We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food”
Review of Fishbones

Fishbones
Ranked #23 of 1,122 Restaurants in Detroit
Price range: $0 - $40
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Columbus, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

We went here when In Detroit for the auto show and found this place in greektown the food was great and plentiful. Service good.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MarilynsBoyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

617 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    202
    256
    96
    37
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Cajun Cuisine”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We love Fishbones. 99.999% of the time it's fabulous. The ONLY time it wasn't we asked for a different server. From there on the evening was great.

Generous portions of Cajun delight are brought to your table. If you like the sauces and condiments they are available for sale to take home. I find this a terrific benefit. Sometimes you want the taste without going out,

What you will not find on the menu is the celebrity presence. You never know who you'll see dining at a table next to you. Without dropping names, we were treated to a night of laughter with one of the Pro Athlete's from a Detroit team. If you are fortunate enough to have this happen to you just keep it on the down low ... they're people too and sometimes don't want the fuss and notoriety. They'll take a personal interest in you as well because of your ability to keep it cool.

After dinner there's lots to do in the Greektown area. The casino is there if you want to gamble but there are several clubs to party in within steps of Fishbones.

Great night out in The D.

Park at the Greektown Casino (free), walk through the Casino and across the street. You're there!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CHA2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pinckney
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“After the auto show treat”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

We took the people mover from Cobo Hall to Fishbone's. This was my first time there and I must say it was very good. I had the Catfish and it was great. Service was very good. We felt safe, police were right outside. Easy to get to.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fc2barney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strongsville, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
250 reviews
160 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Creole for Northerners”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is a long way from the creole/cajun food you might get in NOLA. Gumbo was acceptable, nothing was anything but OK (we had a party of 8). Service quite slow at lunch. One thing they have is location. Across the streey from Greektown Casino and right at a People Mover stop. Convenient place to meet friends when going to an event at The Joe or Cobo. Lunch prices were quite high for the value received.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cliff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great place to meet with friends”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We used to go here all the time and we really need to get back. The food was amazing. Loved that you could try all kinds of hot sauces. The service was amazing. Our regular group can be a bit rowdy but we fit right in and the servers are always accommodating. Can be pricey but worth it.

Helpful?
Thank Victoria R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fishbones? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing