We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible.”
Review of Anchor Bar

Anchor Bar
Ranked #163 of 1,115 Restaurants in Detroit
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Bar
Restaurant details
Windsor, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Terrible.”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We went in during the late afternoon for a quick drink before a show. We were terribly mistaken and thought this bar would be good. We walked in - two big guys standing outside let us in. It was dark and pretty sketchy. There was no one behind the bar.One guy at a lottery machine and a huge crowd of guys crowded around the middle of the bar. We sat down and stayed for five minutes. No one served us, we felt uncomfortable and ignored and we left. Never going back.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olivia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    21
    10
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Dive Bar, but good burgers”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

This is a total dive bar but it's perfect if you're going for that experience. Burgers are solid and waitresses are old school. The place smells a little bit like grease...

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place for drinks\food\game watching”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Great place for drinks and to have fun before the games (or during the games). Nothing fancy and that's a good thing. My wife and I went for lunch and had good bar food and good drinks. They also have pool tables and a few video games along with a web based jukebox that's awesome. Not normally crowded unless a special event in town. This is a place you can go with a group and get good drink service and have a blast. (It's off the main drag of Detroit)

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TimKarp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Your funk sports / dive bar.”
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Cheap cold beer, decent food, friendly staff! Pool tables - and some of the local bartenders and waitresses from local hotels hung out there - always a good sign.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Joe4stage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaker Heights, OH
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Open late, cheap all you can eat deals”
Reviewed May 17, 2012

You get what you pay for. This was a dive with food that was cheap and open late. If I was sober, I'd have gone somewhere else.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
Thank cromito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Anchor Bar also viewed

 

Been to Anchor Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing