We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very yummy food at good prices”

Golden Fleece Restaurant
Ranked #86 of 1,098 Restaurants in Detroit
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $20
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
206 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Very yummy food at good prices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014

A friend and I went here for lunch because it had one of the best reviews in Detroit (greektown). We booth enjoyed our food and left the restaurant very full. The only reason I don't give the restaurant 5 stars was the service. The bus boy was nice and attentive but the same couldn't be said for our waiter. We ask for a salad with with items on the side And he messed this up. No big deal, probably a mistake but overall her wasn't very friendly and didn't check on us very often ( spent more time chatting with other employees)
Overall I would eat there again. The food and price was worth it, plus the waiter wasn't rude just not worth 5 stars.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    57
    22
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
estados unidos
Level Contributor
86 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Greek in need of a make over”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

I had high hopes for this little old fashioned place in the middle of Greektown. The wait staff is eager and attentive. The saganaki appetizer was fun and very tasty. I enjoyed the taramsalata. The specialties seem to be the gyros and souvlakis. Better stick to those and avoid anything with phyllo dough like spanakopita . Phyllo dough should be flaky, brown and crispy not tough and leathery. The only way a phyllo dough crust can be that tough is if it's been microwaved, not a good idea for any bread or dough. .

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank latefordinner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jcmcnair@fuse.net
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“An affordable Greektown option with great atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

This is the quintessential Greek restaurant. Lot of menu choices, great service, busy yet intimate atmosphere and a reliable place for the standby Greek food items like gyros, souvlaki and salad. We were there for a late night snack. Two girls shared a gyro and loved it. Another got a salad and was very pleased. The fresh bread was excellent. We stopped short of giving it 5 stars because that's a high bar that few restaurants deserve. But if you're doing the downtown Detroit club, casino or sports scene, The Golden Fleece is worth the walk. We loved the decor and watching the cooks shaving the gyro and souvlaki meat from those vertical rotisseries.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CathyMcNair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Best Gyro in Detroit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013 via mobile

I will never get a Gyro anywhere else downtown, or in Michigan for that matter. Big portions, small restaurant I would recommend this over any of the bigger places downtown for best bang for buck

Helpful?
Thank Danny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton, California
Level Contributor
805 reviews
193 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 690 helpful votes
“Not sure if it's 100% authentic, but it's great food and great place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

The place looks like whole in the wall with a tiny open kitchen along the entry wall, but once you spend a few minutes, you realize how good this place is. The stuff is super nice, the food is amazing. I'm not an expert in Greek food, but this food was well seasoned, nicely presented, generous portions, made right in front of you. You don't need to worry about the bill - everything is reasonably priced. A lot of character, lively and fun - highly highly recommended!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank heckfy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Golden Fleece Restaurant also viewed

 
Detroit, MI
 

Been to Golden Fleece Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing