We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Haunted 6th Precinct Tour

Notorious 313: Haunted 6th Precinct Tour, great group of people handling the tour. Very... read more

Reviewed November 27, 2020
B2982PXsuea
Best Tour Company in Detroit!

Very knowledgable, professional, and interesting. This was my second time with City Tour Detroit... read more

Reviewed October 25, 2020
Letthatboycook9
Read all 133 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Detroit
from $96.99
More Info
from $360.00
More Info
from $300.00
More Info
Reviews (133)
Filter reviews
133 results
Traveler rating
127
3
3
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
127
3
3
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews underground railroad great city saturday morning nancy notorious pat stories architecture knowledge spooky highlights gems michigan
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 133 reviews
Reviewed August 4, 2019

This is more of an experience than a tour. Four major conductors in the UGRR, dress in character and walk you through the city's major locations, where, in the 1840s and 50s, was a hotbed of abolitionist sentiment and where thousands of fugitive slaves were spirited in secret to various "stops," then onto awaiting boats to take them to freedom—less than a mile away in Windsor, Ontario. I'm a native Detroiter and this was my second time on the tour; it was that good!

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank Nancy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityTourDetroit, Owner at City Tour Detroit, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2019

Nancy W Thanks so much for the wonderful review. It was great having you for a guest for the second time! Going to have to recruit you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2019

My husband & I loved learning & experiencing Detroit on the "See the D" walking tour. Our guide was so informative & FUN! We really enjoyed seeing & hearing about the city from a native Detroiter. We had a blast & would happily recommend this tour for anyone wanting to really see the D.

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank IndianRiverMomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityTourDetroit, Owner at City Tour Detroit, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2019

Thank you Indian River Momma. It was our pleasure showing you and your husband around. We appreciate you taking the time to write a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2019

Loved learning more information on the buildings and areas in Downtown Detroit. We live in the suburbs, and took the day to be tourists in Detroit. Highly recommend. Especially loved going inside the Guardian and he David Whitney buildings. I would recommend to remove the Greektown part of this tour. Sadly, this area is not what it used to be.

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank JTOwings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityTourDetroit, Owner at City Tour Detroit, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2019

Thank you JT Owings for taking the time to write a review. Isn't it fun to be a hometown tourist? We loved showing you around. Appreciate your input on Greektown.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2019 via mobile

We took a little weekend trip to Detroit, and as first-timers to the city, decided to do the “See the D” walking tour. Went with my husband and 9 year old son. Our guide Nancy was wonderful! So energetic, friendly and knowledgeable! She also was great engaging with our son (and finding us shady spots along the way as it was a HOT day!). We learned a ton about the city and had a great time. We have such a great appreciation for Detroit now and have so many things we can’t wait to explore more! Thank you Nancy!

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank Serena P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityTourDetroit, Owner at City Tour Detroit, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2019

Thank you Serena P for the great review. Glad to hear you and your son enjoyed the visit during this hot streak. Nancy will be very pleased to read your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2019

We're native Detroiters and were looking for a family experience with our young adult children. We couldn't have made a better choice! The City Tour Detroit - walking tour of the heart of downtown Detroit was fun, informative and gave us the inside scoop on so many of the changes that are happening in the great city. Our guide was extremely knowledgable and very considerate of the hot sunny day - she was always looking for the shady spot to tell a fascinating story about our location. We went inside magnificent buildings and learned about the art and architecture as well as the historical social impact changes in the city has made. We had a great time and I strongly recommend taking this tour - whether you are visiting Detroit or have lived in SE Michigan your whole life.

Date of experience: June 2019
Thank Breeda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityTourDetroit, Owner at City Tour Detroit, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2019

Thank you so much Breeda for the wonderful review of our See The D Detroit walking tour. I'm glad your family enjoyed the tour including the birthday boy!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews