We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Greektown Detroit Restaurants are all good, but one stands out as a must. Don't miss Pegasus Taverna”
Review of Pegasus Taverna

Pegasus Taverna
Ranked #32 of 1,109 Restaurants in Detroit
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: American, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Washington Twp., MI
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Greektown Detroit Restaurants are all good, but one stands out as a must. Don't miss Pegasus Taverna”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Pegasus Taverna in Greektown has been one of my favorite Greek restaurants for years. Their Greek salad is exceptional; but everything I have had there is authentic and pleasing. Personally my favorite is their vegetarian platter which my mouth waters for now as I mention it. There are 2 locations in the Detroit area; Downtown Greektown at 558 Monroe St, Detroit, MI 48226 and St. Clair shores 24935 Jefferson Ave St Clair Shores, MI 48080. Both locations are equally delicious; YUM!!!!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tina101010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    173
    165
    81
    34
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
sterling heights, MI
Level Contributor
206 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Great Before Tiger or Wings Game or Anytime”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

I eat here often during hockey and baseball season. My prior visit wasn't that great but it's back to old standards. My buddy and I ate before a Tiger game. I ordered the lamb shank which was tender and flavorful. The green beans were really excellent. My buddy ordered the vegetarian platter which came with 3 good sized servings of various "pies" including spinach and eggplant. He enjoyed them thoroughly. When I was finished with the meal, my plate was clean. The service was great with the waitstaff quickly removing dirty plates and even bringing me a second iced tea without me even asking. Glad to see that my prior visit was an anamoly and it's back to its old standards. The game was rained out but at least we had a good meal.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank timetraveler8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
71 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

I have been here before and look forward to coming whenever I am in town. The food is simple but delicious, the wait staff very friendly. I love the atmosphere!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Blooskies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Might be a chain but still darn good...”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

I am half-Greek, so I tend to be picky about Greek food. This is not as authentic as my family's cooking or some very, very authentic Greek restaurants, but it satisfies and I definitely enjoyed myself. Prices are good and they have a decent Greek wine offering, and the waiters are knowledgeable about it, making good recommendations. If you're particularly snotty about your Greek food then you probably want a hole-in-the-wall place like your aunt cooks it. Otherwise, go for the huge menu, great variety and, if you're so inclined, huge portion sizes. You won't be disappointed, especially if this is more of an introduction to Greek food for you, or if you're after comfort Greek food.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sazelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Excellent food with pleasant atmosphere in heart of Greektown”
Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

New to greek food. Enjoyed sampling the mousaka and lamb and spinach pie. Have to order the "flaming" cheese appetizer. Tasty and definitely part of the culture / character of the restaurant. Only negative comment was our sever was prompt and accurate just not very pleasant ( a little sarcastic / tired).

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Erik E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pegasus Taverna also viewed

 

Been to Pegasus Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing