We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good -- Worth a Visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Los Galanes

Los Galanes
Ranked #112 of 1,098 Restaurants in Detroit
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Michigan
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Very Good -- Worth a Visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2012

Our family went for an early dinner on a Saturday evening, around 5PM. The evening business hadn't really picked up yet, so the place had a very open feel. Decor was nice. Atmosphere was totally casual. Food was delivered very promptly. They brought fries instead of rice with my daughter's meal, but corrected it right away. Food was above average Mexican. Not stellar, but very good. Portions generous. I had the tamale plate. Tamales were great. The chili topping was somewhat bland, but that's the worst thing I could say about the meal. Prices for the standard Mexican dishes were mostly under $10. Specialty plates were higher priced, but in general prices were reasonable. I've been to several other places in the Mexicantown neighborhood, and this was one of the better, if not the best, so far.
If you want something sweet for afters, but don't feel like a dine-in dessert, visit LaGloria bakery across the street. We always get something to take home from there.
Also, this place is easy to find -- it's right at the west end of the new footbridge over I-75.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank maa-maa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    42
    10
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shelby Twp., MI
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Mexican in Detroit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2012

Excellent food. They used to have an all you can eat buffet but they stopped. Very sad. The food is still very good and authentic.

Helpful?
Thank onevo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
58 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Our go-to in Mexicantown”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2012

First off, this place is huge. If it seems like a huge line ahead of you, chances are, it will move fast. The margaritas are pretty darn good, the service can vary but is mostly good, and the food doesn't disappoint. Try not to fill up on chips and salsa (good luck) because you'll want to save room for your yummy meal.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank SarahsAdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
107 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“An Often Overlooked Nice Place In Mexicantown”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2011

Just as Detroit has the Big Three (GM, Ford and Chrysler) it is also home to the Big Three restaurants in the thriving community of Mexicantown in Southeast Detroit. Those would be Xochimilco, El Zocalo and Mexican Village. Okay some would disagree with me on those three but with the folks I run with, these are the most popular. Another really good choice is Los Galanes.

I first heard about this place while sitting in a departure gate at Detroit Metro Airport. We were just about to begin an around the world trip when a guy sitting across from us started talking with us about various cuisines and we somehow got on the subject of Mexicantown in Detroit. He raved about Los Galanes and especially about their buffet.

On our most recent visit to Mexicantown we tried Los Galanes. We were really disappointed by the "buffet." We've been to some absolutely drop dead wonderful Mexican buffets down in Texas and this wasn't even close. The items were very limited and we decided to order off the regular menu.

We each went with the Los Galanes combination. It came with a beef taco which was stuffed and fried as they usually do in Mexicantown, a cheese enchilada, beef burrito, bean and cheese tostada and beans and rice.

The taco was very nicely seasoned and great. The cheese enchilada was well done using an appropriate corn tortilla. The beef burrito was nice and I especially enjoyed the rich sauce on it. It had big chunks of beef inside which were a pleasant surprise. The beans and rice, while standard, were tasty.

It was nice to see an autographed picture of the late Sparky Anderson on a wall near our table. He managed the Detroit Tigers for many years and was a very popular in this sports crazy town.

To be honest with you, I'm not sure that Los Galanes will lure me away from my old standards here but it was enjoyable and the decor a lot more interesting than the "Big Three" in Mexicantown. Try it!

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank newspro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
110 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Best Mexican in Detroit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2011

Great food, and fun place to go in the summer and sit outside. good salsa.

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank smilesaam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Los Galanes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing