We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Once again my favorite.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sweetwater Tavern

Sweetwater Tavern
Ranked #78 of 1,093 Restaurants in Detroit
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub, Cajun & Creole
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Lowell, Michigan
Level Contributor
99 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Once again my favorite.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

This is our second visit to Sweetwater. We love the wings. A little hot but AMAZING! It was late on Labor Day weekend Sunday and busy, but well worth it. A very well poured drink with almost a double shot and great wings. Awesome music

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank tracyblair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    56
    20
    10
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Truckee, California
Level Contributor
91 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Fun atmosphere, expensive drinks fatty ribs”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

Very sassy waitress, almost not in a fun way. Ordered a specific gin she said they didn't have it. They did. Beers expensive. $6.50 for Newcastle. French fries cheap quality and served cold. Yuck. Wings good. That would the only reason to go here. Not on my return list. Too many other small, cozy, hospitable restaurants nearby.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TallSH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Near philadelphia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Convenient and Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stayed at the Courtyard Marriott for one night and wanted dinner we could walk to with the kids. Literally around the corner was the Sweetwater Tavern. Not too fancy, and no beer on tap--only bottles. But, my family likes wings and burgers and this place did not disappoint. The atmosphere is OK, lots of tvs with sports on, and loud music. One patron sitting right behind us was arguing with his companion and cursing but the music was so loud we fortunately missed most of his profane diatribe. The service was not particularly friendly but prompt. My son said the men's room left something to be desired with no soap, no towels and some plumbing issues. But, the food was very good. We had wings, burgers, and I had the meatloaf. There was more food on each plate than most of us could finish. If you want a big filling meal and don't mind cursory service, then you will enjoy eating here.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rose_in_PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
66 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best wings we've had”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

We ended up here one night after our conference as it was the only place close to our hotel open for dessert. We had a group of 8 and had never heard of Sweetwater. We ordered wings with our desserts because they looked good. Everyone at the table agreed they were the best ever & we had to go back the next day for more. After the fact, we read reviews online and realized they were known for their famous wings. We agree! The desserts were also pretty spectacular - especially the peach cobbler!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank MNOAKS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarnia, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
304 reviews
230 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“Delicious wings & burgers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

This was our second trip to Sweetwater's - last July before the Jimmy Buffet concert and again this time before the concert. Parking was slightly cheaper this year ($15 as opposed to $20 last year) to leave our vehicle there while we were at the concert. The walk is about 20 minutes or less, depending on your pace.

Last year we had wings which were delicious, but this year we asked for them extra crispy which made them even better. They are spicy, so if you don't like spice, maybe these aren't the choice for you.

We decided to split a Sweetwater burger also (chopped bacon melted into the Swiss cheese on the top of the burger) - great idea - it was so good.

The servers we encountered were all very polite and professional but not in your face. Sweetwaters is definitely a go to place if you are are in the vicinity.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LeeMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sweetwater Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Sweetwater Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing