We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Detroit Downtown Riverfront
Ranked #10 of 33 Hotels in Detroit
GreenLeadersBronze level
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at the Crowne Plaza in Detroit while we visited the city to go to NHL and NFL games. The location was so convenient - walking distance to Joe Louis Arena and a short trip along the "mover" to Ford Field. The hotel decor was quite lovely and modern and the staff (valet, front desk, housekeeping, restaurants) were friendly and helpful. Customer Service clearly means a lot to the staff here because they were all really great. Our only complaint was the WiFi as we didn't get much reception in our room, but in the grand scheme of things, this didn't affect our opinion of the hotel in any way. We'll definitely stay here again if we're in the Detroit area.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MisterBrady11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugh F, Manager at Crowne Plaza Detroit Downtown Riverfront, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your great experience. We are glad you choose our hotel during your visit to Joe Louis Arena and Ford Field. We are happy to hear that you found our decor to be lovely and our staff to be friendly and helpful. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

761 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    250
    125
    64
    37
See reviews for
143
176
26
253
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

I stayed here while in town for work. My experience was excellent. The lobby was large and inviting, the staff was very nice to deal with and interact with and the hotel had a nice vibe. The rooms were what you would expect for a Crowne Plaza, very comfortable beds and nice tv channel line up.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugh F, Manager at Crowne Plaza Detroit Downtown Riverfront, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for your excellent review. We truly appreicate your feedback and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

Stayed over to see the Redwing's game. We arrived and the valet staff were charming, helpful. We had a beautiful room on the 22 floor and could see the Ambassador bridge! What a location,it was less than a two minute walk to the Cobo center or the people mover! We could do everything,fantastic location! The Starbuck's coffee shop was open with great service and a sample of the city's souvenirs. We didn't try the restaurant or bar but they looked inviting. The pool with hot tub and fitness room were nice. When I called the desk for any items the staff showed they cared about the little things too! If the weather is iffy outside you'd want to stay here! The bedding and furniture is all new,mattress was heavenly! Yes the wifi wasn't great in our room also but we just enjoyed the lobby more, big deal. The glass bathroom door was made to invite light into the bathroom space, may need to be changed. A fantastic renovation for a historic building and it looks like Detroit has many more buildings that need atleast a 50 million renovation! Our stay was also well priced! Had a fantastic birthday getaway! Great shopping malls 30-45 minutes away, museums 15 minutes, casinos all around and great restaurants with lots for tourists to do! The guardian building is a 2 minute walk!

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2011heather16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugh F, Manager at Crowne Plaza Detroit Downtown Riverfront, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to providing feedback about your recent stay. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we truly look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

The hotel recently underwent a renovation, but unfortunately, the bathroom's one-way glass doors were installed backwards, giving a view of the toilet and shower -- and anyone using them -- from the bed and sitting area of the room. We had to ask for and were provided with a shower curtain to cover the see-through bathroom door.

The hotel advertised its 24-hour snack, coffee, and gift shop. Not only was the shop not open 24 hours a day, it was not open at all.

The hotel also advertised free wifi. The wifi was excellent in the lobby (best hotel wifi I've ever seen), but was only available in some of the rooms. My corner room (1408) had no wifi reception.

On a positive note, I selected the hotel for its proximity to the Joe Louis Arena, for an event I attended. It is convenient to the Joe Louis Arena and two People Mover stops. Some rooms also offer lovely views of the river, downtown, and Canada, which we were able to enjoy after being moved to another room on our second night (with wifi, and only a half see-through bathroom door).

The cost of our stay for 3 nights in October averaged out to $300/night. All in all, I feel that this is extremely overpriced for what is provided, at least until the bathroom doors can be fixed, and the shop opens for business.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms in the corner of the hotel. They do not have wifi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skeetidot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugh F, Manager at Crowne Plaza Detroit Downtown Riverfront, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I wanted to formally apologize about any inconveniences you experienced during your stay with us. Please contact me directly at FOM@hotelpontchartrain.com to come up with a resolution for the inconveniences you experienced.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Lake, Michigan
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

The Crown Plaza was an absolutely gorgeous place to stay! It had recently went through a renovation. We stayed there for a Detroit Tiger baseball game. The people mover was just blocks away and took you wherever you needed to be. We strolled the downtown area in the late afternoon, very nice. Our room was beautiful with a gorgeous view. I've never slept on a more comfortable bed! The only complaint I had was the parking. Upon arrival, we were told valet parking was $25.00. We really didn't have a choice because all of the other parking available were unsecured lots. Would have been nice to know up front. They had beautiful dining areas as well, but we did not dine there. I would stay there again!

Room Tip: We were on the 23rd floor with a view of the bridge, but also alot of roof tops.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bjhilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugh F, Manager at Crowne Plaza Detroit Downtown Riverfront, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your awesome experience. We are proud to know that you found our hotel to be gorgeous. We are located right by Comerica Park (home of the Detroit Tigers) and we are happy that you choose our hotel to provide you with accommodations. I wanted to apologize the parking fee; we keep our valet costs competitive with the other lots in the downtown area. We look forward to your visit in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muskegon, Michigan
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

I found this hotel to be in a prime location and peiced reasonable. The only complaint I have is the hotel could not accommodate our parking needs and we has to park outside of the hotel. We had a reservation at the hotel, but the hotel parking lot was full and our other parry drove a full sized family van and was told it was too big to park at the hotel. Other than that it was a pleasant stay and no major issues.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BIGGROBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugh F, Manager at Crowne Plaza Detroit Downtown Riverfront, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to reviewing your recent stay with us. We are glad to hear that you found our hotel to be in a prime location and reasonably priced. I wanted to apologize about the parking situation; being an enclosed parking garage limits the size of cars that can enter. We hope to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dallas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

I am staying at the Crowne Plaza Detroit Covention Center which just opened a few months ago. I thought my spectacular view of the river and Canada was a reward for being a IHG Rewards member. The front desk person suggested all the rooms have this great view!

Last night walked to a Steak and chops restaraunt about 4 blocks away. There were people in the area walking to the hockey game and others just strolling the streets. The press reports of dangerous people all over the city must have been fabricated. Did not even see a street person?

Tonight at in the hotels bar and found the food excellent. Try the trout as the presentation was good and the flavor was very good. Chatting with some of the locals it became apparent there are many people in this city committed to work for the revival of this city.

Next trip to Detroit will be at this hotel.

Room Tip: They all have great views and brand new
See more room tips
Green Features: Did not see any obvious waste and hotel staff was seperarting paper and plastic as they service the rooms
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jimplano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugh F, Manager at Crowne Plaza Detroit Downtown Riverfront, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to sharing your recent stay with us. We are proud to hear that you enjoyed your visit to the city of Detroit and that you choose our hotel to provide you with accommodations. We truly appreciate the great review and look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Detroit hotels
0.6 mi away
Greektown Casino Hotel
0.6 mi away
Aloft Detroit at The David Whitney
0.7 mi away
MGM Grand Detroit
MGM Grand Detroit
#3 of 33 in Detroit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Detroit - Downtown
0.4 mi away
Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Detroit Downtown Riverfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Detroit Downtown Riverfront

Property: Crowne Plaza Detroit Downtown Riverfront
Address: 2 Washington Blvd, Detroit, MI 48226-4421 (Formerly Crowne Plaza Detroit Convention Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Detroit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 33 Hotels in Detroit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Detroit Downtown Riverfront 3.5*
Number of rooms: 367
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Detroit Downtown Riverfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing