We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food and wonderful atmosphere!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Dolce Vita

La Dolce Vita
Reserve with OpenTable
La Dolce Vita is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #72 of 1,094 Restaurants in Detroit
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $32
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Cedarhurst
Description: Since 1995, La Dolce Vita has been a favorite of theatre-goers, music lovers, and lovers of romance. We offer an intimate, romantic atmosphere. Serving Lunch Tuesday through Friday from 11am to 2:30pm, Dinner is served starting at 5pm Tuesday through Sunday, and Brunch is served Sunday only, from 11am to 3pm. Reservations are appreciated and recommended. We can accommodate larger parties as well. We live entertainment on most nights.
pleasant ridge, mi
Level Contributor
148 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great food and wonderful atmosphere!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

I had dinner here w/ friends last weekend and it did not disappoint! I love the décor of the restaurant. The waiter was very good, they did not have our first choice of wine but he did recommend a very good bottle. The artichoke appetizer was wonderful!! My only issue was the limited menu choices for vegetarians. I only suggested this place bc I believed being an Italian place they would ample selections which was not the case. My friend said he did enjoy his meal but he only had 2 or 3 things to choose from,

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank drdotbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    47
    16
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dexter, Michigan
Level Contributor
370 reviews
254 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Midwest Italian style food very good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

Hidden in Detroit, near areas I do not like to frequent wit necessary valet parking.. They have outdoor dinning in a pleasing patio environment. The service was excellent and the main wine list was reasonably priced sems like 2x retail. Three of the four in our party thought the food was excellent.
Two enjoyed the spinach salad. I had the minestrone with fresh vegetables, quantity somewhat lacking, and a less then satisfying broth.
The shrimp scampi was thoughly enjoyed maid with large prawns. Three of us had pasta dishes.
I tasted all three. Both the past with sausage and the one with meatballs were well done, but could have used a little spice in the marinara sauce. Teh cavatelli with white truffle oil and cream, could have used a more delicate touch on the cream as well as some seasoning.

The coffee seemed to have a touch of cinnamon

All in all 3/4 of the group are ready to go again and again

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank pen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“lovely, hidden jewel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

Rustic atmosphere right on Woodward avenue. The landscaping masks the environment giving a sense of remoteness and seclusion. Excellent service, excellent food.

Helpful?
Thank Meg C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southfield, Michigan
Level Contributor
94 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great jewel tucked away in Detroit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

I had my assistant make reservations there for my annual mothers day dinner basically based on reviews and I was not disappointed. The service was excellent from the valet to the host to the server. They really went out of their way to make my girls feel special. The atmosphere is "old world"...italian theme..authentic feel..

We were given the option of dining outside, but it was VERY muggy and although it was really tempting and pretty...it wasnt conducive for looking good LOL.

The food was outstanding. Every person enjoyed their entree AND dessert. This was no "olive garden" type of GFS pasta in alfredo sauce from a jar. Tastes like mama and Aunt Helene were in the back picking spices for the sauces by hand!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Queencdj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

Our Deyroit relatives brought us here for a very nice family dinner. Wonderful food, great wine list.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank smc0235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Dolce Vita also viewed

 

Been to La Dolce Vita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing