers were beautiful. The grounds are well kept and they even had a wedding being performed!

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank ladyt0007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2018 via mobile

This is a wonderful place to visit and admire different species of plants. There are a variety of sections as well as outdoor grounds. The close proximity to the aquarium is nice too.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank HayleyB882
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2018

The conservatory was such a nice stop and the staff was very helpful in providing information on the plantings on the grounds as well as those in the conservatory. This is worth the stop.

Date of experience: June 2018
1  Thank cincymom5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews