We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bakery of Delight”

Astoria Pastry Shop
Ranked #1 of 17 Dessert in Detroit
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Takeout
Wyandotte, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Bakery of Delight”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Have visited many times. Have enjoyed something new each time and have not once been disappointed. Two Thumbs up! A must stop while in Greektown.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gregory48192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

715 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    499
    137
    51
    20
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, OH
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Tasty Treats!”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

My sweet tooth lead me here before a Red Wings game. Everything looked amazing. My only regret was that we had just pigged out at Slow's before stopping in here. I still managed to have a chocolate cookie though. It was very tasty. Will definitely be stopping by next time we are in town.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary-Frances P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferndale, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Kind of a let down”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

I was so excited to try Astoria, especially after the rave reviews I read. I stopped in and bought some eclairs to take home (took me a while to realize they were eclairs since they were more round than normal eclairs). They were edible but the pastry itself was not well executed or just plain old and more like a thin layer of soggy cardboard than the lovely spongey pastry of any other eclair I've ever eaten. The chocolate on top seemed to be of decent quality, but it was quite hardened and the filling was also decent, there was just too much of it instead of the pastry part. Maybe their other desserts are better, but steer clear of those bloated eclairs. I'd probably try something else of theirs again, but it's only getting one more chance.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cpha109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“You must stop here”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Just our opinion, but believe this to be one of the best bakeries we have ever visited. Everything we tasted was fantastic. When we visit Rome, Italy my husband heads for a certain bakery there to buy cannoli - well he said this is a real contender for his number one favorite. We also tried the baklava, the shell cookies, the biscotti, the black and whites, and the croissants. Unfortunately we weren't there long enough to try the cheesecakes, the layer cakes, the pies, the gorgeous looking Greek desserts, etc. etc. The choices are seemingly unlimited and one thing looks better than the next. Of course, you pay dearly for the products, but absolutely worth every penny. I normally do not have a sweet tooth but this stuff is wonderful and the choices allow you to choose items that are not overly sweet but still scrumptious.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travelingal15644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux City, Iowa
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“SWEET TOOTHS BEWARE!”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Amazing, hands-down the most amazing bakery and pastry shiop I've been to. From the chocolate covered strawberrys to the amazing baclava and chocolate cakes. Plus ice cream and other items and drinks. Really neat place, but very very busy. The cakes, pastries and other items are soooo worth it.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tragaller2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Astoria Pastry Shop also viewed

 

Been to Astoria Pastry Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing